We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 10: English reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2016 via mobile

Had booked this hotel online. Called them up and informed that we would be checking in by 8 pm. When we reached there, two of the most unfriendly receptionists told us that there is no room available in that building and that we have to move to the opposite building (which is really tiny with probably 6-8 rooms...doesn't look like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drschmidt4680
Laurent L, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Could you send me your number confirmation and name to check your comments. Regards. Laurent

Reviewed December 30, 2015

the hotel, a bit old fashion, is a good place to stay if you want to be in the middle of the nature. You are surrounded by trees, birds...so peaceful. The pool is very welcomed after the long walk in the mountains. The breakfast is very good (the "pain au chocolat" is just delicious) To have in mind, there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre L
Laurent L, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald, responded to this review

Dear Alexandre Thanks for your comments, about the church, we writed as a long time and we hope or better we pray that they could do something. Best regards. Laurent

Reviewed May 30, 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff and stunning local area- although there isn't a functional restaurant there are places nearby to eat. The rooms are clean but nothing spectacular and the mini bar was not stocked. Definitely acceptable for the price and a charming region to stay in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
direction_ghh, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald, responded to this review
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur, Arrivé depuis peu, nous sommes en discussions pour la ré ouverture de notre restaurant, quand au mini-bar, il...

Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

Nice hotel. Unfortunately it was not possible to have dinner. Breakfast is good. Rooms okay, WiFi perfect. Friendly staff. We got a small discount on the price of our rooms. No garage available for motor!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bert L
direction_ghh, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald, responded to this review

Dear Bert, Soon we will have our own restaurant, and for the motos, like you done, the people can park it in fornt of the hotel. I wait you and your friend, if you go back to Alsace. Best regards. Laurent

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed July 1, 2012

It was part of a study summer trip to Europe and one of the cities we were visiting was Strasbourg. Due to budget & availability of hotel rooms in Strasbourg, I was put up at this hotel totally by chance by my travel agent. We traveled by coach and I must say that the road to Le Hohwald is not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank surelyeverything
Laurent L, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald, responded to this review
Google Translation

Arrivé depuis Avril 2015, et très attentif aux commentaires de Tripadvisor qui me servent de base de travail, je fais...

newcastle
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this charming hotel,the food was excellent and the staff where very helpfull .I would recomend this very hospitable hotel to all of my friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fattyNewcastle
Laurent L, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald, responded to this review
Google Translation

Arrivé depuis Avril 2015, et très attentif aux commentaires de Tripadvisor qui me servent de base de travail, je fais...

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I have known this hotel over a 50 year period, and the current Grand Hotel is nowhere near as grand as it used to be. Still, it is a great location in a quiet valley in the Vosges with great access to lots of activities and places to visit. My favorite is to hike around the paleolithic fortifications at Mt...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nix_on_the_road
Laurent L, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald, responded to this review
Google Translation

Arrivé depuis Avril 2015, et très attentif aux commentaires de Tripadvisor qui me servent de base de travail, je fais...

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed August 15, 2009

The hotel looks to be recently renovated and the pool area is great. We had two rooms - the family room was HUGE and our second room, a double, was quite nice but not as large. Great location and perfect for doing the Alsace Lorraine wine road.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LivingInNorway
Laurent L, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald, responded to this review
Google Translation

Message correspondant à l'ancien gestionaire de l'hotel

london
Reviewed October 21, 2007

This was a late weekend in September (low season) and we were there for a family wedding. Nevertheless, the hotel was full, with two large groups staying there. Despite arriving at 9.00 p.m., the reception staff arranged for the chef to stay late so we could eat. Throughout the service was good, the rooms clean and comfortable. The village is...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Derek M
Laurent L, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald, responded to this review
Google Translation

Message correspondant à l'ancien gestionaire de l'hotel

Karlsruhe
Reviewed September 2, 2006

Grand Hotel Le Hohwald was built in 1872 and has a great past - before World War II it was a famous resort and was visited by Charles de Gaulle, Konrad Adenauer, Sarah Bernhardt etc. After years of decline it was fully renovated in 2005 so today a nostalgic atmosphere merges with all the modern comfort you can expect by...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank OliverAlbrecht
Laurent L, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald, responded to this review
Google Translation

Message correspondant à l'ancien gestionaire de l'hotel

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Hohwald
11.0 mi away
Le Velleda Hotel Restaurant
Le Velleda Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Grandfontaine
863 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel Restaurant La Petite Auberge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marchal
Hotel Marchal
#3 of 3 in Le Hohwald
75 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Le Colombier
Hotel Le Colombier
#3 of 11 in Obernai
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald

Address: 12 rue Principale, 67140 Le Hohwald, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Le Hohwald
Price Range: $52 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Le Hohwald
Le Hohwald Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald Le Hohwald, Alsace
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Le Grand Hotel Du Hohwald staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for a room facing the front of the hotel and a bathtub!”
  • Fantastic view from room
  • Small bathroom with standing shower
  • The bedroom, a bit small.
  • The electric towel rail in the bathroom.
  • The small shower
  • view from room
 of 5 bubbles surelyeverything, Jul 1, 2012 | Read review
“Go for the upgrade to Confort, it will be worth it.”
  • View from first (second) floor room towards center of the village
 of 5 bubbles Nix_on_the_road, Oct 28, 2011 | Read review
2 of 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question