We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna

Save
Share
Katoro - Catoro 31, Umag 52470 Croatia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$35
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/23/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$39
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/24/22
Priceline
$35
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/23/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$39
Travelocity$39
StayForLong
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (436)
Room & Suite (78)
Pool & Beach (61)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 02/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna
Updated 02/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 18 in Umag
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
2.9
Service
3.4
Value
3.3
The Polynesia apartments are the last in a long line of beach hotels/apps on the Umag seafront. Spacious and modest with a lovely terrace or balconies, they provide easy access to the paved or pebble beach located around a beautiful bay. Plenty of playgrounds, so there's one close to your apartment, no matter where you are. The pool is nice and big, and there’s also a shallow one with fountains for the kids. You can find natural rocky beaches up and down the coast, in 10-15 minutes. The surroundings have everything for a pleasant stay: mini golf, restaurants, shops, bars, ice cream, massage parlours, watersports and sports rentals. The famous Umag ATP tennis stadium is very close. You can start your day with a yoga or aqua aerobics class, and keep moving till the sun sets: swimming, Zumba, Pilates, cycling, paddle boat, diving school, parasailing - have some dinner served with a beautiful sunset, then go to Umag for clubbing (it is 10 km away, which is 40 minutes walk along the seas
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Horseback riding
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Evening entertainment
BBQ facilities
Currency exchange
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Telephone
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Croatian, German, Italian and 1 more
652Reviews29Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 97
  • 179
  • 167
  • 86
  • 123
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
MiroslavH_SK wrote a review Aug 2019
Nitra, Slovakia29 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
We stayed there in Apartments Polynesia for 5 nights, with 3 children. We slept in Bungalow for 5 people, room No. 934. The bungalow it self was good located, close to the sea side in the first row, in a quiet area, in a shadow, which is necessary when there is no air condition. The accommodation would desperately need some investment and renovation. Everything is pretty old, very used and not working.(see pics) As children said at the arrival, inside it smells like somewhere in the cellar!(dank air hit you) You can not open the door to bedroom cause its two small and bed is there. You can see mold everywhere in the bathroom. Toilet is leaking when flushing, water tap is missing the water regulator so water splashes on you. Right after the arrival when leaving some food in the kitchen, it was suddenly full of ants! Every chair inside or outside is different... the whole accommodation is outdated!!! Too much money for this kind of room! Food in general was good, but as the complex is quite big, many apartments and people, be ready for mass of tourists during breakfast and dinner, its problem to find a place to sit sometimes and you are almost fighting for food and standing in the queues! Just grab what is available at that moment and eat, especially for dinner, when there is only 2 hours time window for all the hundreds of people to come and eat. There should longer time for the dinner, not only two hours! Positive things were the evening entertainment for children and adults and willingness of the personnel. Also the resort it self has good location and lot of greenery. Also the beach with blue flag is nothing special, there is a mud at the bottom and when there is more people it looks like a dirty lake, not a clear Croatian sea. Also you can find there trash/rubbish on the beach, as looks like nobody is cleaning it regularly ( e.g. some plastics, one shoe, swimming trunks...) Better to use near by public beaches... And definitely, if you decide for this resort, I would suggest to go for more expensive Katoro Apartments instead... we wanted to change for these after the first night, but it was fully booked.... Our friends who were there with us, they had also outdated small apartment and the ground floor without any terrace or balcony, overlooking the parking lot and other houses, terrible...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: better to choose other accomodation - maybe KATORO apartments, which are in the same resort.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, Manager at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna
Responded Aug 17, 2019
Dear MiroslavH_SK, Thank you for taking time and leaving feedback about your stay in Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna. We are thankful for your detailed comments about all segments of our offer. Your comments are valuable because they help us to always have the best insights into the parts of our offer that we can further improve. We hope you had a great holiday and returned home with great memories. Kindest regards, Apartments Polynesia Team
Read more
Blaž wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
There was vegan food options for breakfast and dinner. Food was tasty. Restaurant's chief Štefica tries hard to prepair diet food, vegan and also gluten free meals if you ask for it. We will come back again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, General Manager at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna
Responded Jul 14, 2019
Dear TrekBF1986, Thank you very much for sharing with us your positive feedback about the stay in Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna resort. We are very proud that we have met your expectations regarding our gastronomic offer and will share your review with our Restaurant chief. Štefica is always committed on offering to our dear guests tasty meals and your compliments are the greatest reward. In the hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our resort we sending our kindest regards. Polynesia Team
Read more
Mirjana V wrote a review Jun 2019
Velika Gorica, Croatia49 contributions11 helpful votes
Apartments need to be renovated as very old and outdated. We were missing coffee maker of any kind (đezva perhaps), microwave, frying pan, air conditioning and wi-fi. Our apartment and surrounding was clean, no complaints there. As apartment was further up from the beach no noise came to us. Restaurant was too crowded and choice of meals was poor and not tasty, so we turned to market and restaurants in Umag. All together; resort needs to be renovated soon or prices have to go down for the service offered, but first step is to install air conditioning and fill the kitchen with better kitchen supplies. The beach was nice and we had good weather, so we (family of four) had good time! :-)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, General Manager at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna
Responded Jun 28, 2019
Dear Mirjana V, thank you for taking time and leaving this detail feedback about your stay in our Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna resort. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful seafront location. Coffee maker is available upon request to reception, we are very sorry this information slept your attention! Please know that your valuable comments and constructive critics regarding our apartments condition and equipment are taken very seriously from our part in order to always have the best insights into the parts of our offer that we can further improve. In the hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our resort we send our kindest regards! Apartments Polynesia Team
Read more
Billie Mineham wrote a review May 2019
1 contribution
I am currently staying at the Polynesia Plava Laguna from what I saw on the website the photos do not look the same. We are missing a kettle and the apartment just seems to be dirty. The apartment is freezing there is no heating at all! I arrived late last night and have only been here around 11 hours and I really don’t know how I could last another 6 days Such a disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Kouzelna_Rybicka wrote a review Sep 2018
Prague, Czech Republic130 contributions66 helpful votes
+1
Unfortunatelly we didnt know this was probably the cheapest hotel around. It was simple, but simple doesnt mean horrible. Its got a great potential, the surrounding is beautiful. But the staff (exept Svetlana at the reception, I supppose) is unfriendly, unprofessional, unhelpful, ineffective. We had around a hundret cigarette butts infront of our window, even an (unusedd thanks god) sanitary tampon was lying on the road, this little trash everywhere you put your eyes at. There is a lack of lights and too many unmarked steps, so its very easy to trip over in the night. The music of the disco was so loud until 4 a.m., we could not sleep for 3 nights of 7. When we complained at the reception, they said it was normal and they are not going to do anything about this. Apartments look good at first sight, but then you see the mold at the bathroom, even a blood stain on the window, hair on the broom, disgusting stains on mattress cover, unwashed places and I could go on and on. The food didnt taste bad, but the system in the restaurant is .. hm there is no system and the queue could take up to 20 minutes for you to get food. The restaurant was very loud and not air conditioned. Overall the hotel lacks focus on details that make you feel confortable and welcome. These little things make you think they dont even care, like to correct a fallen poster in a frame. How hard it would be to make it right??? Please give these (i guess) hard working people some training, or change the management. "the beach" was alright, you can find a sand box by the pool for kids. Dont go if you are not used to live in dirt and chaos.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, Manager at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna
Responded Sep 25, 2018
Dear Mrs. Kouzelna_Rybicka, thank You for being our guest. We are very sorry to hear that You were disappointed with our Polynesia apartments and that our resort did not meet Your expectations. We apologize for all inconveniece You experienced during Your stay. We could have given You another apartment if You had reached out to us regarding this issue. Our reception staff members, as well as our Quality manager are always at our guests disposal and are trying to make every guest happy. We are sure that our Quality manager would have found an immediate solution. We are always trying to provide the best possible service and are constantly working on improving the quality of our service. There is air conditioning in our restaurant but due to many people being there at the same time, it is not noticable. Big groups are staying in our resort at the beginning and at the end of the season, during that period our security is doing the best they can to maintain peace and quiet in the whole resort. We have gotten the permission from the city of Umag to extend working hours of our bar and play music untill 04:00h in the morning, because of the celebration of the group. We apologize for the incovenience. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will take Your critic and advice into consideration. We hope You will give us another chance and visit us again. With kind regards, team Polynesia
Read more
Crl J wrote a review Sep 2018
Codroipo, Italy3 contributions1 helpful vote
Contattati per trascorrete 2 notti a metà agosto avvisandoli che arrivavo con una neonata. Ci hanno riservato hanno dato un appartamento in condizioni pessime. Avvisati, pretendevano di effettuare la manutenzione con noi all’interno. La rete del letto completamente distrutta, il balcone pericolante, la finestra del bagno marcia, box doccia rotto e tutto non pulito. A 2 ore di macchina da casa e con una neonata a bordo abbiamo accettato di passar le notti lì... non ci tornerei! We spent 2 night in a apartment with my baby of 6month. We call them to advise before to start. They gave us an apartment in bad condition. Alerted, claimed to carry out maintenance with us inside. The bed network completely destroyed, the balcony was unsafe, the bathroom window geared, the shower stall broken and everything was not clean. A 2-hour drive from home and with a baby on board we agreed to spend the nights there ... I would not stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, Manager at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna
Responded Sep 24, 2018
Dear Crl J, thank You for being our guest. We are sorry to hear that You experienced inconvenience during Your stay. We are always trying to do our best and make every guest happy. Everything that is out of order or missing from the apartment, should be reported to our reception and will be taken care of as soon as possible. Every guests comment is of great importance to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve our service. We thank You for Your feedback and we hope You will give us another chance and visit us again. With kind regards, team Polynesia
Read more
tre1124 wrote a review Aug 2018
Somerset, United Kingdom3 contributions
Ok so was very worried after last reviews I read! The place is basically centre parks with budget accommodation! Beautiful woodland surroundings with out of date lodges! This didn’t bother me as I came to see Croatia not the room, fine to sleep in, no kettle so boiled water in pan, was not cleaned in 7 days so don’t expect that! Very dated but massive large bed! The pool and beach was fantastic, pool massive and clean and beach access great but u need beach shoes as very rocky! Be at the pool at 8am for sun bed as they are limited but once the free are gone U can pay 2kuna for a beach one! Breakfast was sausages and egg every morning no full English if that’s what u are expecting! All continental available get there before 9 for quieter times! We were the only English but that didn’t bother us! Umag is 20 mins away on the land train, 20kuna each way adult 10 per child! Entertainment was good! It’s 3 star and it is what u get! Want better pay 4*! Largest pool in the area!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, Manager at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna
Responded Aug 27, 2018
Dear tre1124, Thank You for chosing Polynesia for Your holidays. First we would like to apologize for all inconveniences that happened during Your stay. Everything that is possibly missing - such as kettle, coffee machine, glasses, cutlery etc. can be brought to You after it has been requested at our reception. Polynesia apartments are being cleaned once every 7 days, but can also be cleaned sooner when requested. It is very nice to hear that You have enjoyed our pools, beach and entertainment. We are always trying to do our best and improve our service, Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome You again as our guest! With kind regards, Polynesia team
Read more
Annamoscow2016 wrote a review Aug 2018
Moscow, Russia13 contributions5 helpful votes
This was the worth hotel in my life. All wardrobes stinky smells, tiny tired kitchenette, lack of cups,pan, bowl, knife. 5 days I was begging for a pan. The territory is full of small rubbish. No air condition. Very old and tired bungalows. I paid 140 euro per night. Price for breakfast is 60 kun for adult and 30 per child. We spent 180 kuns in supermarket and buy nice food for 3 days for breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, General Manager at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna
Responded Aug 16, 2018
Dear Mrs. Anna, Thank You for sharing Your experience with us. We are very sorry to hear that You did not enjoy Your holidays in Polynesia. You could have contacted our reception as well as our Quality manager, they we would have found an immediate solution to everything that was causing Your dissatisfaction. We are always trying to do our best and to improve the quality of our service and we appreciate Your feedback greatly. With kind regards, Vedrana Santo General Manager
Read more
Francesco B wrote a review Aug 2018
Trieste, Italy12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Family with 8 months baby. I had to make a list about what's wrong with this place because there are too many, so: Apartment from the 80's with no maintenance No air conditioning, we arrived at 16:00 and there were 35° degrees. Sun from dawn till dusk, impossible to stay inside after 10:00. We couldn't take the baby home for a nap before 18:00. Garden outside unusable during the day. Old and broken furniture, dirty plates (dead insects) and pots. Dirty markets, see photo. Old vegetables. No istrian ham, it's like an italian restaurant without pasta. Insufficient boiler for hot water Tiny and incredibly uncomfortable kitchen No power plugs near the bed TV CRT 15" Euro not accepted anywhere inside Polynesia Bedroom too small, with the bed for the toddler we couldn't get off our bed from the sides. Old mattress, deformed and noisy, we got up with back and shoulder pains every day. Plastics of the showers broken. Could not open window during shower, see photo for reason. Could not open window when cooking, see photo for reason. Even more heat when cooking. Grumpy and unfriendly staff everywhere. From reception to bars and restaurants inside Polynesia. Pool opens at 8:00, pool bar opens at 10:00. At TEN! WHY do I have to wait 2 hours for a coffee or a bottle of water? Reception overcrowded at the checkout. I have videos and photos of everything I'm reporting. I am extremely disappointed and angry about this vacation and would not recommend it to anyone, it's a trap for tourists. I have paid 800€ for one week, plus 91€ for the dog. It's a scandalous fee of 13€/day for a dog in an apartment.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Se proprio non potete fare a meno di prenotare, chiedete solo stanze in pineta.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, General Manager at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna
Responded Aug 16, 2018
Dear Mr. Francesco, Thank You for sharing Your experience with us. We are very sorry to hear that You did not enjoy Your stay in Polynesia and disliked many things. Unfortunately our Polynesia apartments still do not offer air conditioning, this is something that we are working on, but could have given You apartment with more shadow and on the ground floor, if You contacted our reception. We apologize for all inconvenience You have experienced with the state of the apartment, we could have sent housekeeping, as well as our maintenance staff members to take care of everything that was not right. Every critic and advice is greatly appreciated as it gives us the opportunity to improve our service. We wish You all the best. With kind regards, Vedrana Santo General Manager
Read more
Stella F wrote a review Aug 2018
Zagreb, Croatia13 contributions11 helpful votes
I honestly don't know where to start...staff at reception uninterested, we got a cottage at the very end of the resort, no trees, just sunshine all day long, the heat was unbearable, no airconditioning, no fan, we barely slept because the temperature never fell below 30 degrees celsius. Our neighbours were couples with very small children that cried all the time because of the heat. The cottage itself was very dated, they never changed our towels or linen, everything was covered in dust, one of the dirtiest bathrooms I encountered in my life, there was hair in the bath drain, the floor was filthy, no toilet paper. I called before hand to ask about the fridge, they said it had a freezer too, but it didn't so we had to throw out the meat we bought. Cutlery and dishes are very sparse, just 3 spoons and forks, no pan for frying eggs, no water heater, no coffee machine. I contacted the hotel to complain about towels and linen, was told me that we expect too much for a 3* hotel, they were rude and dismissive. Pool area is extremely overcrowded, no sun umbrellas, it's not possible to swim in that pool, also very dirty, lots of hair and dirt floating ot the surface. The beach below the pool also very, very dirty, path to the water covered in algae, slippery as hell, broken glass bottles in the water, not safe for children. We gave up on that pool and beach after 2 days, discovered a private pool with a fee of 15 kuna per person and went there for the rest of our holiday. I would not recommend this resort to my worst enemy, it's just awful. I work in tourism too, this should be a study case for how not to treat your guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, General Manager at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna
Responded Aug 16, 2018
Dear Girasole1977, Thank You for sharing Your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that Your stay in Polynesia was disappointing to You and we also apologize for all the inconvenience. Our reception staff members are always trying their best and are always at guests disposal, as well as our Quality manager. You could have contacted us and we would have brought You everything that was missing and repair anything that needed to be repaired. We also could have offered You another accomodation unit. Unfortunately Polynesia does not offer air conditioning as well as freezers, this is something we are working on. We hope You will give us another chance and visit us again. With kind regards, Vedrana Santo General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$30 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
apartments polynesia hotel umag, sol melia umag, sol polynesia apartments umag
LOCATION
CroatiaIstriaUmag
NUMBER OF ROOMS
516
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna
What are some of the property amenities at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a view of a nearby landmark, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Toni, Restaurant Stella Marina, and Bistro Bazen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, Croatian, and Slovenian.
Are there any historical sites close to Apartments Polynesia Plava Laguna?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Church Of St Bernardine (4.5 miles) and Villa Maria (4.9 miles).