We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (16)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (2)

About

#11 of 15 hotels in St Johann im Pongau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Since 1843 we, Family Rosian & Team, have been taking care of our guests. Our cozy restaurant, theevent hall and the new Weinstube are an ideal setting for celebrations and events of all kinds. A variety of meals along with the extensive wine list invite you to taste and enjoy all year round. In 2003, Marianne & Peter Rosian passed the Stöcklwirt to Ulrike Rosian. Together with her partner, Helmut Gerdenitsch, she has been continually renovating the traditional business and is managing it with much love and passion. Hope to welcome you soon in our Stöcklwirt, Ulli & Heli with team
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Spa
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast Available
Golf course
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Sauna
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business

Location

Full view
68Somewhat walkable
Grade: 68 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
44Reviews
0Q+A
2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 28
  • 9
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had a fabulous stay at the Stöcklwirt in St. Johann while we were skiing in Alpendorf. As soon as we walked in the staff were all very warm and welcoming. The rooms were of a good size, very clean, well furnished, well maintained etc. The breakfast was nice and there was plenty (its a little hard to rate an Austrian breakfast, not having had many), think cheese, cold meat, bread, eggs, yoghurt etc. We stayed Bed and Breakfast only so I can't comment on the included eavening meal if you stayed half board. We did however eat in the restaraunt several nights during our stay, the menu was good and the food was excelent. The kitchen catered for a few requests without any issue and they were fine with us having a birthday cake for one of our party. The small bar was busey some nights and quiet on others, the music was quiet enough so you could happily talk and hear people but loud enough to enjoy. Our room overlooked the main street and you could see the church across the road. The view was expected for a room overlooking the main street and the balcony was quite large. The ski bus stops at the post office which is only about 3 mins walk even in ski boots and takes you to Alpendorf in about 10 mins or so. The location in town is great and there are several restaraunts/bars only a few mins walk away (particularly recomend Platzl & Havannah)
Read more
The place is nice and atmosphere good. The problem of this restaurant is acoustics. In case there are noisy customers it is almost impossible to discuss with your table. The food was good and service friendly.
Read more
An excellent hotel in the centre of St Johann Im Pongau, close to the ski bus stop for Alpendorf. Our room (comfort double room with balcony) was extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and spacious. The owners and staff were very friendly and always helpful, service with a smile. We ate in the weinstube every night because we enjoyed the food so much. Selections from a large buffet were offered for breakfast, a great start to the day. All in all a perfect family run hotel.
Read more
Response from stoecklwirt, Inhaber at Hotel Stocklwirt
Responded Feb 7, 2018
Dear Stephen, thank you for your lovely review. It is very motivating for us!! We really hope to welcome you next year again in our hotel. Maybe you also like to visit us in summer? It is really beautiful in the mountains ... :) Best wishes to your family and we all hope to see you soon again! Kind regards, Ulli & Heli with team
Read more
We booked 3 rooms over New Years. The hotel is right in the middle of town so any local shopping was steps away. Local restaurants were excellent. the staff and services we're top notch. The rooms we're always clean, everything worked and breakfast (included) was always well appreciated. The bus to Alpendorf ski area is just around the corner (again free) and the hotel parking is free. Can't wait to return.
Read more
Response from stoecklwirt, Inhaber at Hotel Stocklwirt
Responded Jan 11, 2018
Dear Mr. Dan! Your review is highly appreciated and very motivating. I hope we can welcome you soon again in our Stöcklwirt! Kind regards, Ulli & Heli with team
Read more
The hotel is located in a small nice city surrounded by mountains. Rooms are clean and spacious and the staff nice and friendly. But there are some things one cannot know in advance. The bells of the beautiful local church (see picture) of St. Johann are ringing 4 times every hour. It may be nice during the day but really makes your falling asleep difficult if windows are open. And one doesn't want to close them in summer, there is no conditioner. In addition my window looked at the side street where restaurant tables are located. People are sitting there until late making a lot of noise (naturally). We were travelling and hiking all the day, were really tired in the evening and could not sleep at the desired time. Somebody wrote in a previous review that there was a lovely valley view from the room. My window looked at the wall of the nearest building and some of my friends complained about the view at the garbage collector. Probably there are rooms of different quality in this hotel.
Read more
Response from stoecklwirt, Inhaber at Hotel Stocklwirt
Responded Sep 8, 2017
Thank you for your honest opinion. We are very pleased about the compliment about our staff and our spacious rooms. We are sorry, that you haven`t slept well in our hotel. Unfortunately we do not have any influence about the ringing of the church bells. It is true that we have an open-air restaurant next to our hotel which is daily closed at 11.00 pm at the very latest. We always try to make sure that it may not get too loud during normal use for our hotel guests. Please inform us next time immediately, maybe we are able to change the room. As our hotel is located in the center of St. Johann in Pongau there are naturally some differences in the view of the rooms. Thank`s again for your time and your efforts! We hope to welcome you any time again in our hotel! Kind regards, Ulli & Heli
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$89 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustriaAustrian AlpsSalzburg RegionSt Johann im Pongau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing