We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 329: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As part of a group of 4 people staying in a 2-bedroom unit oceanfront, we were, overall, very happy with the complex and room. There is ample parking, the location is very convenient, and the room itself was very comfortable and afforded a wonderful view. I am hesitant to fully recommend this place, as the customer service was extremely lacking.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jca30
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When you book an ocean front condo you expect ocean front…not hidden behind other buildings, not where you have to go to the pool for ocean views, not looking at a wall of another building. When you book a unit with AC, you expect AC to work and to cool the air. When you arrive to find that you are... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dr F
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Royal Sea Cliff. I apologize for the misunderstanding and I appreciate this opportunity to advise readers about the different business units that operate at the Royal Sea Cliff. If booking at the Royal Sea Cliff Kona by Outrigger, the units are reserved... More 

Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

We have stayed at these condo's twice now. We book ocean view rooms. Our first trip our room was on the 7th floor which is the top floor. This last trip we asked to be closer to the bottom level with ocean view, we were informed all ocean view rooms were on the 7th floor but there was one on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha Laura, Thank you so much for your review and for your loyalty to the Royal Sea Cliff Kona by Outrigger. I have read every review ever written about our property and many people have highlighted the fact that the units are individually owned, but nobody has ever made the plea to treat the units with the respect you would... More 

Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

This was a nice place as far as convenience to places and things to do. The TV didn't work and they had to replace it with a smaller one, some of the bulbs were so dim it was difficult to see and we had to request new bulbs. The front desk wasn't very helpful either. The pool was right on... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy V
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha Cindy and thank you so much for completing a review regarding your visit to the Royal Sea Cliff Kona by Outrigger. I am so sorry that the person scheduled for 7 AM on the morning of your check out was running late but I'm glad you noticed the key box there and dropped your keys. I'm also sorry for... More 

Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

I went with two other girlfriends so it was great we had an apartment of our own during our stay. We could cook and enjoyed a much bigger space instead of trying to squeeze in a hotel room altogether!

Helpful?
Thank Victoria H
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for writing a review on TripAdvisor - it is greatly appreciated. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed being in a condo rather than a cramped hotel room, not to mention how much more comfortable it is to sit around with friends in a home-like environment with your own food and drinks rather than sitting in a restaurant.... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

This was our first trip to Hawaii and Royal Sea Cliff was our first stop on our mult-island trip. The staff was first rate. Always friendly and very attentive. If we had a request, they were able to meet it. I was very impressed and thankful to the gentleman at the front desk. For example, my husband gets very hot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank im85grad
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you so much for staying with us and then for posting a review at TripAdvisor. The gentleman to whom you are referring is James and I want you to know that I count my blessings every night having this sincere, helpful, knowledgeable, genuine gentleman at the front desk five nights a week!! James is truly wonderful and... More 

Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

Our stay at the Outrigger on 'the big island' was relaxing and very enjoyable. The grounds are a beautiful tropical sanctuary with views down to the ocean. The suites are very comfortable and well equiped and there are two swimming pools. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a bit removed from the main centre of Kona,... More 

Helpful?
Thank CherGalloway
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you so much for your lovely review on TripAdvisor - you had me at "relaxing!" I'm so pleased that you enjoyed yourself. Thank you for mentioning our grounds as we have enhanced that experience by identifying and labeling more than 30 plants, flowers, and trees to simulate a botanical garden. This is something that our guests have... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

The folks at the Royal Sea Cliff really try to please! Any problem/suggestion they were right on top of it. We loved our room (#310) with a great view of both lanai's. We loved the orientation and the concierge and front desk folks were always ready to help! Can't wait to come back! Mahalo!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Smother123
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

My Husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon and we were so disappointed with our stay here. Unfortunately, we didn't receive any special treatment for our honeymoon but we were willing to accept that. We stayed in a Garden View room and it was big, staff were friendly, but the quality of this hotel was poor.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jade H
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Please be assured that I will research your accommodations further so that I may make some recommendations to the owner of the unit in which you stayed. I am truly sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, especially since you were here for such a very special... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

I do not have time right in this moment to leave a full review, but will certainly be returning to do so. We were so shocked by the service at this place, we had to leave. The male on concierge was constantly looking down my wife's dress at her chest, she felt sexually harassed by his behaviour and was very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Solskin78
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Please contact me directly at carol.hanna@outrigger.com and provide me with the details of this incident so that I may handle appropriately. Thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

226 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (212)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.7 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.0 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#5 of 33 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.3 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 33 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Address: 75-6040 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $144 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay