We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Inn at Virginia Mason

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Inn at Virginia Mason
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 184: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just stayed here for one night for a nearby concert. The room was big and had a separate area with a table and 2 chairs. Older hotel but everything worked and was clean. The bed and pillows were comfy. Parking could be expensive although we were lucky enough to find free street parking (Sunday) right in front of the...

Thank SR G
Saint Charles, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this hotel as a moderately priced option in downtown Seattle. It was advertised as having available parking but we found that to be untrue. We had to park in nearby city lots. Other than that, the room was spacious and comfortable and extremely clean. Staff was courteous and our stay was excellent!

Thank Skye M
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Skye - Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and we're sorry parking was a challenge. It is all self-parking but both lots we recommend are actually Virginia Mason Medical Center lots so there should always be a spot for you. Sometimes, we have customers from other hotels or business...

Port Angeles, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My sister and I went to a concert and wanted something close enough to walk. This hotel was within range of the theater and some good restaurants. The room was dated but clean. There is nothing that makes this hotel 'special' but if you want something clean with descent beds in this area for a descent (comparably) price, his is...

Thank imasoccernut
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We're glad you found your room clean and competitively priced. We are committed to providing affordable urban accommodations to patients and visitors of the medical facilities in the area and tourists looking for a great value! Happy Holidays!

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came for a family gathering and we picked this location because of how close by it is to Horizon House retirement community. The location is admittedly tough to beat for visitors to the hospital or the nearby neighborhoods. We ended up in a suite since that was what was available and I was not overly impressed with the quality -...

Thank Jennifer R
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer - We appreciate your feedback and glad we could provide you with a convenient location to Horizon House. There are so many choices in Seattle, and we're glad we were able to accommodate your family. Happy Holidays!

Zeewolde, The Netherlands
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Unless you are an experienced hiker, think twice about walking to this hotel. The walkway is very steep, and once you are at the hotel you will consider taking the next door (which is a hospital entrance) instead. The hotel itself is mostly okay. It is old, do not expect a very modern hotel. The Wifi, though, is terrible. In...

Thank Hugo K
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review

Hi Traveler - Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate your honest and constructive feedback! My apologies on our complimentary wifi. . it has been intermittent for over a month and we are working to upgrade all aspects of this service. Also, we also have plans to add desks to many of our guest rooms! We can't change our...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

Hotel staff was friendly and nice. Our room was big and clean. Bathroom seems outdated but was all newly renovated with new bathtub and sink. Equipped with microwave and fridge. Due to expensive hotels in Seattle, this is the best we could find given our budget. There is a funky smell coming from the coats room near the door, but...

Thank EYHM
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review

Hi Traveler - Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We're glad you found the staff friendly and nice and the guest room amenities to your liking. We hope you'll have an opportunity to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Seattle!

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed October 24, 2016

The room was very spacious. Everything was clean. In the main room the curtainrods looked like they came from a hospital but other than that everything was as good as a modern hotel except for the lack of air conditioning. The furniture was all in good condition. The bathroom felt a little dated and not in the best shape but...

Thank cow_manx
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review

Hi Traveler - Thank you for your review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our 1920's Inn still has the original radiant heating/cooling system and depending on the exterior temperature of the building. . .tada. . .that's the temperature option you are provided in your guest room! Not ideal, and we apologize the optimum room temperature...

Brisbane, California
Reviewed October 22, 2016

Front desk staff was very welcoming and nice. It was late and my husband and I were tired. Why do hotels have horrible lighting just where you need it the most? The mini fridge and microwave are black and both are inside an open cabinet where the microwave control are impossible to see. Finally had to fish a flashlight out...

Thank VintageMermaid415
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review

Hi Traveler - Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback. We are proud to be a part of the Virginia Medical Center campus and realize that this can also add an extra level of noise to our immediate area. We're glad we worked out for your one night stay!

Danville, California
Reviewed October 6, 2016

Stayed late Sept. 2016. Would give it two stars except for excellent staff and good Rhododendron Restaurant. Room was very dirty. Filthy baseboards, blinds and window sills. Large cracker or chip crumbs were on floor in front of TV and were still there when we left three days later. So obviously room not vacuumed before or during our stay. Peeling...

Thank linda b
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review

Hi Linda - Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear about your room issues. We certainly know how important a clean room is to all of our guests. All of the issues you identified could have been addressed if you had given us an opportunity to correct them. We also could have offered you another room...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed October 2, 2016

The Inn is next to the Virginia Mason Hospital and primarily used by relatives of patients. If you go to their website to make a reservation they do not declare that you are being sent to a third-party system. We had to cancel our reservation and the Inn reception desk was unable to do this insisting we contact a third...

Thank skrnm
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review

Hi Traveler, We really do have our own reservation system associated with our websites but we know it can be confusing when our on-line travel partners (Expedia, Booking.com, etc.) also have listings for our hotel. We cancel reservations all the time to accommodate our medical guests. But we are not able to cancel reservations that you have not made directly...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (18)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (4)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (32)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Dining (7)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (13)
Bathroom (1)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Baroness Hotel
#77 of 102 in Seattle
81 reviews
Hotel Sorrento
#35 of 102 in Seattle
794 reviews
Pioneer Square
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Loyal Inn
The Loyal Inn
#62 of 102 in Seattle
732 reviews
Executive Hotel Pacific
#68 of 102 in Seattle
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Historic Inn at Virginia Mason welcomes you with style and warm hospitality. Nestled in the quiet residential neighborhood of First Hill, not only is the Inn at Virginia Mason convenient to First Hill medical facilities it is just a short walk from downtown Seattle shopping, the financial district and the Convention Center. Tastefully designed and reasonably priced rooms await your arrival. Select Suites feature wood burning fireplaces, whirlpool baths and city views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn at Virginia Mason

Address: 1006 Spring St., Seattle, WA 98104
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Price Range: $127 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Virginia Mason 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Virginia Mason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Virginia Mason Hotel Seattle
Hotel At Virginia Mason
Virginia Mason Inn
At Virginia Mason Seattle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Inn at Virginia Mason staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Inn at Virginia Mason staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Make sure your room has hot water”
 of 5 bubbles VintageMermaid415, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“Get one not on the street side.”
 of 5 bubbles Shamus780, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“The Queen Suite was a great room”
 of 5 bubbles carlosm1951, Aug 26, 2016 | Read review
“Go up on roof patio to get a great view of the downtown skyline.”
 of 5 bubbles bruceb428, Jun 15, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you have a mattress in good condition”
 of 5 bubbles Andurca, May 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay