We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hale Kona Kai Condominiums

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 308: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had the pleasure to stay in unit 213, oceanfront, sunsets were amazing, condo was well stocked, free wifi. Home away from home, very clean, staff was very friendly Aloha spirit all over here! Walking distance to all the local restaurants & shops in Kona. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay, will be back for sure..

Helpful?
Thank Amy W
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

My wife and I have been to Kona several times but have never stayed at Hale Kona Kai until this year. We were not disappointed, in fact we would stay there again. We had unit 201, a corner unit with convient covered reserved parking and a spectacular view of the Kona bay and coastline.We ate all our meals on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

We stayed in Hale Kona Kai #302 for five days at the beginning of April 2016 and it was lovely. The condo had everything necessary for a comfortable holiday and the position right on the sea front was perfect for watching the activities out on the water and the sunsets. It's just off Ali'i Drive so you're near all the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J M H
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review and we look forward to a return visit with you. More 

Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

These are all individually owned condos so some units are nicer than others. You really can't get any closer to the ocean. Nothing like going to sleep to the sound of the waves. We also loved being able to enjoy the pool while listening to the waves. We could watch the turtles swim while enjoying a cocktail on our balcony.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel-SueR
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this review

We look forward to you returning. More 

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

Just returned from 2-week stay in unit 307. The unit was great - it was clean, the kitchen well-equipped, and the building well-maintained. The unit was above the pool, and we saw the maintenance men taking care of it every day. We contacted Adeline with an issue on our first day, and within an hour it was resolved. The view... More 

Helpful?
Thank tracfeg
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your input. The photo on the web site is of the lanai set that you had, and I am sorry you did not like it. Some people like the lanai high set and others do not, we have plenty of condo that have regular high sets; so next time. More 

Lathrup Village, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016

You spent a little extra dough for this corner unit and believed it would be just as nice as three other units we stayed in here. I agree with BusinessTraveler052 that this unit needs the wicker cleaned up real good or replaced. The couch is no good. The kitchen cabinets, the stove, and the refrigerator should be replaced (they show... More 

Helpful?
Thank RideAMotorcycle
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this review

Thanks for your input, now that we are aware of the lack of a cutting board and knives they have been replaced. The fridge is only 5 years old, being so close to the ocean the outside gets spotty and we did have that painted. There is one wicker sofa and another new sofa in the living room and the... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016

This condo complex has one of the premier locations in Kona. Right on the water ... overlooking the water actually and walking distance to everything ... we've stayed near it several times so I was anxious to give it a try. We weren't able to book VRBO so we booked through the management company. Unit 412 is a premier location,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this review

ALL of these things have been addressed in 412. The walls were taken down to the studs and replaced and there is new flooring thru out. The dishwasher is attached. Almost all of our condos have the "split bathrooms" where the toilet an shower are in one room and the sink in another. Most couples feel this is a bonus.... More 

Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Hale Kona Kai #212 for two weeks and we could not have asked for closer waterfront as this condo overhangs the water and when there is high surf advisory you get to experience it first hand! Adeline the Manager is lovely and very helpful. The condo is centrally located so you can walk Ali'i Drive with ease.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kydler
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this review

Mahalo for your input. Yes rattan and bamboo is what we can buy on the island :) leather just would not work :) More 

Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2016

I've stayed at Hale Kona Kai a number of times. They have some very nice condos and others that could use some help. Unit 301 could use some help. It's not exactly bad, but there are others in this complex that are just much better. For example, the kitchen was done "on the cheap". The cooking utensils are horrible, cutting... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BusinessTraveler052
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this review

All of the knives and assorted utensils were replaced, thanks for the input. More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016

My husband and I stayed in 309. Booked at the last minute so not much to choose from, however we were pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was. Great view of the lagoon and could see the water pretty good. Could see it better when the blind next door on the lanai was not pulled down. Not sure why... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you again when you visit! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

247 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (243)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.9 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#7 of 33 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
True & absolute oceanfront one bedroom condos within walking distance to beach, farmers market, restaurants, and town. Small quiet boutique condo complex well located for day trips all over the island. Full sized kitchens, AC, private lanais(balcony), free WIFI and parking. Watch the ocean, sunset, turtles, dolphins from your private lanai. Ask about our low season specials. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hale Kona Kai Condominiums

Address: 75-5870 Kahakai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1399
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $115 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hotel Kailua-Kona
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing