We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gasthof zum Schupfen

Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Gasthof zum Schupfen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 35: English reviews
Start your review of Gasthof zum Schupfen
 Click to rate
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at 20.30 (half hour after "reception hours"), which we had informed would be the case well in advance. We were not allowed to stay in the room that we had pre-paid for and were refused ANY KIND OF REFUND. The whole situation was dealt with in an extremely rude and unprofessional manner and we were left hanging at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
InnsbruckThetruth, Inhaber at Gasthof zum Schupfen, responded to this review

!!!!!!!!!this person don t stay in gasthof schupfen!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!fake revue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!! check in is untill 20h00 possible!!!!!!

Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile

We did a bit of tracking around the area and wanted to stay somewhere out the way and in the mountains. This place was just the ticket. Only 15 minutes from the station on the 4140 bus to right outside the b&b. Such great views from the room. The food here was great too. Well worth staying here if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon W
Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

A very nice and comfortable place too stay. Rooms are clean and spacious (stayed in family room with 5 beds and a baby crib and double room), breakfast is very good. It is a bit noisy since it is located right by the road and you can see (and hear) the rail tracks on the other side of the valley....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vesnick
Liege, Belgium
Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

Located a few minutes from the great city of Innsbruck, this hotel offers a great view to the mountains, has an excellent restaurant and has very friendly staff. The bed room was large, the baby bed was ready, breakfast was great too. Everything for a decent price. Would definitely go back there if I'm in the region again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tristof_Liege
Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

Stayed just the one night on the return leg of a drive around Europe and found this to be a comfortable place to stay. The family room on the top floor was spacious (5 beds plus cot) and the breakfast the next morning set us up for the day with the usual mix of cereals, eggs, cheese, ham and pastries....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alwyn F
Reviewed February 26, 2015

The service is with love and care. The receptionist guy who looked after us( I forgot to ask his name.) is really caring in every way. He recommended nice cafe in Innsbruck for us to enjoy. Also we needed to leave earlier than breakfast time to get back to Munich. He packed us both 2 bags including lovely sandwiches ,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Food_passion_Kae
glasgow
Reviewed October 16, 2014

This lovely old pub is in Mutters so is quite a bit outside Innsbruck. We had a lovely big room and good bathroom. Dinner was excellent as was breakfast. The staff are charming and the owner gave us drinks on the house. We would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanwalsh
Reviewed October 6, 2014

Paid for the night, never received the key because the owner never shown up. My worst experience ever. Owners don't care about their customers... They had our phone number for calling. No excuses accepted. Booking.com charged for a "noshow" when the one who never shown was the host.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Simone R
InnsbruckThetruth, Inhaber at Gasthof zum Schupfen, responded to this review

Hotel policies of Gasthof zum Schupfen: Check in from 14 until 20 00 (no night porter at the hotel with a price 30€ p.p. inkl.Breakfast, taxes...! )

Duiven, The Netherlands
Reviewed September 25, 2014

Hotel is small, but well located when travelling to Italy. Rooms are not all of the same standard. We stayed here twice (on our way to Italy and on the way back). Room 4 already had a renewed bathroom, but room 2 was still more basic. WiFi is available for free, but quality differs per room (esp. room 2 had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were a bit annoyed by the reception at the guest house. After a long and tiresome journey we were not allowed to book in 30 minutes before the official book in time. The location is not great. It's a 15 min drive to the city centre. The family room was nice with enough space. The highlight of our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SanelJoubert
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutters
1.0 mi away
Sporthotel Schieferle
Sporthotel Schieferle
#2 of 4 in Mutters
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Seppl
Hotel Seppl
#1 of 4 in Mutters
143 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Kapeller Innsbruck
Hotel Kapeller Innsbruck
#5 of 75 in Innsbruck
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada Innsbruck Tivoli
Ramada Innsbruck Tivoli
#13 of 75 in Innsbruck
604 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bon Alpina
Bon Alpina
#23 of 75 in Innsbruck
284 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sonnenhof Igls
Sonnenhof Igls
#22 of 75 in Innsbruck
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In a protected historic building in a classic Alpine style dating from 1400, the family-run Gasthof zum Schupfen is only a 10-minute drive from the centre of Innsbruck. It offers panoramic mountain views, an award-winning slow food restaurant, and free WiFi in public areas and most of the rooms. The spacious rooms overlook the mountains and feature light wooden furniture, a flat-screen satellite TV, and a bathroom. In Gasthof zum Schupfen's restaurant, guests can enjoy Tyrolean and international cuisine made from regional and seasonal products, as well as local juices and South Tyrolean wines. Herbs and vegetables come from the hotel's own garden. A varied breakfast buffet is served every morning. In fine weather, guests can enjoy breakfast on the terrace. The restaurant also has a garden, a bar, and a fireplace. Gasthof zum Schupfen is famous for serving as Tyrolean rebel leader Andreas Hofer's headquarters during the Battles of Bergisel in 1809. His room is now a museum and can be visited. The property also features a children's playground and a ski storage room. Free private parking is available on site. Several ski areas are a 10 to 20-minute drive away. The Innsbruck-Sud exit of the A13 motorway is a 2-minute drive away. Bus line 4145 stops right in front and takes you to Innsbruck Main Train Station in 14 minutes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gasthof zum Schupfen

Address: Unterberg 5, Mutters 6020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mutters
Price Range: $88 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof zum Schupfen 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gasthof zum Schupfen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Gasthof zum Schupfen staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Gasthof zum Schupfen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms are not all of the same standard. We liked room 4, but were less satisfied with room 2.”
ronmQ1088VN, Sep 25, 2014 | Read review
“The wifi is non excisting. As soon as you log in it looses connection.”
SanelJoubert, Jul 17, 2014 | Read review
“Just ask friendly and tehy will give you the best room which will suit you best”
407anz, Apr 25, 2014 | Read review
“Request a quiet room on the back side of the house.”
Escambian, Aug 19, 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates