We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We booked our trip to Hawaii through a travel agency, that we had worked with before. Usually, they have been in most places, so we never had any complaints about the chosen accomodation. If the quality of the accomodation was for some reason lower, we...More
I decided to write this review because I just returned home from a 1-week stay at this condo and had last minute concerns because of some recent negative reviews so I thought I'd share our experience. My review is based about 85% on our specific...More
A bit dated, but near the ocean and close to the hotspots of Kona. The rooms are a bit dated, however facilites are good, WIfi works real well, and you can drive within 5mins to Kona centre and all the restaurants and bars and the...More
Management response:Responded 2 days ago
We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We will be doing many updates in the near future and hope to see you back.
This unit 223 has gorgeous ocean views and is centrally, though not within walking distance, located. The price was extremely reasonable, but there is a reason: the whole place is very outdated and in need of a thorough cleaning and updating. The toilet in the...More
Never, and I mean NEVER waste your money here. We checked in around 5pm and dropped our stuff in the room. We headed out for dinner and came back to relax. When we got back, we realized how filthy the room was. We headed downstairs...More
1 Thank KBoklage
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago
Again, we apologize for your experience and thank you for pointing out these issues which have been corrected. The terms agreed upon have been applied some time ago. Please contact us directly if you are still experiencing difficulties.
$112 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Star rating provided by Expedia.
Number of rooms
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Kona Bali Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
I think they have a cleaning fee schedule on their website. It depends on the size of the unit and the length of stay. But yes, believe what the hotel quotes you. I stay for 2 nights in a studio so my cleaning fee was $40... More
I think they have a cleaning fee schedule on their website. It depends on the size of the unit and the length of stay. But yes, believe what the hotel quotes you. I stay for 2 nights in a studio so my cleaning fee was $40 or $45.
Response from BRumball | Property representative |
The Kona Bali Kai is a 55 year old building (how else could we build this close to the ocean?) and with the salt water influence, more maintenance is always required. In fact we call the ocean front building a "ship... More
The Kona Bali Kai is a 55 year old building (how else could we build this close to the ocean?) and with the salt water influence, more maintenance is always required. In fact we call the ocean front building a "ship that never sails". Without maintenance, guests would complain about condition as well. I would like to point out that only a few have complained about construction noise, but often those are the most vocal. Many people have left wonderful reviews.
Having stated that, owners do try to advise of construction and have new policies in place to notify neighbors. The truth is that construction schedules can change on a dime.
There are several alternatives. You may rent a hotel room at an oceanfront resort. They will charge more but will have options to move you. You may rent from Castle Resorts at the Kona Bali Kai. The charge is not quite as high but they may be able to move you to another area. Castle Resorts has a pool of rooms. If you are renting from a private owner, they usually only have one condo to rent so may not be able to move you. Check the policy set by the owner or Castle Resorts, in the event construction starts up near you.
Noisy construction has limited hours on weekdays and weekends and often visitors are out and about enjoying the island.
I hope this information helps you make an informed decision.
Are you sure you want to delete this answer?
"Get a room that has AC, especially if going in summer."