Hotel Montanara

Hotel Montanara

Traveler (15)
window view
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#11 of 47 hotels in Ischgl
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.9
Value
4.4
Recently renovated und centrally located, the 4-star Montanara Hotel and Apartmenthouse focuses on quality and is very popular among guests. Enjoy absolute tranquility and yet the comfort of walking just a few minutes to the pulsating heart of Ischgl with the "Silvrettaseilbahn" cablecar and numerous restaurants, shops and the best après ski bars. Ski straight back to the hotel at the end of the day and relax in one of the most beautiful and exclusive spa areas in Ischgl - the "Montanara Spa". It includes 2 saunas with different temperatures, one sole inhalation steam bath, one aromatic herbal steam bath, one infrared therapy cabin, 2 relaxation rooms and more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Breakfast available
Hiking
Ski school
Spa
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Skiing
Hammam
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Shoeshine
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Dorfstrasse 123, Ischgl 6561 Austria
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
Altenrhein Airport
47.1 mi
See all flights
110Reviews2Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 100
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dawn D wrote a review Feb 2020
Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I satyed here with 8 friends. The location is realively quiet but easliy accessible to the town. There is a free ski bus on the main road opposite every 10 mins. The hotel is warm, comfortable with all amenities ou would require. The rooms are spacious, warm, clean and traditionally decorated with over bath shower. The staff were very helpful and all our needs were catered for. There was an excellent choice of breakfast where some items were changed for alternatives each day .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor M wrote a review Feb 2020
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are visiting Ischgl stay here! This is a fantastic hotel at the edge of the village. The staff are welcoming, friendly and incredibly helpful - nothing was ever too much trouble. We booked direct with the hotel and the process was first class. Emails were answered promptly and all queries addressed fully. Lukas and his mother would help us by recommending local restaurants and would even reserve the table on our behalf. The hotel is decorated in a beautiful, traditional Austrian style and maintained to a really high standard. It is immaculate everywhere at all times. Bedrooms are cosy, warm and spacious. Breakfast is amazing - everything you could possibly want and more. Every day there was a new treat to tempt you. I really cannot praise this hotel enough. If you choose to stay here, I can promise that you will not be disappointed! We were a group of 10 and every single member of our party loved our stay at the Hotel Montanara.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Superior rooms have amazing views.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Culture20470853524 wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great friendly staff, lovely comfortable room (travelled as a single and i had a smaller room in the attic) this suited me fine. It was lovely and clean with with plenty of cupboard space, a small balcony TV with a few English channels for catching up with the news, lift to all floors if needed.
Boot room with heaters and for ski storage. Short walk to main street of Ischgl with lots of bars and restaurants and just a 8 minute walk along a level quiet road to the main ski lift.
Best of all was the breakfast buffet... hot and cold options, plenty of cereals and fresh fruit, local speciality meats and cheeses, juices, coffee and speciality tees, i looked forward to this each morning.
Next time i go to Ischgl, i would definitely stay at the hotel Montanara.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gil S wrote a review Mar 2022
Tel Aviv, Israel
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First and foremost are the rooms
Spacious, warm and comfy, always perfectly neat when you get back to it. The hotel has a very nice modern spa with a number of saunas and relaxation rooms. Perfect after a day of skiing.
The place is a family business that gives great and personal service. Mainly Lucas, who is always available, very helpful and kind with any subject.
The breakfast buffet is not very big but has just the variety you need, with great fresh ingredients, high quality cheese and sometimes fish plus a great omelette!!
Only downside is the location which is not extremely close to the main elevators, but is still only about 5 minutes away and also right across from the bus station where you will have a free shuttle to the center.
I loved my stay there and had a very positive experience there
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
eline wrote a review Feb 2024
The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For the third time we have visited hotel Montanara for a week of skiing with our family.
Every year we are amazed with the hospitality of the owners. Everything is arranged perfectly!
Breakfast is very good with a rich buffet. The hotel is kept very clean as well.
Every year there are improvements /investments done as well to further upgrade the hotel. The new spa for example is beautifully designed.
The hotel has no restaurant or bar for the evening, but they found a great solution with having a trustbar where you can buy your own drinks and small snacks.
All restaurants are very close by, so it is not a problem at all.
As a little suggestion; it would be nice to have a Nespresso/watercooker and tea in the room. The apartments already have those I think.
We will definitely come back again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ori M wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a beautiful and nice place in Ischgl with good location next to the end of the slopes which gave us the benefit of ski in at the end of the ski day.
The family and the crew were amazing!

To All hotel Montenara Thank you so much for a warm and wonderful vacation at your lovely hotel. Thank You for your hospitality and taking care for all our needs!
Your service was exceeded my expectation!

I have no doubt that I'll be back again..
..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ali_1302 wrote a review Apr 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fabulous stay at Hotel Montanara. Everything was perfect from arrival reception with Lukas, who was very helpful, to checkout. Restaurant recommendation at Hotel Verwall next door was perfect. Plentiful and diverse breakfast. Rooms and beds were very comfortable, modern and clean decoration. Ski bus picks up close and was very easy to use. Will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingGeorgeV wrote a review Jan 2022
NYC
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my son had a week of ski vacation. We enjoyed the lovely hotel, comfortable beds, very tasty breakfast, immaculate facility and warm staff. Their service comes from the heart ❤️
I plan come back again this winter.🤞🤞🤞
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
eline wrote a review Mar 2022
The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful experience at the Montanara. Service was absolutely excellent. Staff was great, with a special thanks to Lukas who arranged everything so perfect for us. Breakfast superbe.
Located great with mountain view, quiet and peaceful, but still very close to center.
Will definitively visit again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
etshor wrote a review Jan 2015
Otopeni, Romania
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not a 4 star hotel!
It had nothing to do with the pictures on internet!
The owners were rude and aggressive!

We arrived at the hotel at 9pm in the evening, when the owner was leaving. She gave us the key and left before we saw the room. When we arrived in our appartement (at the 3rd floor) it smelled like a fast food kitchen. We tried to open the windows but it got very cold and our 2 years old kid got a cold. All the night the heaters were cold. In the morning we requested another room because the smell was terrible. The managers, a very rude family, mocked us and told us that we are insane, that it is not a big problem a little smell in the room and the men told us that he is older and knows better so we should shut up! He even got aggressive and yeld at us, he acted like he made us a favor renting a room, making mean remarks about our country! He said if we don't like it we should leave but he refused to return our money, he requested that we should pay 90% of the whole week.
We called the police but they also mocked us telling us that they don't see any problem with the room and if we don't like the smell we should keep the window and door open all the time. After that they entered in the reception and were laughing with the owners. They spoke in german so we couldn't understand what they were saying.
Unfortunately the law in Austria gave them the right to take you the money for the whole stay even if you leave early so be carrefull when you make a reservation.
The hotel is not at all worth the price they request, it is quite old and smelly, the towels and sheets are a poor quality, the internet is free only for 8MB. It had nothing to do with the pictures on internet!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stefanie P, Inhaber at Hotel Montanara
Responded Mar 30, 2015
Dear User etshor, unfortunately you’ve only stayed for a few hours at our hotel since we were not able to satisfy your needs even though we were really trying. We are still shocked by your report as there are many accusations on a personal level that are simply not true. We do not wish to further comment those. We would like to refer to other reviews on Tripadvisor. The stench you’ve mentioned could not be perceived by us or the police officers that you have called. Still, we have offered you to wash again all curtains, to clean the apartment again and to air it again. You have declined that offer. It is important for us to note that we did not make any negative remarks about you and / or your country at any time. We had so many nice and happy people from your country staying with us that we would never think to say anything bad about them. Our hotel is newly renovated and the pictures used on the website are accurate. The rooms are well heated. If anything, some guests think it might be too warm. In case people still think it’s too cold, we offer additional electric heaters, etc. Our breakfast buffet is the pride of our house. We always try to fulfill every single wish. WIFI is free of charge and data volume is not limited.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Lukas P.
Ischgl, Austria5 contributions
Lieber Gast, leider sind wir in der ersten Märzwoche vollkommen ausgebucht. Gerne erstellen wir Ihnen aber ein Alternativangebot ab 09.03. Schicken Sie uns hierfür bitte eine E-Mail an office@montanara.at Bei Direktbuchungen erhalten Sie den besten Preis! Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Lukas Hotel Montanara
Trevor M wrote a tip Feb 2020
Abergavenny, United Kingdom89 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Superior rooms have amazing views."
Read full review
Ishay W wrote a tip Feb 2016
Israel10 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"some rooms are bigger, all the rooms i saw had balcony"
Read full review
chefRaanan2015 wrote a tip Jan 2016
Tel Aviv District, Israel30 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for a room on the upper floor facing the snow"
Read full review
victor m wrote a tip Feb 2015
Larnaca, Cyprus3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Comfort rooms are lovely."
Read full review
Leonid B wrote a tip Jan 2015
Israel63 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in an attic room and liked it very much. But if you want a bath (not a shower) - ask for a lower floor."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ischgl area.
PRICE RANGE
$150 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustriaAustrian AlpsTirolIschgl
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL MONTANARA $150 - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Montanara
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Montanara?
Nearby attractions include Schatzi Bar (0.7 miles), Apres Ski Lounge Freeride (0.6 miles), and Schwarzwassersee (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Montanara?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a spa, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Montanara?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Montanara?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Montanara?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salnerhof Hotel Restaurant, Genussrestaurant Sunna, and Eldorado Hotel & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Montanara?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Montanara located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Ischgl.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Montanara?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Montanara?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Die Pfarrkirche Ischgl (0.5 miles) and Die Pfarrkirche von Mathon (2.2 miles).
Does Hotel Montanara have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Ischgl HotelsIschgl Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in IschglHotels near Hotel Montanara
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars