We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna

Save
Share
Katoro 18, Umag 52470 Croatia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!EXCLUSIVE REWARDS
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (296)
360
Panoramas (23)
Room & Suite (144)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna
Updated 06/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 15 hotels in Umag
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Sol Aurora is one of Croatia's first environmentally-friendly hotels. And because it is the only all-inclusive resort in Umag, Sol Aurora is a perfect destination for the traveler who wants to enjoy every aspect the hotel has to offer. Located directly on the beach, the outdoor swimming pool, which is shaded by an olive tree, a symbol of Istrian lifestyle, presents spectacular views of the Adriatic Sea. This Umag accommodation is the ideal spot for romantic getaways and fun-filled family holidays.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Ocean View
Hotel links
Special Offer:EXCLUSIVE REWARDS
456Reviews22Q+A27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 147
  • 166
  • 83
  • 31
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Father_Aleks wrote a review Sep 2019
145 contributions126 helpful votes
We were tied up by the event and the organizer picked up this hotel. And it's the only reason we visited this place. The hotel is so old that when rain has started, a water was poured through the closed windows. And in rooms, and in the restaurant. Of course, if you have such example of waterproofing you can imaging a quality of soundproof. Food was eatable but that was the only good thing about. No variety, no improvisation - boring. Of course, it wasn't "the only dish" for a 1 week stay but there was nothing to claim 4* neither.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: good room belongs to another hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, Manager at Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna
Responded Sep 19, 2019
Dear Father_Aleks, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Every feedback we receive from our guests is important to us. I regretfully read about your experience, and apologise for the unpleasant situation. We will work on the aspects you reviewed, and I hope we will be able to provide you with a better holiday experience soon! Sincerely, Irene Kaligarić General Manager
Read more
Beanie1113 wrote a review Sep 2019
Chesterfield, United Kingdom28 contributions34 helpful votes
We have just returned from a 12 day holiday. We stayed here last year (my husband and myself) but there are some aspects of this hotel are barely recognisable now. I will begin with the positives as not is bad. The hotel setting is beautiful, very close to the sea, the extensive grounds are kept tidy and well maintained and the communal areas are kept immaculately clean. There are fresh flowers and greenery throughout these areas which are replaced as and when required. Our room,165, was kept clean and tidy every day, towels changed daily and the bed linen was changed twice. However our daughter and her family were not so fortunate. The balcony was never swept nor the cobwebs removed. The wall tiles which had fallen on the floor were never disturbed and the cobwebs were full of flies. On the 7th day my daughter told Reception that there were ants on her balcony (3rd floor) but nothing was done. Two days later there were hundreds of ants in the room, on the floor and on and in the beds. My granddaughter’s pillow was covered. Reception immediately sent a cleaner who sprayed the room and balcony floor, thoroughly cleaned the room and at our request changed the sheets.(The bed linen had not been changed prior to this because on the first day my daughter noticed a cigarette burn on one of the pillowslips and that was still there). The ants returned 2 days later, fewer yet still noticeable. The food is ok. There is a variety of hot and cold food. Trays replenished as and when necessary and meat is cooked thoroughly and remained warm throughout. However it does get repetitive. Vegetarians have very little choice - plain pasta,most sauces contain meat or fish, potatoes and vegetables but even then they were often mixed with meat.Do NOT be misled by the advert for the Grill Night showing a beefsteak. The Grill Night is just what you get in the restaurant chicken, pork fish with its head on and very over cooked cabbage. Combine this with sitting at an outside table along side smokers does not make for a pleasant meal. At the beginning of the dining queue are the stacks of plates many of these have chips or cracks. If a guest places a damaged plate on the side a member of staff puts it back on the pile. Serving bowls were similarly damaged and many glasses used in the dining room and bar area are often chipped. The outside seating area is kept tidy, empty glasses and full ashtrays are removed and replaced every few minutes. However there is no designated non-smoking area outside. The Manager says they have to consider the comfort of their smoking guests so presumably the comfort and health of children and non-smokers is of no relevance. The beach is a minute’s walk from the hotel. However it consists of boulders, rocks some of which are very slippy and pebbles which continue into the sea. A major concern with the beach is the amount of broken glass scattered on the pebbles and rocks. This does not just apply to the beach belonging to the hotel but continues around the bay. The majority of the staff are polite, kind and helpful, especially the ladies who work in the dining room and bar. However it is on the subject of staff that leads me to my biggest complaint. It is something that made me very angry but also saddened that this could be said in the present day. On the last evening at dinner my granddaughter went to fetch drinks for the family. There was an empty tray so she filled 5 glasses. A waiter said she couldn’t use the tray(possibly hotel policy?) so she asked if he could help her carry the glasses to the table but he said no(not his job?). So she replied she would take 2 and come back for the rest. At this point the waiter poured 3 drinks away and said the family would have to fetch their own. My granddaughter said two of her family were disabled and one an OAP to which the waiter responded “if they can’t fetch their own they will have to go without.” Surely this cannot be hotel policy towards disabled guests? I welcome the Manager’s response and explanation why my family was treated this way.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, Manager at Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna
Responded Sep 17, 2019
Dear fam Havenhand, I take this occasion to thank you once more for choosing our hotel again for your holidays. Let me apologize a second time for any inconvenience that you or your family might have experienced during your stay in Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna, and by assuring you that our guests’ satisfaction is of foremost importance to us. I would like to stress that I am deeply sorry to hear about your insatisfaction with our hotel and services and that we will act upon the given information. It is nice to hear that, in spite af all the issues you and your family have listed, you were able to appreciate some of our facilities and services, as well as recognise the constant efforts that our staff puts into keeping our hotel clean and welcoming for our guests. I will address the one exception you have mentioned further below. Since the complaints that have already been published in your previous comment, as well as communicated to us in loco during your stay, have already been addressed, please let me move forward directly to the issue you have not mentioned previously, i.e. the incident in the restaurant. Allow me also to underline once more that we care about all of our guests, and that we strictly abide by all regulations, incluting about smoking, that are prescribet by the Croatian law. As stated before, we do understand your health concern, which is perfectly understandable, and do our best to find a solution suitable for all of our guests, as much as it may be feasible.This does not mean that we in any way disregard anyone's health and/or health concerns. As regards your complaint about our restaurant staff, I am sure it is in bona fide, but it would have been deeply appreciated and useful to us, as well as other guests, if it had been reported immediately to the restaurant manager who is always present in the restaurants during the meals, so that we could have promptly intervened and verified your claim, as well as confronted this unacceptable and shocking behaviour. We are, however, trying to verify your claim, and I sincerely and deeply pologise for the alledged incident. Our hotel is welcoming towards, and equiped for people with disabilities. We always make sure to reserve the best spots next to the restaurant entrance, where there is more space, for, including but not limited to, people with wheelchairs or other types of walking impairment, and or other kinds of disabilities/impairments. We also provide wheelchair friendly rooms, lifts and ramps all over the hotel grounds. De facto, we usually receive positive reviews about our accessibility. In conclusion, I regrettably read about your strickingly negative experience, which is a clear exception to the norm, and apologise for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay that was related to us. Please rest assured that we take all of your constructive criticist very seriously and to hearth. Sincere and kind regards from Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna, Irene Kaligarić General Manager
Read more
mstidy wrote a review Aug 2019
Sheffield, United Kingdom46 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
My hotel room is absolutely full of ants. (See photos). Reception told and cleaning staff have sprayed the room. Told if they return then request alternative room. (Already requested). Majority of the staff very friendly, a couple of them have the ‘I cannot be bothered attitude’. Hotel reception staff are excellent and get you checked in very quickly. Bathroom very small so if you are expecting lots of space in here - you won’t receive it!! Balcony area dirty (lots of cobwebs) and could do with refurbishment (see photos). Rooms cleaned daily but not thoroughly cleaned. Communal areas immaculate all the time. Grounds again immaculate and people clearing tables, collecting glasses exchanging ashtrays all the time (literally every few minutes). The beach area is a stone beach...let me clarify boulders/huge rocks.(This is a normal Croatian beach.) The ‘beach’ area is NOT well kept. Broken glass everywhere. Quite disappointing especially as this is a family hotel and children/toddlers/babies use this every day. I have reported this to reception and Croatian tourist board (but not cleaned up during 12 day stay). The all inclusive food has a decent choice although repetitive and everything is cooked in olive oil. My daughter struggled with veggie options. Mainly she lived on salad, plain pasta and potatoes here. (Most of the sauces contained meat or fish) . Crockery is damaged. Chipped/cracked. Again reported and nothing done. Glasses are chipped and this is daily. Not a one off occurrence. The views are spectacular of the Adriatic Sea and it’s very restful. Little train stops at this hotel and takes you into Umag which has a variety of shops and bars along with the usual chemist, bakery etc. Train cost is 30kuna per adult (at the time of writing that’s £3.67 per adult and 15kuna per child £1.84 these prices are one way.) Evening has entertainment (not brilliant) and the bar is open 8am until 11pm. Small selection of spirits e.g Johnny Walker, Bacardi, Baileys. No schnapps or premium vodka (the home brand is vile gotta be honest). It’s a nice relaxed hotel. If you are choosing this one to go out on a sesh - don’t bother. It’s not that kind of hotel. Families and older people kind of hotel. A variety of languages predominantly German and Italian. (Italy is only a 1 hour drive to the border). Swimming pool, and a kids club all in resort. Massage, nails etc in resort but pay for service (reasonably priced). Seating when the hotel is full outside is a problem. (Not enough). Many nights have been spent in the hotel indoor bar as no seats available outside. The outside and perimeters are all smoking areas. No where to sit (even on your private balcony) without getting affected with cigarette smoke. It’s fine if you are a smoker (like me) but the rest of the party are non smokers. Complaint raised to manager of hotel who has done nothing. Complaint raised to TUI and waiting response. All in all find somewhere else to stay. Much better hotels are available.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, Manager at Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna
Responded Aug 29, 2019
Dear Ms Havenhand, First of all, let me thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Umag and for taking the time to share with us your detailed opinion and experience. We always appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests, and are sure it will help us in our constant efforts to further improve our services, and the holiday experience we provide for our guests. I am sorry to read about the very important issue with the ants that you have reported. Cleanliness is certainly amongst our foremost priorities and I apologise if there were issues with your room. Although our cleaning staff puts great effort into providing an impeccable service, oversights may still occur. In this cases it is very important to report such situations to our staff so that we can intervene promptly. Our staff is always at our guests‘ disposal and will gladly help. We are in contact with your representative and are alweys inquiring about your, and other guests, satisfaction. Moreover, all of the complaints you have lodged with us have been immediately, the same day, brought forward to the responsible departments in order to look for suitable solutions, some of which, unfortunately, due to their nature cannot be solved in a matter of hours (ie. the size of the terrace, the cleanliness of the beaches surrounding the hotel that are not under our control). We do listen carefully to our guests and take their opinion into consideration for further improvements. As regards the issue with the beach, we have been notified and are regularly cleaning the part of the beach that we have in concession. I apologise, once more, for any of the chipped inventory in the restaurant. We all understand that it can be a safety concern, and pay great attention to it. Moving forward to the next point, the smoking areas, we fully abide by the Croatian laws regarding smoking, and do not permit smoking inside the hotel, mini club and such places. We will discuss the introduction of possible no smoking zones in other parts of the hotel too, having in mind also the rights and comfort of our smoking guests. Thank you also for letting us know about what you have perceived as a design flaw of our terrace. We will certainly keep this information in mind when renewing the hotel. We all wish you had a flawless stay with us, and we greatly appreciate your constructive criticism and would like to assure you it will help us in our constant efforts to further develop and improve the services we provede. Kindest regards, Irene Kaligarić General Manager
Read more
Urška Dermota wrote a review Aug 2019
Jesenice, Bohinj, Slovenia2 contributions
We spent our holidays for the eighth time at Hotel Sol Aurora. We like the location of the hotel, very near to the sea and the swimming pool. The hotel staff is very friendly. Each year, the rules are a little different, this year there is a parking fee for one euro per day, but in the beach chairs are free.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: sea side room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, Manager at Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna
Responded Aug 10, 2019
Dear Ms Dermota, Thank you for choosing once again our hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna and for leaving this excellent rating. It is always a great pleasure to see that our guest come back time and time over. Most importantly, I am very glad to see that you are satisfied with our service, and I hope you have found all of the changes to be positive. We put new facilities in the children's playground, changed our TVs, renewd the upper parking lot and much more. I thank you again for choosing our hotel once more, and look forward to having you as our guest again. Kindest regards, Irena Kaligarić General Manager
Read more
DanGibson23 wrote a review Sep 2018
Birmingham, United Kingdom24 contributions8 helpful votes
Group of 10 friends visited for 1 week all inclusive. Probably the only English people here, majority of guests appeared German. Hotel grounds and lobby was very nice, lots of space although pool was smaller than expected for size of hotel (also freezing!) Sea was lovely and stone beach (standard in Croatia) was nice and well kept, water sports good value. Food and drink was average in hotel, could always find something nice to eat although quite repetitive (typically pizza or beef goulash available everyday). All inclusive drinks pretty limited, beer was okay, famous grouse whiskey but no cider, schnapps or cocktail of the day etc. Rooms very dated and bathroom very dingey (nasty step and high bath). Evening entrainment was quite good; dance shows, magician and band was quite enjoyable. Little train was handy for 20 kuna pp it would take you into Umag town which had a few shops, restaurants and bars - the best being through the town along the sea. Taxi into town worked out similar price with 4 people, once the train novelty wore off (No sky sports anywhere in town!) All in all had a really good time, just a little out the way with not much around.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava L, Manager at Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna
Responded Sep 15, 2018
Dear DanGib23, allow me to thank you for choosing our Sol Aurora hotel for your stay in Umag and for sharing your impressions with us. I am glad to read that you have appreciated our hotel grounds and lobby, and especially that you appreciated our evening program and performers. Feedback is very much welcome and we are always looking for ways to improve our services, so to offer an even better holiday experience to our guests. Hoping that we will have the pleasure of having you as our guest again, I send Kind regards, Irene Kaligarić General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$172 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sol aurora umag, sol aurora hotel umag
LOCATION
CroatiaIstriaUmag
NUMBER OF ROOMS
306
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna?
Nearby attractions include Stella Maris Stadion (0.5 miles) and Goldfish Beach Bar (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro Bazen, Barka, and Buffet Aurora.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Church Of St Bernardine (5.0 miles).
Does Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Hotel Sol Aurora for Plava Laguna accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.