We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
75-5968 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1324
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (381)
Room & Suite (130)
Pool & Beach (72)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 01/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 01/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.4
Value
4.6
Boutique hotel only 20 feet from the ocean. The Kona Tiki Hotel is the only hotel in Kona where every room is oceanfront! Every room has a private lanai overlooking the ocean.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Diving
Snorkeling
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Parking
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Desk
Private balcony
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Walk-in shower
Hair dryer
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English
493Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 260
  • 154
  • 41
  • 11
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
IDEngineer wrote a review Jan 2022
11 contributions2 helpful votes
My second stay in the last month. This is an older property that is being renovated in real time. Both stays I've been in a room that was just recently completed so everything is absolutely clean, crisp, and inviting. This is an "old Hawaii" experience, so you need to have reasonable expectations. There are no TV's (who watches TV in Hawaii anyway?), no air conditioning (leave the windows open and enjoy the breeze and sounds of the surf literally 20 feet from your windows), no phones (everyone has a cellphone anyway). But each unit has a comfy bed, a microwave, refrigerator, plates and flatware, etc. They have a nice pool right next to the ocean. They have a grill where you can prepare your own fresh catches or grocery store procurements if you wish. In other words, if you're here for an island adventure Kona Tiki is perfect. They have everything you need and the "stuff" they don't have would be distractions from why you're there anyway. Their location is... magical. Absolutely ON the ocean, could not be closer. They have an old sea wall that the government would probably not allow you to build these days, and the three story building is oriented so that *every* room has a killer view. If you exit your room, the sea wall is less than 20 feet away and you can stand behind or on it and literally feel the spray on your face. So far it appears they have completed renovations on the first floor units. The managers live in one of the third floor units, and the others are in process. One interesting detail is that the most westerly room on each floor is narrower than the others. Last trip I stayed in a "normal" room, but this trip my wife and I stayed in the "end" room. Be aware, the narrower room was a bit cramped for two people. Especially the bathroom was a bit tight. It's all functional, but if you have the option I strongly suggest opting for the normal rooms. The extra space is worth it, especially if you have a bit of luggage (we did since we had our scuba gear along). Summary: Kona Tiki Hotel is a great place to enjoy a more old-style Hawaiian experience. It's perfect for us, and we've already met more than one repeat client which tells me there's a definite appreciation for what they're offering. We'll be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Favor the "normal" (wider) units instead of the "narrower" units on the west end
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kona Tiki Manager, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Jan 18, 2022
Thank you so much for your detailed review! We love how you described Kona Tiki ... very spot-on :) Thanks for mentioning that the "Petite" rooms are definitely petite - while all rooms are still 1950's-style small, the Standard and Deluxe rooms do have more space than our two Petites. But all rooms have a king bed, kitchenette, and oceanfront lanai - so as you found, you can enjoy a well-equipped room close to the ocean regardless. We look forward to having you back! Many mahalos and much aloha ...
Read more
Ron wrote a review Nov 2021
Santa Cruz, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
The Kona Tiki is such a unique small hotel with a real Hawaiian vibe to it. We “discovered” it a few years ago and have returned a handful of times. We prefer the first floor rooms because it’s easy to step right off our lanai to check out the ocean and maybe throw a bit of bread to watch all the yellow tang swarm to it. This year there is the added treat of remodeled rooms. The new, more stylish bathroom and kitchenette is a nice touch. It’s fun to be around for the lighting of the tiki torches at sunset accompanied by the blowing of the conch shell!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mary Ann S wrote a review Nov 2021
Martinez, California109 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
This is a quiet retreat right on the ocean . The rooms are recently renovated and have a small kitchenette. There is no television. Karen and Eddie are very accommodating property managers and responsive to your requests. They made our stay very enjoyable. We will stay here again. It is also away from the crowds since it is on the lower end of Alii Dr.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is a little tight as far as how the parking lot is configured. This is a small hotel so...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kona Tiki Manager, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Nov 13, 2021
Mahalo for your review! We enjoyed having you here, and are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit to Kona and Kona Tiki Hotel :) Wishing you aloha ...
Read more
patrick wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
Manager was neither friendly nor helpful. The hotel should not have scheduled a room to rent. There were NO amenities. Don't go there until renovation is complete, and management is more welcoming and helpful. Call and talk to him.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Big Island Retreat, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Oct 30, 2021
Aloha Patrick, from what I can tell, you stayed at Kona Tiki before we became managers. We're very sorry that you had a poor experience, and we do hope that you will find our staff to be more welcoming and helpful if you stay with us in the future (after renovations are complete :) p.s. we do now provide a 3-in-1 shampoo/conditioner/body soap as an amenity plus all rooms will have 1 king bed and a kitchenette in addition to the oceanfront lanais and oceanfront pool. Mahalo and a hui hou.
Read more
Cassandra S wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Less than 2 weeks before my arrival they canceled my reservation even though I booked in February. I've never had this happen before I'm traveling solo miles from my home. When I spoke to the owner she was completely and entirely unsympathetic and rude never book this hotel you won't know if you actually have that booking.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Big Island Retreat, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Oct 17, 2021
When we contacted you, we were very apologetic about not having a room available due to renovation issues beyond our control, and we offered to accommodate you in a beautiful ocean view room at our other property just three miles away. When you requested a refund instead, we promptly refunded you.
Read more
MMBBOULDER wrote a review Apr 2021
Boulder, Colorado27 contributions9 helpful votes
Full disclosure- we did not stay here as they are under renovation. However, we met the owner and the manager and they were very nice people. We were lucky enough to get a tour of their renovated room and the aesthetic was lovely. Very welcoming and the room was a studio with a mini fridge, etc. I believe all the rooms have a lanai that is oceanfront. Cute pool area with renovated pavers around the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kona Tiki Manager, Owner at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded May 9, 2021
Thank you for letting others know about the "hidden gem" of Kona Tiki Hotel, and we look forward to seeing you in 2022!
Read more
Michaeltoner wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
Fifteen years ago, while planning our first visit to the Big Island, my wife found a great review of the Kona Tiki Hotel in Fromer’s tour guide and we were lucky enough to get a reservation. The Kona Tiki Hotel was such a amazing find, a Hidden gem and the best kept secret on the island. We have been fortunate enough to stay at the Kona Tiki, our special place, for 15 years now during the winter months, our home away from cold snowy Wisconsin. We love every minute here and look forward to returning every year. During the winter months many of the same guests return year after year and become part of a close-knit family While this is a great little mom and pop hotel (some call it a boutique hotel) with about 15 rooms, built in the 1950’s, it has continued to maintain its original vintage charm. It has an amazing setting with incredible views, all rooms have a lanai facing the ocean, only 15’ away. The rooms are clean, about the size of a standard hotel room (without TV, AC or telephone just the way we like it). They also serve a complimentary continental breakfast every morning, have a salt water pool and beach equipment to lend out. The management is very friendly and go out of their way to treat you like family. As the day winds down, the hotel has a nightly tradition where the guests are invited to participate in the ritual of lighting the tiki torches around the property while blowing the conch shell bringing the guests together during sunset. If there is a downside to this hotel, it is unfortunately difficult to get a reservation, especially in season, but well worth the try.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Several rooms have kitchen some do not. We prefer a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from konatikihotel, Front Desk at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Thank you, Michael and Janet for returning to the Kona Tiki year after year, and for your kind words. Truly, it is the guests like you that make our work days truly enjoyable. When our annual guests return year after year, we feel like we are welcoming part of our family back to the island and to our home. We are so grateful that you two have made the Kona Tiki your home away from home! Thank you very much for taking the time and energy to submit your review. Much respect and tons of gratitude form the Kona Tiki Hotel Team!
Read more
Rachelle S wrote a review Jan 2020
Phoenix, Arizona27 contributions34 helpful votes
This is a mystic place. I fed eels from the rock wall! The staff scoop out little ocean critters from the swimming pool each morning because the waves crash directly into the pool. Let's be clear, this hotel was around before Hawaii was a state. It is an special Hawaiian paradise (but old) no T.V's, rooms are older but I don't think any ocean lover would not notice or care.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from konatikihotel, Front Desk at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Thank you Rachelle, for taking the time to submit a review about the Kona Tiki Hotel. We agree. We are so blessed to be living on the edge of the ocean and on this modest sliver of Paradise. We have our quirks (no TVs and a small, but free, parking lot) so we try to make up the difference with our Aloha. Of course, Mother Nature provides all the Aloha you need here at the Kona Tiki. As I write this, we have several surfers hitting the waves just off our lanais thanks to the surge that is pounding the sea wall. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again, soon. Mahalo and aloha!
Read more
Bob B wrote a review Jan 2020
British Columbia, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
Our family planned a Christmas get together at the Kona Tiki Hotel. We wanted to share this very welcoming & special hotel on the ocean with our adult children and one year old grandson. We have been enjoying this wonderful place for ten years and couldn’t wait to let them experience the incredible staff, the ocean views and sounds, and the ambience of the BBQ dinners together poolside with the nightly ritual of lighting the tiki torches to the calls of the conch shell. Yes, this family Christmas was a great success, as they all fell in love with the Kona Tiki and will definitely be returning to continue the good times. Thank you to the staff, especially Donovan, Paul, Jenny, and Merilee (sorry if we spelled your name incorrectly!). They went above & beyond to accommodate our one-year-old grandson with a bed and bedding. You are just the best!! See you next December. Have a great year.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from konatikihotel, Front Desk at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Jan 17, 2020
Awe. Mahalo, Bob, Marilyn, and to your entire family for staying with us again during the holiday, for sharing your family and stories with us, for being so kind, and for exemplifying what the Kona Tiki is all about. We are truly blessed when guests like you stay at the Kona Tiki Hotel. We wish for you an incredible year in 2020 and that everyone stays healthy, and has fun along the way. Blessings! The Kona Tiki Team
Read more
Knotenufftyme wrote a review Jan 2020
Bluemont, Virginia6 contributions3 helpful votes
Researched a lot of places to stay and choose this sweet place because of the description and it did not disappoint. We were on the second floor in room 205. Loved the rice paper, balcony doors that opened to the water. Not having air conditioning or TV wasn't a problem at all. Gave us no excuse to close us inside. Water was perfect (January). The sounds of the waves crashing right outside our room was amazing, although it did take us a night or two to get used to it and to reassure ourselves they weren't coming into our room! Beds were super comfy and the room, although small, was very clean. Ceiling fan was better once we switched it to "summer" setting so it blew the air down instead of just around. The staff was great. Very friendly and accommodating and helpful to recommend places to go for good food. Met nice guest, many who have been coming to Tiki for years. Always a good sign. Gave 4 stars because my daughter came to stay with us but they didn't have any extra roll away beds, even though we had paid for an extra person, but we made it work. Was told they will be doing a major renovation this summer. Hope not too major as it would be a shame take away the charm and nostalgia of this gem.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: We loved our 2nd story room so we could keep the doors, on our balcony, wide open all night.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from konatikihotel, Front Desk at Kona Tiki Hotel
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Aloha Knotenufftyme: Thanks so much for taking the time to express your feedback about the Kona Tiki Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The waves crashing against the seawall definitely take some getting used to, but they sure are majestic, don't you think. We apologize about the mix-up with the extra floor mat. We always some on-hand, but they were all in use during your stay, and this simplly doesn't usually occur, but it does speak to less than excellent cooridantion on our part. We would be happy to review your charges for an extra person if you can contact us by phone or email. Thank you for appreciating the staff aloha and our special place nestled against the sea. We equally appreciate families like yours staying at the Kona Tiki. Merry 2020! Mahalo, The Kona Tiki Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$378 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kona tiki kailua, hotel kona tiki
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kona Tiki Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kona Tiki Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Royal Kona Resort (0.5 miles), Don's Mai Tai Bar (0.6 miles), and Huggo's on the Rocks (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kona Tiki Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Kona Tiki Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Kona Tiki Hotel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Kona Tiki Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kona Tiki Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gypsea Gelato, Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill, and Basik Acai.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kona Tiki Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Kona Tiki Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kamakahonu (1.4 miles), Ahuena Heiau (1.3 miles), and Ohi'a Cave Historic Preserve (1.4 miles).
Does Kona Tiki Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.