We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast

74-4920 Kiwi Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Hotel amenities
Save
You added A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

My family and I stayed here once. $500 dollars was stolen in the middle of the night from my mother in her locked room. I hate to think what might have happened if we would have woke up during the robbery. Do night put your family at risk. I was told by the owner that we would recieve a $500... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank mapacho
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We stayed here twice, once in 2007 and previously in 2006, since we like Kona so much. The first year was okay, all things considered. The owner is not at the property, and it had changed hands sometime around 2005-2006. The previous owner(s) must have sold the place "as is." The raggedy ann and andy dolls mentioned in other reviews... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank RollingstoneMD

Travelers are raving about these Kailua-Kona hotels

Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

There was a death in the family and we had to cancel our stay at Kiwi Gardens. All other hotels were very accommadating, but Kiwi Gardens kept our money - all of it! We were appauled. Don't stay here, they are crooks...

Helpful?
6 Thank Worldtraveller711
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2005

My husband and I are planning another trip to Hawaii. As I was again looking for B&B's, I remembered the horrible experience we had last year on our honeymoon. My husband and I booked this B&B for the last night of our honeymoon. We were running late for check in due to the fact that there was bad weather traveling... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank asil73
Management response:

We definitately have an ocean view, sorry their late night arrival and no full moon did not lend to ocean viewing, as far the breeze, I cannot control the weather... The Master Suite is located at the left end of the house,Total privacy there on that end of lanai and then the front of lani is screened in showing back... More 

Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2005

We did not enjoy our stay at Kiwi Gardens at all. To say that the people have eclectic tastes would be an understatement. I love character, but this was a little extreme. I think the thing that freaked my wife out the most was that there were Raggedy Ann (sp?) dolls, decorations, books, knick-knacks, etc absolutely everywhere. She couldn't sleep... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank aadams01
Management response:

The Master Suite has a large solid stand up screen (8 sections) separating the bathroom from the bedroom. There is not one raggedy doll in the Master Suite. I am a raggedy doll colector and display two dozen in the huge family room......Over the 15 years of greeting guests in our beautiful bed and breakfast I have heard sooo many... More 

Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2005

This was a very nice place to stay. We had the master suite, which was clean and nice sized. We were also allowed to store our stuff in their garage when we went over to stay in Volcano for the night. We picked it up the next day before our flight out of Kona. Very convenient!

Helpful?
5 Thank GoGatorsTampa_FL
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2005

The Kiwi Gardens B and B was the perfect place to relax, relax, relax! We three "native" islanders know what "aloha" is and Shirlee and Ron have plenty of it! Ron even fixed our car! Shirlee's breakfasts were awesome and we enjoyed chatting with her and the other guests. As islanders who have not stayed at B and B's before,... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2005

My husband and I have returned several times to Kiwi Gardens and have never had an unpleasant experience there. The warm welcome, explanation of house rules, the excellant breakfasts, the cleanliness of the rooms, the beautiful grounds, reasonable rates, and the friendliness that the hosts give throughout the entire visit keeps us coming back for more. We have recommended Kiwi... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank 484joanns
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2005

I cant get enough of this place=Ron and Shirlee are the most gracious couple I have met in all my travels=everything is spotless=the breakfasts are to die for and there is always plenty=more than enough to make it to dinner=if i am in a bind they always arrange for a rental car for me and help me locate any places... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2005

Boy, did I have a different, and much less positive experience than the other reviewers. To understand what made this experience so awful, I need to provide a little background. My girlfriend and I flew in from Los Angeles, arriving at Kona Airport around 9 in the evening. United was scrimping on costs, so we got an unexpectedly minimal dinner... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

I find it amazing that this individual was so upset because he helped himself to our private refrigerator and I was not pleased with his "hunger" behavior. Since he had not prepaid for his three night reservation and he was so upset, perhaps he should have left after the first night. Also amazing that he would be so upset because... More 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

#