We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Visit hotel website
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (1927)
Room & Suite (576)
Videos (1)

About

#7 of 14 hotels in Island of Hawaii
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel in Kailua-Kona provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. Our Kona hotel is also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into a hotel room or suite at our hotel featuring a private lanai, 37" flat-screen TV, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Great View
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
94Great for walkers
Grade: 94 out of 100
54Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
27Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
3,502Reviews
109Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,284
  • 1,532
  • 453
  • 140
  • 94
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Upon entering the hotel room you are greeted with a pungent smell of mildew and mold. I asked to switch rooms and explained the dilemma. I was told a hurricane went through some years ago and with that, they’ve had problems with the water logged/mildew smell thereafter. Essentially, they never recovered. They explained all rooms smell like this. I couldn’t imagine coming here for a vacation you worked hard to be able to afford and be greeted with this non sense. Stay elsewhere and be able to relax versus this place that you can’t unwind in your own room due to the smell and allergies.
Read more
Response from J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha bryanmN2561SD, Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha for your recent stay as well as taking time to give me your feedback. We're very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us was unsatisfactory. Please know that we greatly appreciate guest comments and use them to improve our brand. If you'd like to discuss this experience further, we ask that you please send your contact info to admin@konabeachhotel.com. We sincerely hope you give us another chance in the future. Mahalo
Read more
Doors and walls are paper-thin...you can hear everything! There are no curtains to keep the light in...there are wood shutters, but they are tilted in place so they cannot be closed. The tub was plugged so when we tried to take a shower we ended up standing in water. Called maintenance, but they had already left for the night so a security guy came up with a plunger to plunge the tub! Parking was a nightmare because there is a beach nearby and it is open to the public. They should reserve some spots for guests of the hotel.
Read more
Response from J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha Culture05311040427, Thank you for your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience during your visit. We appreciate the feedback you provided regarding your recent visit with us and extend our sincerest apologies. Please know that we greatly appreciate guest comments and use them to improve our brand. If you'd like to discuss this experience further, we ask that you please send your contact info to admin@konabeachhotel.com. We sincerely hope you give us another chance in the future in hopes we may alter your perception of our product and services. Mahalo
Read more
The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I just wish our room was up to date. There wasn’t a USB port to charge our phones, like all the hotels I’ve stayed at, but maybe they’ll upgrade. The furniture was old. Our cabinet door to the tv dresser was almost coming off the hinge. The lamps were so dusty and our refrigerator wasn’t working properly. I’m just glad the AC worked. The restaurant Honu’s was great as well as the hotel coffee shop. And the pool and pool patio was fun for friends hanging out.
Read more
Response from J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha CultureLush, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel and for your kind words about our staff. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we are finalizing plans to implement many of these upgrades to the property within the next couple of months. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope to reveal our refreshed improvements with you, whenever your travels bring you back to Kailua-Kona. Mahalo
Read more
This is not one of the resort hotels, but rather a more modest facility within walking distance of restaurants and services. It is convenient to the airport and allows easy access to belt highway to Captain Cook, Southpoint and the volcano. Room was comfortable and reasonably quiet -- the A/C created enough white noise to overcome noises outside. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Only real complaint is a lack of blackout curtains (there is a slatted outter door leading to the patio), which meant that sunrises at 6 a.m. pretty much lit up the room as if it were mid-morning elsewhere. There is no resort fee.
Read more
Response from J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha FearlessFred, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you liked our friendly staff members and convenient location. Also, thank you for the feedback about the blackout curtains. We are adding more blackout curtains in guest rooms over the next couple of months. We hope to serve you again in the future. Mahalo
Read more
When booking the room weeks in advance was able to use suite night upgrades. I called the night before checking and dad told by a manager that there were upgrades available. When we checked in I found out that we were lied to. No upgrades. I am very high status with marriott and every stay I have had had been amazing. This hotel has been the worst experience. I am here for five days and unfortunately stuck. The bathroom door isn't even attached! Very disappointed
Read more
Response from J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Dchambo, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback and regret to hear that we did not exceed your expectations for your room. We apologize for the mishap with your room assignment and we would like to assist you in making your stay more pleasant. I am so sorry that we did not show you appreciation for your earned status as a loyal Titanium Elite Member. Can you email our Director of Front Office directly at kdewey@konabeachhotel.com so that she can discuss your time with us further? We look forward to speaking with you in order to restore your confidence in the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. Mahalo
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$219 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel king kamehamehas kona beachhawaii king kamehamehas kona beach hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
452
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing