We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Aston Kona by the Sea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Aston Kona by the Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 487: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Partially re-modeled beautiful seaside property. We got upgraded from a 1-bedroom to a 2-bedroom without asking. This was fortuitous as our third person was going to have to sleep on the pull-out sofa and now he had his own room and bathroom. A very nice upgrade. The north side of underground parking lot and the property is a maze and... More 

Helpful?
Thank BILL C
Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here during a trip around the Western States and Hawaii last month. An excellent place to stop and catch our breath, right on the seafront. We had a huge two bedroom apartment for what seemed like the cost of a hotel room, and even got seniors' rates!! Close to restaurant and shops, our only disappointment was we only had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rod W
Silver Point, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything Castle Kona Bali Kai is not, except no ocean access. The rooms are between good and excellent (we had three) and the staff was very helpful. 3 grills between the "beach" and the pool. Sometimes all were in use, but all the guests were friendly and shared if needed.

Helpful?
Thank jpwhite6
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom unit. Updated, very clean. Staff was eztremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful views. Nice central location to many attractions. Would definitely stay again if we get back to that island.

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine F
KBS_GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others through this forum. We appreciate your business and your kind words, and we hope that you will have the opportunit to visit again very soon. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently came back and I had the best vacation ever. Aston Kona by the Sea is absolutely amazing! We had no problems at all. The people were so polite and the general manager is one outstanding man. I have only been back for one day and I am already planning my next trip. I will forever stay here every... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimmie C
KBS_GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Wow. We can't thank you enough for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that our property and staff helped make your vaction the best it could be. We are so glad you chose Kona by the Sea and that you plan to return. We look forward to spoiling you again the not too distant future. More 

Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The proximity to the ocean is the highlight of this hotel. The soothing sound of the ocean waves is fantastic. The sliding doors eliminate the sound if you are sensitive to noise. Most condos require a 2-night minimum and it was a relief to finally locate a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom option with no minimum stay. Check-in and check-out was quick and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiliki68
KBS_GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Aston Kona by the Sea and that we were able to accommodate your need for single night accommodations. As is the standard of the industry, we do apply a 2-night minimum on many weekends, holidays, and during other high-demand periods. We apologize for the visiting insect and thank... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This property has ocean front views, but don't expect to see the sun rise or sun set, and expect a tiny man made beach with no access to the ocean for swimming. They have a very tiny hot tub and a pool. The one bedroom unit we stayed in was in need of being upgraded and was very noisy. People... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay B
KBS_GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry for the unusual challenges you had during your stay. If you did not make a formal complaint to our front desk, please contact me directly so that I can obtain information about the condo you stayed in and pass your maintenance concerns on to the owner. All condominium units at Aston Kona by... More 

Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful property with excellent hospitality. Went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. Rare, on the beach location. Nice pool area. Very quiet and extremely clean. Located away from the busy main Kona area. Will stay again!! This was from our lanai.

Helpful?
Thank tomnsueb
KBS_GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing Aston Kona by the Sea for your Big Island stay. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit. More 

Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a room on the first floor with full ocean view. Two bedrooms , two bathrooms and a fold out couch to accommodate my family of six. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything if you wanted to cook a meal, just bring the food! There was a stackable washer and dryer with a box of detergent supplied for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tink2174
KBS_GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share details of your stay with others through this forum. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities and features our property and our island has to offer. We value your business and hope that you will visit us again soon. More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed here for our last night since we were flying out of Kona. It is a nice property with a washer and dryer which was very nice to have since we had been traveling for 10 days. I only have two problems #1 the bathroom was not clean. There were piles of hair in the corners of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily G
KBS_GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear of issues you encountered during your stay at Aston Kona by the Sea and we apologize for any inconvenience. Our response will help other travelers understand how such issues can be avoided or immediately rectified. All rooms are thoroughly cleaned after each check-out. Clearly someone failed to carefully inspect your room after the cleaning and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

399 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (349)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
View from Room (56)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
2.0 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,529 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#5 of 33 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 33 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75-6106 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2312 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $197 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Expedia so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay