We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Katoro 20, Umag 52470 Croatia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Book now on our website
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (610)
360
Panoramas (23)
Room & Suite (142)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Melia Coral
Updated 06/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 18 hotels in Umag
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Meliá Coral caters to everyone enjoying the finer things in life: baldachins on the beach, expertly mixed cocktails, innovative cuisine a la carte restaurants and luxurious wellness experiences. Everything you need for a memorable holiday in Croatia! Elegance meets luxury at this modern hotel set in a pine grove by the sea just outside Umag. Activity thirsty holidaymakers will have the time of their lives, with tennis courts and all kinds of sports available right in the hotel. Why not rent a bike and cycle to Umag or take a 20-minute walk into the city center. If you seek relaxation and pampering, Melia Coral is ideal with its saunas, massaging baths, and all kinds of rituals, treatments and massages available on call. At Melia Coral, even business is a pleasure. With our tech support and catering for all of your 350 attendees. Seat them all in the large conference hall or divide them up into
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Shuttle bus service
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Fireplace
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Croatian, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book now on our website
879Reviews33Q+A50Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 305
  • 302
  • 177
  • 66
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Maja B wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We were staying there this weekend, and we wouldn't stay there anymore! Negatives: - Hotel is advertised as adults only, but there are kids running around the hotel (We are a couple without kids, and we specifically looked for adult only hotel) - We booked a seaside room - there is no seaside, only forest with the glimpse of the sea in the far distance - our bed was two single beds connected into one - they said that every seaside room is like that and they do not have a regular bed - even if their site says differently - we went to the spa. Oh my, were we wrong. There is a pool, yes one pool, and they didn't let us in because there were 10 people inside already so we had to wait. Also, they made us wait there because they didn't want to call us in our room if there is a room - they told us we need to book a place in the sauna which works from 9 a.m to 7 p.m. That was told at 9 p.m. So we called the other day and they told us they were full but we can get a reservation for the day after. I agreed, even though it was our check-out day. When I arrived at the sauna that day, they told me I can be there for an hour, but the people who were before me there stayed for a couple of hours. After I've asked them why they said that they can't force them to leave. - we asked for additional cover, but never got one Positives: - Food is amazing - We asked for an ergonomic pillow and we got it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Rado P wrote a review Jan 2020
Ljubljana, Slovenia330 contributions53 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
We spent couple of days there and have to expose quiet environment that surrounds this property. I visit this area quite often for the last 40 years and appreciate beauty of Istria. To me it means more that just destination. So back to this Hotel... It's great, not new but renovated. Rooms are big enough, clean, in good condition. Beds are great! Specially love as mattress is in one piece only! So when you spend your time with your bellowed wife / husband (or lover), you will focus only to important issues :). Food is various and will make happy anyone. Stuff is helpful and kind. We had a feeling we are staying at home and not in hotel. We did not feel as a guests but as a part of a big family. During our stay we had only one "complain" and that is related to SPA zone. For such a big hotel they have only one Finish and one Turkish sauna and those two are quite small. Also they do not control what's happening inside and some guests did not take off swim suits! Maybe Hotel should put some signs and make it clear if you are not naked you can't enter into SPA zone. Otherwise great hotel, great stuff and we'll come back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Feldin_Andrej wrote a review Oct 2021
Braslovce, Slovenia284 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
Perfect stay for reasonable price, excellent staff that kids love( you need to meet mr. Danijel J.), lovely nature with squirrels, excellent spa with fitness, indoor and outdoor pool, tasty food with several types of meal. You can't fail with visit this hotel. Suggested for every season of the year.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Marie D wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions
Very disappointed at our arrival, the hotel was not modernised; the old carpet everywhere and the outdated furniture does not strike elegance and class as it should in a typical 5 star hotel. The rooms were at best sub-par, as with general theme of the hotel - the rooms were outdated, and not particularly inviting. No USB chargers, and AC that did not go below 25c. The staff seemed to be annoyed that we were there and weren’t particularly helpful. We had booked a long excursion during one of the days, and had asked the reception to prepare a cold meal for us after arrival (as we would be missing the dinner service). They agreed, and our guide had even called prior to our return to the hotel to confirm the meal. On our arrival after a long day; reception had no clue, sent us up to the kitchen to check (which there was no one anymore) and eventually pulled some food out of a fridge somewhere that was clearly several days old. On a positive note, the ocean is warm and the general area is very pretty.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava Laguna, Owner at Melia Coral
Responded Aug 14, 2021
Dear MarieD4781, thank you for choosing our hotel as a destination of your holiday and for taking time for posting the feedback about the stay. We want to sincerely apologize for your negative experience in our hotel. We are very sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations completely. And we are even more sorry that you did not contact us considering of your complaints while you were here because the issues could be checked and resolved on the spot, during your stay. All your valuable comments will be taken into consideration, since every single guest opinion is more than important to us. We sincerely hope that you will give us a new opportunity to organize a new unforgettable experience for you. Best regards from Umag, Elena Beletić General Manager
Read more
Ena wrote a review Aug 2021
Samobor, Croatia5 contributions1 helpful vote
Where to begin. The rooms are small, we paid for the sea view but we are looking into the gym. You don't have anywhere to sit down and relax, and we took the superior room. Breakfast.. oh my, too many people and there are not enough tables. Staff doesn't care if you have a table or not. Also, the tables aren't clean. The food is really bad, for five stars hotel, the food offer is belove average. You can't get an omelet because only one person is cooking for all guests. Furthermore, food is also not being replaced on time so every day we do not have a whole offer. The funny thing is if you want to go to the beach or pool, you must have a towel from the hotel, but when we got to the towel guy, they didn't have any. On the beach, you need to take an umbrella by yourself, we didn't see any beach guy whatsoever. I almost forget, you also don't have enough parking spaces. Every evening we are parking somewhere in dark. This isn't a five-star hotel, I wouldn't recommend it. We are still here but looking to move to another hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Plava Laguna, Owner at Melia Coral
Responded Aug 18, 2021
Dear samojob, first of all, I am taking the opportunity to thank you for choosing our Hotel Meliã Coral for Plava Laguna for your stay in Umag, but also for explaining us the reason of your dissatisfaction with the stay at us. All our guests` comments are more than welcome since they are an important guiding line in the improvement of our services. I would like to express our sincere regret, since you were not completely satisfied with your stay, but I am even more sorry for the fact that you did not express your dissatisfaction while you were still in our house. In a case of any dissatisfaction, guest can always communicate it to the front desk and our quality service since we are committed to offer the service on a high level and solve potential situations on both sides satisfaction. Please, let me explain that our rooms are of adequate size and they are positioned on the sea side, we are sorry if there was a misunderstanding since we do not have a sea view. Our terrace equipment includes a table and chairs. We are sorry if that did not correspondent to your expectations. At the restaurant, during breakfast or dinner we use only fresh ingredients and provide our guests with a different offer each day, giving them the opportunity to taste a wide range of Croatian flavors. We are very sorry if you had the impression that tables in the restaurant were not clean enough, since the cleanliness in general is the base of our offer. Since our staff works very hard to provide our guests with excellent service welcoming the guests at the beginning of the restaurant and considering their wish to accompany them inside, we apologize if this time any omission had happened. Our staff at the beach is also instructed to be at our guests` complete disposal, so we are sorry if any misunderstanding happened. We have proactively proceeded your comment to their superior. Please, let me point out that we have parking all around our hotel, and all lights owned by the hotel we have additional checked and are working properly. I would like to add that all your valuable comments will be taken into consideration, since every single guest opinion is more than important to us. This is also the reason why I would like to thank you once again for the feedback. Best regards from Umag, Elena Beletić General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$91 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
melia coral hotel umag
LOCATION
CroatiaIstriaUmag
NUMBER OF ROOMS
251
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Melia Coral
What are some of the property amenities at Melia Coral?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Melia Coral?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Melia Coral?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Melia Coral?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melia Coral?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Stella Marina, Bistro Bazen, and Barka.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melia Coral?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Melia Coral have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Melia Coral offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Melia Coral?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Melia Coral offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Melia Coral?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Croatian.
Are there any historical sites close to Melia Coral?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Church Of St Bernardine (4.8 miles).