We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Katoro 19, Umag 52470 Croatia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book now on our website
$92
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/17/22
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.com$92
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (544)
360
Panoramas (42)
Room & Suite (166)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 02/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from SOL GARDEN ISTRA
Updated 02/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 18 hotels in Umag
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Perfect for families, ideal for cycle enthusiasts - so if your family likes to cycle you get to have twice the fun and joy out your holiday at Sol Garden Istra. The interior is decorated in a rustic Istrian village style, with a lot of lavender and olive trees planted everywhere. The lobby looks exactly like a tiny village square, with reception on one end and a bar on the other - but the rooms are urban and comfortable. When not cycling through the Istrian countryside looking for a perfect tavern for lunch, you'll enjoy a spacious outdoor pool with a red brick sundeck around it (there is a smaller indoor pool so that you can keep up your training regime even during the colder months). The beach is some 100 meters away, through a nice pine tree alley. There are tennis courts nearby (Umag being the tennis center of this part of the world, ATP tennis tour and all) and you are welcome to use the gym and the fitness center.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Water park
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Salon
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Green
Languages Spoken
Croatian, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book now on our website
921Reviews73Q+A67Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 343
  • 321
  • 163
  • 51
  • 43
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
CLJMG wrote a review Oct 19
Aschaffenburg, Germany211 contributions118 helpful votes
We arrived at the hotel to find only the the staff wearing masks (Stayed during Covid), this was very off putting and we kept ours on! Otherwise the the stay was okay, we stayed here for one night as part of a cycling holiday and the staff were very helpful in assisting us with a small issue and seemed very helpful to all guests. The room was of a good size and had everything we needed without complaint, we arrived late so only spent about 30 minutes at the pool which seemed fine. We did look at the buffet dinner but decided against eating in the hotel as it did not look particularly interesting. We did eat breakfast in the hotel and for someone who stays 100 nights a year in hotels this was for sure the worst buffet I have seen, just plain cheap! Put damper on what otherwise was a nice hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava Laguna, General Manager at SOL GARDEN ISTRA
Responded 1 week ago
Dear CLJMG, First of all, we would like to thank You for sharing Your experience about our Hotel Sol Garden Istra for Plava Laguna with us. Our guests opinion is for us very important as it helps us with the improvement of the quality of our services. We are very sorry that You were not satisfied with all our services and offer. We hope that You will give us another opportunity so that we can provide You with an much better experience. With kind regards from Umag. Mario Migles General Manager
Read more
CyrCyr wrote a review Aug 2021
PARIS29 contributions56 helpful votes
We've been there 4 days in Aug 21. We booked the presidential suite for the best experience. PRO: The room is great, a lot of space, a jacuzzi, a pretty nice sea view (probably the best of the hotel), large balcony, good noise isolation Many pools (inside pool too), slides, kids love it High end evening shows (magicians, live bands) In general, the hotel is clean and the staff friendly and helpful The beach near by is nice Covid protection is OK Extras (snacks, drinks) are quite cheap Umag is pretty nice, restaurants are good (so much better than the hotel buffet) CON Food is terrible. To be honest I am quite demanding regarding food and for me the quality of the meals was not acceptable but it may be for others (for instance the German customers seemed to enjoy it). Very very low quality (the wort ham, cheese, ice cream I've ever seen), few really cooked meals, mainly pizza, roasted meat, pasta, almost no sea food. At least wine & beer are included to forget the poor diner you've just had. Breakfast is bad too, even the coffee was bad. The animation for kids is disappointing. In the morning inside activities only and only 2h on the afternoon and not so great. The so called "kid buffet" is a disgrace, a plate of pasta on a plastic plate and the worst industrial ice cream you can imagine. I've tried only once the snack restaurant, worst burger of my life, the meat looked like dog food. To enjoy the pools, being able to lay down on a deckchair in a must. Unfortunately from 8am all of them are "reserved", we called that the "german race" when all the customers where rushing before breakfast to put their towels on the chairs. Staff does not do anything about it. As a result you cannot site down until 4 or 5 pm. I should also mention the very laud dance / techno music at the pool several hours a day. Because of Covid, guests are split in 2 groups for diner, one at 6:30 the other at 7:30. Unfortunately, we belong to the 2nd group. It is quite late to have diner, especially when the previous group is still in the restaurant and the buffet not always stock up. Many details in our "presidential suite" were annoying: shower had a leak, water flow of the Jaccuzy was too weak, A/C not good enough (25°C minimum in the room), check in was very standard (I've had to remind the desk employee that I am supposed to have a reserved parking spot in front of the hotel, speaking of which the "15mins checkin parking spots" were occupied by the same cars throughout the 4 days!). In short, it was OK for a few days, but we did not extend as planned (each day costs more of less 400€).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava Laguna, General Manager at SOL GARDEN ISTRA
Responded Aug 26, 2021
Dear CyrCyr, Thank You for spending Your vacation at our hotel Sol Garden Istra for Plava Laguna and for sharing Your impressions regarding Your stay. We are glad You liked Your room and we thank Your for Your compliments regarding our staff. We are sorry to hear that You were unhappy with the rest of our service and we are more sorry you didn`t share Your dissatisfaction with us during Your stay. We are sure we could make Your stay more comfortable and even cook some meal specially for You, also the splitted dinner groups are not strick rule , we are very flexible with it, enough to ask and we could change that for You. One`s personal taste is something we can`t really effect. For example , ice cream we use is croatian`s best ice cream that has received many world awards. We do care about the opinion of our guests and every comment helps us to improve our service since work on imprvement never stops at our hotel. Therefore we thank You for your comments. Kind regards from Umag, Sol Garden Istra for Plava Laguna Team
Read more
bkkgypsy wrote a review Jul 2020
Kaiserslautern, Germany48 contributions13 helpful votes
We were moved here due to the hotel we booked with being closed. Less than impressed with our room. The towels are as thin as paper, the aircon barely works. We called for maintenance and the man came, and said he’d be back tomorrow. We are now stuck in a hot room. We paid for a 5 star, adults only resort and ended up in a less than stellar room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava Laguna, General Manager at SOL GARDEN ISTRA
Responded Aug 8, 2020
Dear bkkgypsy, First of all, we want to thank You for sharing Your experience of our Hotel Sol Garden Istra with us. Our guests opinion is for us very important as it helps us with the improvement of the quality of our services. We want to apologize for all the inconveniences that have occurred during Your stay and we are very sorry that You were not satisfied with all our services and offer. We hope that You will give us another opportunity so that we can provide You with an much better experience. With kind regards from Umag. Mario Migles General Manager
Read more
GabyCroatia wrote a review Jan 2020
Croatia260 contributions51 helpful votes
My family and me visited Umag and Hotel Sol Istra For Plava Laguna and we stayed there for a weekend. Honestly I expected more for a four - star -hotel. We were situated in an annex (edifice) of the hotel, not in the main facilities of the hotel so it may be the reason why the room did not seem as it is a four -star- hotel. Maybe the hotel itself has better rooms. But I did not expect to be accommodated in an annex eighter. The room was pretty small and simply equipped. The bathroom was quite big but it looked a bit shabby. The balcony overlooked the park and it was nice but overall expression was ...a bit of shabbiness. We had paid for a half board and the food was not thrilling eighter. We had been in similar hotels in Istria before, of the same ranking and here the food was a bit disappointing. There were some varieties but not so many as in hotels I mentioned we have been to. Unfortunately it was average regarding taste, choice and overall offer. The staff was nice, friendly and service in the restaurant was fine. Service in Istria generally is very professional and that was the case for Sol Istria as well. We enjoyed in Umag and everything was fine, but my expectationts were a liitle bit higher.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava Laguna, General Manager at SOL GARDEN ISTRA
Responded Aug 8, 2020
Dear GabyCroatia, Thank you for choosing Hotel and Residence Sol Garden Istra for your vacation. Thanks for all your compliments and kind words about our staff. We are sorry you were not completely happy with the look of the room as well with our Buffet offer. But all the guest experience is very subjective and depends on their expectations and we are really sorry that we didn't meet all your expectations this time. Despite these comments, we are glad to heard that you had a nice stay in Umag, and we hope to see you soon again so we can show you our improvements. Greetings from Umag, Mario Migles General Manager
Read more
Ma Tej wrote a review Oct 2019
Maribor, Slovenia94 contributions33 helpful votes
We stayed there only for a weekend but it was really a good mini holiday. Area around the hotel offers a lot of things to do. We were cycling one day to Umag and another day to Zambratija. Bike roads to both directions are mostly near the sea so there is no need to drive where the cars are driving. The room was very nice, bathroom clean and beds were just right for good sleep. For the whole family food was very good, also the great choice of it was perfect. Because we were there in October beaches were not crowdy, so we were able to enjoy all the beauties of sea nature.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, General Manager at SOL GARDEN ISTRA
Responded Oct 22, 2019
Dear mateju007 First, we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel Sol Garden Istra for your holiday destination and thank you for your feedback, all the comments and nice words. We are really happy to heard that we fulfilled your expectations and that you had a nice vacation in Umag. We are looking forward for your next visit for another great holiday. With kind regards, Mario Migles General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$80 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sol garden istra umag, sol garden istra hotel umag
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Residence Sol Garden Istra for Plava Laguna
LOCATION
CroatiaIstriaUmag
NUMBER OF ROOMS
198
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about SOL GARDEN ISTRA
Which popular attractions are close to SOL GARDEN ISTRA?
Nearby attractions include Goldfish Beach Bar (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at SOL GARDEN ISTRA?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at SOL GARDEN ISTRA?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at SOL GARDEN ISTRA?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at SOL GARDEN ISTRA?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SOL GARDEN ISTRA?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro Bazen, Restaurant Stella Marina, and Barka.
Are there opportunities to exercise at SOL GARDEN ISTRA?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at SOL GARDEN ISTRA?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does SOL GARDEN ISTRA offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at SOL GARDEN ISTRA?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including German and Croatian.
Are there any historical sites close to SOL GARDEN ISTRA?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Church Of St Bernardine (4.7 miles).