We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa

Save
Share
78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
15 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$401
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
travelup.com
$315
View deal
Traveluro
$286
View deal
ZenHotels.com$307
Lol.travel$369
Destinia.com$328
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2735)
360
Panoramas (37)
Room & Suite (494)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 04/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Updated 04/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
3.9
Value
3.7
GreenLeaders Silver level
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms, you'll be close to the best of Hawaii as a guest of our Kailua-Kona hotel located steps from Keauhou Bay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Refrigerator
On-demand movies
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English
3508Reviews130Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,019
  • 1,176
  • 707
  • 372
  • 234
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Danny A wrote a review Jul 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada3 contributions
Simply put, this is a 50 year-old resort located in a wonderful location. As such, the facilities show their age. The current property owner, Outrigger, is doing its best with what they have here. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, but do not expect a luxury resort experience that would cost you $500-$1000 a night elsewhere to the north. A great home base for an excursion-based vacation experience, but not necessarily where you would want to spend all day, every day (unless you have younger kids; they won’t know the difference and will LOVE the pool and slide).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha Danny! Mahalo for your stay with us at Outrigger Kona. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. We appreciate your comments on our facilities as well. We are currently working on a remodeling plan, your comments helps us focus on areas that needs our attention. We are already excited for your next stay! Mahalo
Read more
Madeleine N wrote a review Jul 2022
Honolulu, Hawaii12 contributions
Sitting at the font table, the beginnings of the show included cultural arts and music, followed by an introduction to the menu selections we would be enjoying for the evening. A selection of fresh fruits, a tasty dip paired with taro chips and drinks made it enjoyable. As I sat, I wondered if this would just be another luau- much like what all the other luaus I've been to in my lifetime. I'm born and raised in Hawaii and have seen it all. UNTIL TONIGHT! Gone was the cheesy bringing guests up to teach them the hula, to shake the hips to the Tahitian drums, to frolic under the night skies the "Hawaiian Wedding Song" plays in the background. All this is fun and I've seen it time and time again. FEAST + FIRE is authentic that it creates an evening of dinner theater. The Lim family puts on an incredible show, with their lineage tracing back to the royal descendants of Alapa‘i Nui, the one-time ruler of Hawaii who have been iconic musicians for generations. What I loved the MOST were the costumes created by iconic designer Manaola Yap who stunned the audiences at New York Fashion Show in 2017. Go see this show- stay until the show starts. Some guests did not realize that the show had yet to start and I could hear some comments asking if this was all of the show. No it is not. Sit and enjoy because as the sun sets- the evening will begin and I promise you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha! We are delighted you enjoyed Feast & fire Luau! Mahalo for taking the time to express your enjoyment, we know it will inspire many guests to attend! Mahalo
Read more
Jennifer J wrote a review Jul 2022
Denver, Colorado26 contributions55 helpful votes
We arrived at the hotel and thought it didn't look bad from the outside. As we started to walk to our room we saw the hotel needed updates. Our room looked old, the carpet was old and was separating from the tile, and the bathrooms need a major overhaul. The tube was stained and looked dirty, the toilet looked like it belonged in a gas station. Even the towels needed updating. One of our towels had a big hole, I wasn't sure why that would even be in anyone's room. The air condition in the room never really got cold, It didn't matter what temp we put it on it was never cool. It was pretty warm at night when we tried to sleep. The restaurants in the hotel were understaffed so it took a while to be seated and get our orders taken. Once we got the order in the food came out pretty fast. The menus need help, there aren't many options for dinner and the food was just ok. We tried to go outside of the hotel to eat as much as possible. The hotel food was overpriced as well. The staff at the hotel were all pretty friendly, the pools were clean. The hotel allowed outside people to purchase day passes for the pool, I know they want to bring more money in but the seating became crowded because of outside people. If you wanted to be right by the pool you had to pay extra for the seats and umbrella. I thought that was wrong being that I paid to be at the hotel. I can understand paying for a cabana but not pool chairs and an umbrella. Overall the hotel needs some renovations done. The rooms need updating and they need to not nickle and dime you everytime you turn around.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Oven views are a must to sit out on the balcony.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha Jennifer! Mahalo for staying with us at Outrigger Kona. We appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns. It highlights for us areas that need improving and our attention. Mahalo for your kind words about our staff. We would love the opportunity to hear more about your staff, please feel free to email us or call the property directly. We sincerely hope to see you again. Mahalo
Read more
T E wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
We are now years past COVID and still Have many issues as a country and staffing. I get it. But as of today can’t still make this excuse and must give customer service and find a way. This place is a “ resort” but they have no food really of the quality you would think. No eggs or omelette for breakfast or meat choices . There is no dinner or room service options really except basics. It’s a joke. The hotel has no live Music or festive attitude. This is no longer Hawaii pride it’s sad and just getting by: being from NYC we know how hard things can get and now with inflation and a recession on the way it will get worse… but we people allowed it by giving up our freedom to these politicians over something not as bad as they said it was.. the financial impact is way more devastating… all that to be said. Get back to it.. give the service, make people feel like guests, find the people to work and do all you can because the economy and people coming depends on it. Wake up!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Outrigger Kona. We love to have the opportunity hear more about your experience . Please feel free to email us or call the property directly. Mahalo
Read more
Lee K wrote a review Jul 2022
Prairie Village, Kansas932 contributions349 helpful votes
Nice hotel and good location. The new owners plan to renovate and it desperately needs it. Friendly staff but stressed due to staff shortages. Food is ok but limited. Breakfast, especially for tour groups, is limited to continental and not close to other hotels. Everything is pricey.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 5 weeks ago
Aloha Lee! Thank you for your recent stay with us at Outrigger Kona. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and location. Your feed back is very important as it guides us to areas that need our attention. Can not wait for your next visit! Mahalo
Read more
Janna C wrote a review Jul 2022
Ladera Ranch, California26 contributions4 helpful votes
The good - beautiful location, grounds are decent, staff is friendly, close to a couple beaches you can drive to, close to the bay for manta ray excursion, beautiful little chapel on the property, and nice lobby when you check in. The bad - property needs attention to detail. Lacking in upkeep (ex: bottom of the pool is chipped everywhere, our bathtub/shower had paint splatter on it, the bathrooms really need updating - they’re kind of gross, broken chairs out by the lookout, if you want to play tennis the racquets and balls are about 20 years old. There’s a shell of a restaurant that is now closed so no place for a nice dinner on the property. We had a great experience at an Outrigger in Phuket, Thailand. This Kona property needs lots of TLC. Again, the staff was nice and they were responsive when our hot water went out and when the shower handle broke. Lol. They sent someone right away which we appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 5 weeks ago
Aloha Janna! Mahalo for your kind words about our staff! We greatly appreciate all your feed back, helps us focus on what needs improvement and our attention the most. Mahalo
Read more
C H wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Outrigger our first night after flying into Kona. The people make this place. The lady who checked us in was so warm and friendly. The other guests were a joy to chat with as we sat at the manta ray deck (I have to say that we only saw rare glimpses of manta rays whereas they were abundant from the Mauna Kea viewing area). Dinner from the Holua bar & lounge was pricey and took a while but at least was delicious. The swimming pool is huge and pretty. The staff work hard to keep the grounds clean. The main drawback is that our room was dark and dank.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 5 weeks ago
Aloha! Thank you so much for your stay with us at Outrigger Kona. We deeply appreciate your kind words about our staff. Your feedback is so important as it helps us see what areas need our attention. Excited to see you again soon! Mahalo
Read more
Michelle wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions6 helpful votes
Think there was a hey day for this property, but it’s not today. The overall outside of the property was gorgeous but everything inside was very dated. Tried calling several times to fix some problems but no one ever picks up the phone. - fridge didn’t work at all - shower goes from cold to scolding hot, so we only took quick showers - not enough towels for 4 people in the room. We booked a room with 2 beds for 4 people. - the balcony was huge but it had two tiny chairs and a table, not enough for a group of 4 to hang out in, also looks really awkward since there’s a LOT of empty space. Felt like they removed most of the furniture that might have existed in the past, and never replaced it. Considering we paid $400+ per night we expected something better, or at least for someone to always pick up the phone when we dial customer service from the room. I will say that the view from our balcony was gorgeous though.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded Jun 15, 2022
Aloha Michelle H, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa. We appreciate your honest feedback as it provides us an opportunity to improve our overall guest experience through retraining our hosts and enhancing the amenities and offerings in our rooms and throughout the property. We sincerely hope that we can rebuild your loyalty to the resort and welcome you back with a much better experience in the future. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Read more
Q-bert137 wrote a review Jun 2022
Burlington, Massachusetts33 contributions11 helpful votes
Although I could tell that COVID has effected some of the services and they were definitely short staffed, I really enjoyed my stay here. The pool was great and I really loved that they had an adult quiet pool that was really quiet and for adults. The water slide at the other pool was fun too. The staff here were very helpful and nice. I could tell they were really trying to please the guests, even with obvious staffing challenges. They were always friendly, no matter how busy they were. It was also nice getting daily maid service - this is something that I have not had in years. I thought breakfast by the pool was really nice and the pool bar was great too. I'm sure there are some improvements that need to be made with the changeover from the other company and the challenges hotels have faced recently, but I thought this was a great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Definitely go for the ocean view, the bay is beautiful
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded Jun 9, 2022
Aloha! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We greatly appreciate all your kind words and encouragement. We will strive to tighten up any areas that need improvement and continue the high standard of customer service that you can expect from us. Looking forward to your next stay. Mahalo!
Read more
ewanarm wrote a review Jun 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom47 contributions20 helpful votes
Stayed for 3 nights and unfortunately were very disappointed. Firstly the good things were the views from our room which were fantastic and there were some amazing sunsets and the pool which has two areas, a family area and a quieter adult's area. However there is a lot that can be improved. Only one member of staff at reception when we arrived so check in took a while and the receptionist was not very helpful in explaining the facilities at the hotel and did not explain what you got for the resort fee.. We had requested an ocean view room which we got and were told that we had been given a upgrade to one overlooking the pool as well. This meant that it was noisy most of the day and we couldn't sit out on the balcony for very long. The hotel is a big concrete lump set on a peninsula overlooking the ocean and definitely needed some tlc, a bit dated and tired and the whole place could do with a refresh. Restaurant had a very limited and expensive menu and you felt like you were sitting in a basement! The pool bar served food up to 5.15 pm and it did feel like you were eating under a motorway flyover!!! There is nothing around the hotel, no shops or restaurants. The shopping centre is a 35 minute walk away and then you have to get a shuttle bus to the resort. Taxis don’t come unless going to the airport and you can’t even get a pizza delivered. Overall considering the price a very disappointing stay and would certainly not recommend this hotel or stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view but avoid overlooking the pool
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded Jun 10, 2022
Aloha, We are very sorry to hear that your stay fell short of your expectations . We greatly appreciate your honest feed back, it helps improve our resort and the overall guest experience. To address the issues you had, we would love to hear from you. Either by email or by calling the hotel directly. Mahalo
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$301 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton keauhou bay hotel kailua-kona, sheraton keauhou bay resort and spa, sheraton kailua-kona, sheraton keauhou bay resort & spa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
508
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Kona Natural Soap (1.7 miles), Heavenly Hawaiian Kona Coffee Farm (2.3 miles), and Aloha Adventure Farms (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gypsea Gelato, Kona Grill House, and Da Poke Shack.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kealakekua Bay (6.8 miles), The Painted Church (9.9 miles), and Kamakahonu (6.1 miles).
Does Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.