We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Fontana

Traveler (23)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel „Fontana“*** is situated in the town centre of Buzet-the city of truffles, just below the very old nut of the old Medieval town, in the Fontana square. It is believed that the ancient hotel „Albergo alla Fontana“ was built long time ago, in 1838, when not even famous Opatija didn't have its own hotel. The actual hotel „Fontana“ is built on the foundations of the oldest hotel in Istria in 1981. From the end of 2008, the hotel is owned by Vilstroj d.o.o. Company, from Buzet.As the new owners, we gave a new touch to this hotel, a touch of freshness and provided new facilities for our customers. We want that the guests always feel pleasant so they will like to come back.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Airport transportation
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Casino and Gambling
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
40Car recommended
Grade: 40 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
63Reviews
73Photos
3Q+A
11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 23
  • 27
  • 11
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Small little hotel near the old town of Buzet, the room was spacey and clean, there were plenty of parking spots. The hotel was ok to my taste and the breakfast was a bit disappointing. They don't have a swimming pool.
Read more
I was in this hotel a week ago. It is small, but clean and confortable, with beautiful view on the old town Buzet. The food is good, the personnal is kind and friendly and there is a great surroundings.
Read more
Response from FontanaHotelBuzet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontana
Responded Mar 17, 2017
Respected Ms MIlenka K, Thank you for your good review. We are happy to hear that you liked your stay in our hotel, in Buzet and it's surroundings. We are small, but we are trying to make every guest feel as welcomed as possible, and we will try even harder. We hope that some day you will be our dear guest again. With kind regards from hotel staff, Lucija Kos
Read more
Excellent location just a short walk from the 'pits'. Friendly staff who tolerated our muddy boots and clothing with ease ! Excellent breakfast.. We reserved our accommodation at the Fontana on the day of our arrival due to problems with the hotel we had previously booked. I
Read more
Response from FontanaHotelBuzet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontana
Responded Feb 2, 2017
Dear Mr Toad1956, Thank you for your good review. We are very happy to hear that you liked Buzet & it's surrounding, our hotel and hotel staff. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and everybody who attended Wild Boar Challenge, hotel is always filled with good energy at that time. We try to treat each of our guests as an individual, with its own needs and wishes, and to stay at your service at any time you need us. We will try even harder, because every day we learn something new. We hope that some day you will be our dear guest again. With kindest regards from me & the entire hotel staff, Lucija
Read more
My stay in this hotel was with an organised walking group. The room was a good size but noisy being sited on a busy road with shops underneath the hotel.The ensuite was a little tired with a damaged toilet seat but the shower was hot and worked very efficiently. The meals
Read more
Response from FontanaHotelBuzet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontana
Responded Feb 2, 2017
Respected Ms susan3332016, Thank you for your kind review. I am sad to hear that you didn't liked our hotel, rooms, food,.... I am quite surprised to hear that, because you (and all of HF group) were asked on a daily basic if everything was ok - and there was never a problem with anything: *Somebody wants a bigger room, no problem, we were running.. *Somebody wants a towel/paper/advice/telephone call/paper for the muddy shoes - there was never a problem from our side. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't liked your room. As you were asked (daily) if everything is ok, why haven't you said something? Regarding the food: You, as a part of the group, had a package called "half board", which means: breakfast and a pension dinner - not a la carte dinner - difference between half board dinner and a la carte dinner is very big - in price and as well in quality/especially presentation, which we have discussed many times with HF. After every course (starter, main course, dessert) you (and the group) were asked if everything is ok - and you all agreed that food is delicious, but portions are too big - not even a word on a quality or taste. You said that the potato and vegetables were the same for all 3 choices offered on a daily basic - this is the menu HF AGREED ON, and SUGGESTED - they said that the side dishes should be the same, only to change the main course. If food was barely edible, why were the plates empty after every meal?! I personally think that this kind of review is not fair, as you were asked on a daily basic if there is something that does not suit you! Hospitality is a complex service/business, which sometimes goes both ways - every guest is unique and things that serves/suites the most maybe won't be usable/good/worth for an another individual. This is why communication is crucial - every problem can be solved on the spot - that's why we are here, at your service. Thank you again for your kind review. With kindest regards, The hotel Staff
Read more
My room was quite sparse with dusty areas, in particular on the floor under the bed which housed a number of dead stink bugs/shield bugs. I was there for one week as part of a HF walking group. The food served to our group was by far the biggest concern. Everything was bland
Read more
Response from FontanaHotelBuzet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontana
Responded Oct 18, 2016
Respected Ms CEGSheffield, Thank you for your kind review. I am sad to hear that you didn't liked our hotel, rooms, food,.... I am quite surprised to hear that, because you (and all of HF group) were asked on a daily basic if everything was ok - and there was never a problem with anything: *Somebody wants a bigger room, no problem, we were running.. *Somebody wants a towel/paper/advice/telephone call/paper for the muddy shoes - there was never a problem from our side. I'm sorry to hear that you had dust and dead bugs under your bed, it could happend that there was a dead bug or two, but a number of them? As you were asked (daily) if everything is ok, why haven't you said something? Regarding the food: You, as a part of the group, had a package called "half board", which means: breakfast and a pension dinner - not a la carte dinner - difference between half board dinner and a la carte dinner is very big - in price and as well in quality/especially presentation, which we have discussed many times with HF. After every course (starter, main course, dessert) you (and the group) were asked if everything is ok - and you all agreed that food is delicious, but portions are too big - not even a word on a quality or taste. If food was barely edible, why were the plates empty after every meal?! I personally think that this kind of review is not fair, as you were asked on a daily basic if there is something that does not suit you! Regarding the wine: You asked for house wine, we gave you house wine. You were asked if you wish to try some other sort of wine, quality wine like Malvazija, Teran, Rose ... but you refused to even try something else - there was (still is) a big variety of wines and bottles in the same fridge were your bottles were stored - on eye visible sight. Crossed out numbers of rooms on bottles: you asked for a house wine from a local manufacturer - which we gave you - it is a small firm which produces a small ammount of wine every year - and since manufacturer is all into preserving the nature - he refills the same bottles we return to him - that bottles are to be sold only in Hotels and private Villas, not stores. After all, all bottles were opened in front of you, so you could be sure they were sealed by manufacturer. The 2 most important things regarding the wine: 1. You bought a bottle of wine, drank a little during your meal and that bottle was stored in our refrigirator so you could be able to use it the next day - that is a unique service/favour/situation which you will not see in any other hotel - storing a opened bottle in a refrigirator of a hotel bar, a bottle that belongs to a guest - POLICY is that you either take the bottle with you in the room (and not be able to take it with you on a dinner table the next day) or you leave it on a table and the waiter pours the bottle out in the sink.. 2. When quality bottle of wine is bought, it is custom (and obligatory) that a waiter pours wine into a glass. When a house wine is bought, waiter does not need to pour that wine into glasses, but our waiters did that very thing - they were pouring wine into your glasses, they were there whenever you or any of the group raised a voice calling them... Which is not fair to ANY of other guests in our hotel that also had a half board package.. In Croatia, which is a Catholic country there are a lot of churches. Churches have bells. Bells ring every hour, starting from 6 am - this is a tradition in our country, a tradition that can be found in every city, in every village. I am sorry that the bells were disturbing you, but rooms with a view on the old town (which is quite distant from hotel) are the most wanted rooms. Hospitality is a complex service/business, which sometimes goes both ways - every guest is unique and things that serves/suites the most maybe won't be usable/good/worth for an another individual. This is why communication is crucial - every problem can be solved on the spot - that's why we are here, at your service. Thank you again for your kind review. With kindest regards, The hotel Staff
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementHotel Fontana
Double room, hotel Fontans, Buzet
Old town seen through the window
the room
Photo provided by managementHotel Fontana
Meeting Room Detail
Photo provided by managementHotel Fontana
Meeting Room Summary
PreviousNext
123
Is there a hairdryer in the rooms?
Respected, we don't have hairdryers in rooms. But we have some on the reception and borrow them to our guests on request. Kind regards, Margarita Grbac
0 votes
what about parking?
Parking is free, and you can almost always find a parking spot, except in case of events held, in which case the parking is closed by the city and that happens once or twice a year.
1 vote
What is the bandwidth for the upload on your high speed internet? (not down-load)
Why not? It will determine if we can stay there or not.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Choose a room on the opposite side to the road."
"Ask for a room furthest away from the church bells which ring every morning at 6.00 am."
"Avoid noisy rooms in the 'front' over-looking the main road. Choose a room with terrace on the third floor at the 'back'."
"Suggest a view of the old city. But I was fine with a balcony."
"Very nice view from the rooms facing the old town"
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
$91 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CroatiaIstriaBuzet
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing