We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms

Show Prices
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

Stayed at Mango Sunset for 5 nights in Feb this year. Overall we had a great time exploring the island with some great tips from Hans regarding the best places to visit for sightseeing & snorkling. The B&B itself was clean, tidy and very relaxing. It is convenient for the airport and 10 minutes from Kona (car required) . Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank W B
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2008

This was our first trip to Hawaii and our first night was at Mango Sunset. We arrived very late at night, but Hans provided very good directions and instructions for a self check-in. I had never been to a B&B before and didn't know what to expect, but the house itself was very clean and the rooms really comfortable. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MiteandDate
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2008

We spent a week at Mango Sunset, using it as a convenient and reasonably priced base of operations for our first visit to Hawaii. We're so glad we (blindly) picked Hans & Marsha's B&B instead of a hotel in town! Our room (the Hahalua Room with queen bed and private bath) was small but clean and very comfortable, and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KC_Los_Angeles
Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We chose this BnB because it offered a unique experience to stay on a coffee farm. The setting was peaceful and beautiful. It's location up the hill from the airport made it convenient as well. We were able to explore the area and the innkeeper was helpful in steering us to good snorkeling spots as well as giving us an... More 

Helpful?
Thank budandkaren
Mill Valley
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at the Mango Sunset and very much enjoyed the experience! Hans, Marsha, Karen and even Buddha (the cat) were all very warm hosts. Of course there was all the usual good things about staying in a great B&B - tasty breakfast, helpful directions, dinning suggestions, various other tips, etc. But over and beyond that,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Practical-poet
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2008

My family's experience at the Mango Sunset B&B was not ideal. Due to flight delays beyond our control, we didn't arrive at the B&B until after 10 pm. We tried to be as quiet as possible, so as not to disturb our hosts, but even doing our best they complained to us in the morning, saying that we were too... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank andreaslug
Kona_Innkeeper, Innkeeper at Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms, responded to this review

This review is a serious misrepresentation of events. The guests arrived well after 10 PM , hours after they were scheduled to be personally greeted and introduced to the Inn. We are, however, prepared for such cases and their late arrival was not at all unique. The problem they caused was in their disregard for our web site stated policy... More 

seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We found this B&B very peaceful, set in the hills on the coffee plantation up the street from the airport. I'm glad we started our trip here instead of in the busy tourist area. I loved the sound of the birds and the angle of the sun as it lit up the coffee plants and the flowers in the morning.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirly1
Spokane, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

In early December 07, I booked a room for mid-January 08. No prob. I read these reviews. Seemed like a good pick. My wife and I were looking forward to the stay. Today, very end of December, I get an e-mail saying "The dates you wanted 3 weeks ago are no longer available. Please check our availability calendar for dates... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank MMica
Kona_Innkeeper, Innkeeper at Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms, responded to this review

Please note, first of all, that this "reviewer" was never a guest here and never even saw our BnB. Secondly, this inquirer had sent us several confusing changes of his original projected itinerary. Eventually, our schedule program became garbled and he was sent one of our semi-automated response letters (which he quotes), informing him that his latest choice of change... More 

Boston
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2007

I stayed at Mango Sunset while attending a conference in Kona, and I highly recommend it! It was less expensive and more relaxing than the conference venue, and the breakfasts were so delicious. Sadly, on two days my conference started so early I couldn't sit for a long breakfast, but I was very kindly given a to-go bag to take... More 

Helpful?
Thank bostonbug
Redondo Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Mango Sunset during our first two nights in Kona - and we truly wished we had booked a longer stay! Besides the wonderful view, delicious and unique breakfasts, we were treated very well by Hans, his wife Marsha, and their daughter, Karen! We learned so much about the raising and processing of delicious... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ljdr
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.9 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
11.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
6.4 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family -style BnB, located in 2111' above the ocean on our gold-medal-winning Organic Kona Coffee Estate. Hot breakfasts and parking included; free WiFi, plus our Organic Kona Coffee, fruit, juice included. Quiet and secluded, cozy,private driveway. Breathtaking ocean views across our Kona Coffee Farm from the West Lanai and the Gazebo, where serve our breakfast to all of our guests. Minutes from Kona town, beaches and airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms

Address: 73-4261 Mamalahoa Hwy, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9190
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $145 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Sunset Bnb At Lyman Farms Hotel Kailua-Kona
Mango Sunset BnB At Lyman Farms Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I believe all rooms are similar a bed a dresser and a chair, ours had an in-suite bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles garyb644, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We had the end room which looked out on the Terrace and had its own entrance from the back.”
  • Just one of the Sunsets at Mango Sunset B & B on the Big Island of Hawaii
  • One of the many Spectacular Views on the Big Island
  • Hans and Marsha, our lovely hosts at the Mango Sunset B & B
 of 5 bubbles 729magss, Sep 19, 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with private bath and ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles DebraARegina, Jul 10, 2016 | Read review
“Recommend the Honu room.”
 of 5 bubbles homebydawn, Apr 8, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms seem pretty equal. They are nice, clean and have nice views.”
 of 5 bubbles C741EWphilh, Dec 27, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay