We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Kona Seaside Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,009 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 836: English reviews
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

For people traveling on a budget who want to enjoy the surrounding area, more than just staying in a hotel, this hotel is ideal. The hotel has a small pool for those who want to enjoy some time poolside and you can even use the internet as you sit poolside. That is about the extent of their services except for... More 

Helpful?
Thank chillyg69
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha chillyg69, We are very happy to hear you found great value and convenience in our property! Hopefully next time, you can take out one of our complimentary bikes and explore Ali'i Drive. Mahalo! More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

The rooms (especially the carpet) is a little outdated yes, but if a hotel offers a clean room, then outdated carpet and furnishings can be overlooked. Usually, I feel that affordable hotels are not necessarily synonymous with cleanliness, but I observed all the cleaning that was undertaken in the guest rooms. The housekeepers basically moved all the furniture even turning... More 

Helpful?
Thank adventuretravelswife
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha adventuretravelswife, Thank you for your kind endorsement and acknowledgement of our housekeeping staff's attentiveness. We look forward to welcoming you back again as our guest. Mahalo! More 

Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

This was a great hotel in a fantastic location, right by the beach and the wharf for the snorkelling tours as well as local restaurants. Most of the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the room was clean and well furnished. The affiliated restaurant, Splashers, was fantastic, we went twice over our three night stay, once for breakfast and... More 

Helpful?
Thank bendy452
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha bendy452, We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for sharing your comments on the convenience of our location and amenities. Mahalo! More 

Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

A great choice for when you are arriving from and departing to the airport-- we stayed one night on either end of our trip. The hotel has a very warm atmosphere and a really friendly, helpful staff who made every part of our stay easy and enjoyable. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable. We stayed in a 5th-floor room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Acrophelia
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Acrophelia, Mahalo for your positive comments about our hotel! We are delighted and honored to be the bookends to your adventure on the Big Island. Hope you had a wonderful time filled with fond memories. We look forward to serving your accommodation needs again the next time around! More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

We arrived late after an extremely long day of flying. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room on the fifth floor had a great view of the bay. The room was very clean. Enjoyed the included breakfast in the am. Only stayed for one night but would definitely recommend again.

Helpful?
Thank dtfergie
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha dtfergie, Thanks for taking the time to post your fantastic endorsement of our property! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Although it was brief, we look forward to your return visit! Mahalo! More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

My wife and I had no intention to stay at the Kona Seaside, but finding the condo we had booked in horrible condition, we scrambled for other lodging. We were lucky enough to be able to book a room for a couple of nights at the Seaside. The room was immaculately clean, the hotel staff friendly and helpful, and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnP001
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha JohnP001, Mahalo for your wonderful endorsement of our property! It gives us great pride to be able to exceed guest expectations and to be able to offer you lodging on short notice. We're glad you found our location and amenities convenient. Hoping to serve your accommodation needs again in the near future should you return to Kona...a hui hou! More 

Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

Nice friendly staff. Good location, with parking. We arrived earlier than check-in, but we were given the room immediately. Average hotel with out-dated decor. Clean, well-looked after. The room on the 4th floor at the back was nice and airy with good space. Some people may consider it little noisy, but for us it was OK.

Helpful?
Thank Pia_at_seas
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Pia_at_seas, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We're glad to hear that you were satisfied with our convenient location and experienced first hand our staff's commitment to providing service with true Aloha. We hope to have the pleasure of having you as a return guest in the near future. Mahalo! More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

We spent a night here before flying back to the mainland on a red eye the next day. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are clean and the price is right. Excellent location near the restaurants, shops, and sights of Kona. Very near the harbor. Because we were leaving much later in the day, we needed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom E
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Tom E, Thank you for your excellent review of our property. We do our very best to provide value, convenience and comfort to our guests. Looking forward to your return visit! Mahalo! More 

Danville, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Very easy to check in; we could walk to local shops and restaurants, easy parking for $5 a day; nice employees; clean and air conditioned rooms with balcony. We were on the top floor in odd-numbered room, so we watched beautiful sunsets from our balcony. Computers available to print airline boarding passes; Wi Fi easy to access. Infused water in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Magret N
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Margret N, We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! thanks for taking the time to post your review! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Kona for one night within a reasonable distance and time to the airport. We decided on the Kona Seaside Hotel after a search on Trip Advisor. Some of the reviews painted a less than desirable picture of this lovely hotel, so we were not sure what to expect. From the outside... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DiveMedic1
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha DiveMedic1, Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are glad to hear that your experience at our hotel was up to your satisfaction. We certainly appreciate you sharing your endorsement and detailed descriptions of our amenities to fellow adventure seekers. Mahalo! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

441 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (203)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (218)
Viewed
Deluxe Oceanview Room (56)
Viewed
Deluxe Oceanview Room (Alternative) (47)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Superior Poolview Room (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,532 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
13.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $127 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Odigeo, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay