Kona Tiki Hotel

Kona Tiki Hotel

Inlet with crashing waves!
Traveler (70)
Inside the room setting area of Top floor Deluxe corner ocean front Suite
Room & Suite (41)
Kona Tiki Hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#11 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.5
Value
4.5
The only hotel in Kona where ALL rooms have private oceanfront lanais. If you want a uniquely refreshing Hawaiian experience - away from resort crowds - our sixteen oceanfront rooms offer an easy, breezy return to simplicity. Located one mile South of Kailua-Kona on the Big Island of Hawai'i, Kona Tiki is the perfect vacation destination where you can either relax at the pool your entire stay or use the hotel as a base to explore the rest of the island.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Diving
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Parking
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Snorkeling
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Room features
Desk
Private balcony
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Walk-in shower
Hair dryer
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

75-5968 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1324
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 58 out of 100
58
Keahole Airport
Kamuela Airport
33.7 mi
See all flights
21Reviews28Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 14
  • 4
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jillian S wrote a review Mar 2024
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We weren’t sure what to expect but booked based on reviews and absolutely loved this hotel. We saw humpback whales from our lanai, and beautiful sunsets from the pool deck nightly. The room was spacious and clean and had a kitchenette that was very handy in terms of drinks and snacks. They even had some beach chairs and boogie boards to borrow (first come first served). Would definitely stay here again - it felt like a hidden gem!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kona Tiki Manager, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Apr 26, 2024
We look forward to your return! While we can pretty much guarantee sunsets, getting to see whales is a bonus :) Mahalo for sharing your experience at Kona Tiki.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark P wrote a review Feb 2023
Round Rock, Texas
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is old school Hawaii which is exactly what my wife and I were looking for in our hotel. It’s all about the “Aloha” from the minute you’re walking to your room and see and hear the beautiful ocean waves crashing and coconut palm trees swaying in the breeze. Because this is a small property you feel like you have it all to yourself. The room has been updated you have a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker and dishes and utensils. The room is with lanai open air breezes and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on which we were so happy especially after a day of exploring the “Big Island” snorkeling, hiking volcanoes or sport fishing. We will definitely come back and stay again. Aloha & hui hou
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kona Tiki Manager, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Feb 12, 2023
Mahalo for your descriptive review of Kona Tiki! We love that you enjoyed the "old school" vibe and brought your aloha to this special place. We'll look forward to your return - aloha & a hui hou :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
reisender-aus-dtld wrote a review Apr 2023
Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a small hotel (16 rooms) directly at the ocean front. The rooms do not have A/C, but this is not necessary because the sea is so close and there is always a breeze of fresh air. There is also no TV which we did not miss at all. The waves are rough and sometimes loud, and we were glad that no neighbour had a TV to turn it on very loud. The room was spacious with a fully equipped kitchenette. Breakfast on the veranda was wonderful every morning (we have a room on the ground floor with garden access). No breakfast is served, but we had our own food in the kitchenette (fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee machine).
Parking is possible directly in front of the hotel. The pool is large enough, clean, and good for swimming. The staff was very nice, helpful and friendly. You can walk to the city center of Kona, but this is tough when the sun is shining (about 1 km), so we took the car. The hotel is expensive, but this is standard on Hawaii Big Island. We were very sorry that we had to leave and would come back at any time whenever we return to Big Island.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a room in the ground floor (with garden access). However, the view may be better from...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kona Tiki Manager, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Apr 7, 2023
Aloha! Thank you for the wonderful review. Looking forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Mahalo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Blueliliac wrote a review Nov 2022
Canberra, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely wonderful place to stay in Kona. Our room (with a lanai) was right on the ocean and perfect for wine at sunset. The room itself was lovely, clean and well appointed with everything we needed for breakfasts and light meals. The hotel itself has been recently updated and is clearly being well cared for by the management team - which were very helpful and welcoming. Parking wasn't a problem for our large rental car as there was always a safe space across the street. We easily walked the 20 or so minutes to Coconut Grove for dinners and had just a few minutes drive to some great snorkeling at Kahalu'u Beach. Completely recommend the Kona Tiki, no regrets!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kona Tiki Manager, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Nov 30, 2022
Many mahalos for your lovely & descriptive review - we truly appreciate it! We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Kona Tiki, and we'll look forward to having you back one day :) Aloha & a hui hou ...
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dr_ruthSydney wrote a review Feb 2024
Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Only five minutes drive from the centre of Kona is a wonderful little hotel. It is perched on the rocks overlooking the ocean and the surf rolls onto the seawall just outside your room. Every room has a balcony, a kitchenette ie microwave, toaster, kettle and utensils. There’s no maid service but linen is replaced when used. They have a car park which is small but convenient. The pool is just behind the seawall and is long enough to swim laps if you want. They lend out boggy boards, snorkel gear, have an ice machine and Barbeque.

But the view!

Breakfast on the balcony each morning was a memory I will cherish.

Don’t tell your friends about this great place, on the Big Island that has everything that Oahu has lost.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms 205,206,305,306 would have the best aspect.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kona Tiki Manager, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Mar 12, 2024
Ssshhhh ;) Yes, Big Island is very different than Oahu in all the right ways, and we are so glad you enjoyed our slice of old-school Hawaii :) Thanks for sharing your experience - please come again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard B wrote a review Jun 2024
Edgartown, Massachusetts
2.0 of 5 bubbles
While we love the sound of surf, the road noise from this hotel drowned out the sea. The hotel is literally 10 feet off a busy road and since there is no air conditioning keeping the windows open is a must. There is a little kitchenette with a coffee pot and we were given one days worth of coffee and no more. Parking is limited and if the lot is full you must park across that busy road which is dangerous to cross especially at night. While listed as a 2 star hotel, the Kona Tiki Hotel is less than 1 star.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kona Tiki Manager, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Kona Tiki definitely is not a good fit for everyone, and we are sorry that it was not a good fit for you ... since we cannot tell who you are, we cannot speak to your particular experience. However, overwhelmingly, we hear from guests that the crashing waves drown out the road noise - plus everything oceanfront in Kona has Ali'i Drive on the other side. We try to be as clear as possible in our listings and our pre-arrival emails that parking is limited (with no parking fees like most hotels here) and that there is no A/C -- one of the best parts of Kona Tiki is getting the ocean breeze through the oceanside windows and doors, but there are times when the winds calm, and you may have visited during one of those times. We typically do give additional coffee when requested - sorry if there was miscommunication about that.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pam wrote a review Mar 2024
Red Hook, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Kona Tiki is such a special hidden jewel. It is the opposite of a resort in all the right ways - the vibe is chill - we experienced people gathering by the pool at happy hour for a front row seat to the perfect sunset view. Our room was modern and clean with a kitchenette (real coffee maker), best of all, huge balcony overlooking ocean waves full of tropical fish / yellow tangs. They also had books, suntan lotion, boogie boards, snorkel equipment, and beach towels. We walked to town every night and met Wasabi tours across the street. Just awesome!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kona Tiki Manager, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Mar 12, 2024
Mahalo for your review! Love your description :) So glad you caught the Kona Tiki vibe ... we'll look forward to your return - aloha!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leslie B wrote a review Apr 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 5 nights at this wonderful hotel. A little less than a mile walk to downtown Kona, this hotel is situated close enough to the action but far enough away from the big resorts and crowds. The salt water pool was both refreshing and relaxing, and the patio was an amazing spot to watch the sunset. The bed was extremely comfortable and there is a small parking lot for no extra fee. The ocean crashing against the walls created a peaceful way to end each night. I highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kona Tiki Manager, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Apr 26, 2024
Many mahalos for your review! We appreciate your description of your experience and your recommendation. So glad you enjoyed your stay ... a hui hou!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dominic Z wrote a review Mar 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a week at the Kona Tiki Hotel. A small boutique place overlooking the ocean. If you like the sound of crashing waves when you sleep and a clean and spacious room this is the place for you. A beautiful salt water pool overlooking the ocean with amazing sunsets is the icing on the cake. We walked to town at night for great meals. Slightly longer than I expected but for this place it is worth it. Loved it there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Great location . Listen to the sound of crashing waves and enjoy the sunsets Fromm the pool deck.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kona Tiki Manager, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Mar 12, 2024
Many mahalos for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Much aloha to you ... a hui hou :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mike h wrote a review Jan 2023
Fort Worth, Texas
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a short stay this past week for the first time. Property is located on the water without having to cross the street which we loved. The sound of the waves all day and night were super relaxing and provided for excellent sleep. Saw a pod of dolphins on the lanai which was awesome. Units have been updated and are very well done. Room we had (I think) was slightly smaller than others which caused the bathroom to be pretty tight (shower was great!). No TV is great, no a/c was no problem either. Service was excellent via text and we had no issues at all. Did hear a few load vehicles from the road but I am certain half the neighborhood did as well. Loved our stay and are looking at dates for a longer return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kona Tiki Manager, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Feb 12, 2023
Thank you so much for your review of Kona Tiki Hotel! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for helping others experience it through your description. We'll look forward to your return -- aloha & a hui hou!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PAUL D asked a question Feb 2022
how much is the room a day ???
Answer from Kona Tiki Hotel
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii88 contributions
Aloha! Our current rates range from $249-299/night (plus tax) depending on availability. Please feel free to call anytime to check on pricing.
Answer from Rachelle S
Phoenix, Arizona25 contributions34 helpful votes
Hi! There are a variety of small kids friendly sandy spots both north and south of the property and a wonderful family beach 10 minutes south. There is uber and no car is the way to go in kona if you can.
Boyshe asked a question Feb 2020
Blaine, Washington96 contributions48 helpful votes
Are there hair dryers available?
Answer from Kona Tiki Hotel
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii88 contributions
We have hair dryers you can pick up from the front desk :)
Answer from Kona Tiki Hotel
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii88 contributions
Aloha, no television or AC - all rooms are oceanfront with good breezes.
sdmitriy asked a question Feb 2019
Four Lakes, Washington
Do you have enough parking spots for cars?
Answer from Kona Tiki Hotel
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii88 contributions
Aloha! We are actually short having one space per unit, but sometimes people don't have cars ... when there are more cars than spaces, we have a magical way to make everything work so that everyone can park in the lot (the details are in the confirmation email when you make a reservation). Regardless, it is a small lot, so sometimes people choose to park across the street where there is usually ample/safe parking.
Richard B wrote a tip Jun 2024
Edgartown, Massachusetts9 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else."
Read full review
sneal1968 wrote a tip May 2024
Albuquerque, New Mexico30 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Need something? Hotel staff are there for you. Want to know what the yellow fish are swimming beneath your lanai? Just ask! (Yellow Tang)"
Read full review
Dominic Z wrote a tip Mar 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location . Listen to the sound of crashing waves and enjoy the sunsets Fromm the pool deck. "
Read full review
dr_ruthSydney wrote a tip Feb 2024
Sydney274 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms 205,206,305,306 would have the best aspect."
Read full review
VancJane wrote a tip Oct 2023
Vancouver, Washington21 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is crowded, bring a plug in charger for your phone, keep your sliders open and sleep to the crashing surf outside!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kailua-Kona area.
PRICE RANGE
$271 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kona tiki kailua, hotel kona tiki
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KONA TIKI HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Kona Tiki Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kona Tiki Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ali'i Drive (0.3 miles), Royal Kona Resort (0.6 miles), and Huggo's on the Rocks (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kona Tiki Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kona Tiki Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Kona Tiki Hotel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Kona Tiki Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kona Tiki Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gypsea Gelato, Basik Acai, and Jackie Rey's Kailua-kona.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kona Tiki Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Kona Tiki Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hulihe'e Palace (1.2 miles), Kamakahonu National Historic Landmark (1.3 miles), and Ahuena Heiau (1.3 miles).
Does Kona Tiki Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Kailua-Kona HotelsKailua-Kona Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars