We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Clos de Vallombreuse

Certificate of Excellence
7, rue d'Estienne d'Orves, 29100 Douarnenez, France
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

We were disappointed that the Michelin recommended restaurant (the reason we booked the hotel) was closed and we were not informed when talking to the staff about the room/shower at the time of booking. The view from the room was excellent but the decor in need of some refurbishment. The rooms in the new wing were probably better.

Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
Rubinbeatrice, Réception at Le Clos de Vallombreuse, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, We would like to thank for having taken the time to leave your review regarding your stay. When you made your reservation, we didn’t know you were booking especially for the restaurant, otherwise be assured we would have informed you it was closed. We are sorry to have disappointed you and would like to apologize. We... More 

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

The hotel was well located behind a church, however, it was a little hard to find. When we did arrive it was hard to believe that a beautiful mansion was hidden in a little street. The room was located in the main building and had a terrace that could be enjoy with a view to the sea and was large,... More 

Helpful?
Thank rosebt
Rubinbeatrice, Réception at Le Clos de Vallombreuse, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, We would like to thank you for having taken the time to review our establishment and are pleased to see you have enjoyed your stay. We are really delighted to read that you have appreciated our hotel, its surroundings and the seaview offered with the terrace in your room. Looking forward to welcoming again you for... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015

Beautiful hotel on the sea with comfortable rooms, excellent WiFi service, wonderfully pleasant and helpful staff, great restaurant and breakfast. Close to other seaside resorts and conveniently located in town and near shops and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

We stayed at Le Clos de Vallombreuse in Douarnenez, in the Finistere region of Brittany for a week's family holiday in August 2015, which we booked through Brittany Ferries. The hotel exterior looked great from the promotional photos and we were delighted to find that it certainly didn't disappoint in reality. The building itself is beautiful, as are the grounds.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SharonC47
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

Be sure to ask for one of the rooms in the old chateau building. I was allocated a room in the modern annexe, which lacked any character at all, and are sorely overdue for a refurbishment. This annexe looks to have been constructed in the 1970's or 1980's, and by the appearance of the decor (chocolate brown carpets and furniture)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smithy1446
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Stayed here as part of a Brittany Ferries deal on half board. Initially we were very disappointed with our room. We stayed in room 19 which was a modern family room above the rooms with balconies. The bathroom was refurbished to a modern standard with a bath but the furniture did not reflect the standard of the ensuite. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyn B
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on a business trip. Hotel was well presented with really nice grounds and the breakfast was very nice. The thing for me that badly let this hotel down was the room. It was like something from the 1950's and looked like it had not been updated since then. This is a real shame as the decor in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

This hotel is in a quiet location and could be excellent with a bit more effort. The rooms are very good and we had an outdoor sitting area looking out across a lawn onto the swimming pool. The breakfast was very good although the breakfast room is rather small and can get crowded. The food in the restaurant is good... More 

Helpful?
Thank britabroadUk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We were very impressed and surprised by this hotel; as we had booked it as a part of a Brittany Ferries deal. The hotel room maws huge with a balcony and a great view over the swimming pool and the Baie de Douarenez. It also had spa and recreation facilities (Which we not avail ourselves to!!!). It was centrally placed,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris A
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

After a few days in another nearby Douarnenez hotel, we changed to this (more expensive) one - Le Clos de Vallombreuse - and were very glad we did. I have read other reviews so was aware of issues others had but this was not our experience. We found this to be an excellent hotel. Spotlessly clean, very quiet but still... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobjForsyth
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douarnenez
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Thalasstonic
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Port Rhu
Hotel du Port Rhu
#1 of 9 in Douarnenez
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ty Mad
Hotel Ty Mad
#2 of 9 in Douarnenez
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Auberge de Kerveoc'h
Auberge de Kerveoc'h
#5 of 9 in Douarnenez
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
23.7 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#4 of 9 in Douarnenez
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay