We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Symposion Hotel Post

Traveler (67)
Dining (14)
Room & Suite (13)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Traunkirchen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Airport transportation
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room amenities
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Charming

Location

Full view
62Somewhat walkable
Grade: 62 out of 100
71Restaurantswithin 5 miles
30Attractionswithin 5 miles
109Reviews
2Q+A
16Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 39
  • 41
  • 16
  • 9
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I stayed there for a wedding as many guests did. I assume this is the reason why the staff was quite unfriendly, if not rude. Especially at the downstairs restaurant, they were rude to us: taking our orders last, forgetting to bring cutlery, forgetting our orders, etc. This was
Read more
Response from Wolfgang G, Inhaber at Symposion Hotel Post
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest! Thank you very much for your message. We truely appologize if you felt treated rude by our staff members! It had definately nothing to do with the reason of your stay. We would be happy to welcome you soon again, Wolfgang Gröller
Read more
The food in the restaurant is not so tasty as the prices could make you to think. Service is very slow and it is much slower if you are going to pay by credit card. Also the location is not so nice: unlike other restaurants and bar, the Post restaurant is noisly located next to
Read more
Response from Wolfgang G, Inhaber at Symposion Hotel Post
Responded Jun 11, 2018
Dear guest! Thank you very much for your remarks! We are very sorry you were not happy with our food quality!!! The Restaurant Poststube 1327 is located in the centre of historic Traunkirchen Ort just a few steps from the lake. The road is a minor road (traffic calmed) only taken by drivers wanting to visit or enter the centre. All the other drivers driving through the Salzkammergut direction Ebensee or Gmunden use the main road which doesn't pass the centre and therefore hotel and restaurant. Sitting in the outdoor dining area you do recognize the cars (as mentionned in a traffic calmed area) - certainly not in the restaurant Wirtshaus Poststube 1327 you are writing about. Best regards, Wolfgang Gröller with familiy and team
Read more
+1
Me and my wife had a bad experience here. We booked the luxurious room via Booking and when we arrived here, the wanted to gave us an old and smaller room on the same money. After about 30 min of arguing they gave us the room we asked. The room was never cleaned with vacuum
Read more
Response from Wolfgang G, Inhaber at Symposion Hotel Post
Responded Jan 15, 2018
Dear guest! We are very sorry to read your remarks! You did book our double room. We offer pictures of the room category at our website and all other booking engines. Not all our double rooms look 100% alike - we can not guarantee every guest exactly the room that is shown at one particular picture. We did offer you a room with lake view. You state that we did offer you a room at a lower category. This is definatley not true - you did get a room with lake with facing the lake front with balcony. After letting us know that you were unhappy with the room we changed the room for you. We did tell you UPON CHECK IN to let us know if you would like to eat in the Restaurant at News Years Eve. We would have been able to provide you with a table upon check in. You made your reservation on the 31st. At this point we did the utmost best to provide you with a table. On a day like New Years Eve we cant keep tables free for guests that possibly dont show up. How do you think we should manage this? We did ask you to make a reservation in advance. For too late reservations we cant guarantee a table. We did the utmost best to provide you with a table - at this late point of time togehter with an other couple. As you were not satisfied with this possiblity we did arrange a table at another section of the hotel. Your room was cleaned during your stay. We are sorry it was not up to your expectations. We are very sorry that you were so unhappy with your stay. But we would really ask future guests to read our remarks. Best regards, Wolfgang Gröller
Read more
Hotel Post was the only full-service restaurant open on the day we passed through Traunkirchen. We were expecting a typically Austrian menu but instead, the menu was surprisingly adventurous and celebrated locally-sourced produce. Although several large groups were ahead of us,
Read more
I spent three nights at this hotel while participating in an organised Alpine railway tour and was unimpressed from the start. My room was extremely small, akin to the type of accommodation provided to students staying in a youth hostel. The bathroom can only be described as a
Read more
Previous
1234568
PRICE RANGE
$136 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustriaUpper AustriaTraunkirchen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing