We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Fort Welikit Family Campground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Fort Welikit Family Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed here late June and found it a very nice place. It was recommended to us by family. Easy in and out spots for campers and close to the attractions. All the spots have shade and very quiet. Would definitely stay here again

Helpful?
Thank Kim S
Orange
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful family campground with friendly, helpful hosts. The owner even helped my husband park our 33' travel trailer. The campground is wooded, so nice and shady in the summer. There is a really cute fort with playground equipment for the kids. The campsites do not have fire pits,but you can borrow a nice little Weber from the office. We enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tommye J
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not at all as we expected from web page! Made to sound like very nice well kept campground! Not at all! Campsites are in really poor shape. No gravels just dirt and mud. Advertise WiFi.... Only if you are at the office will you have access. When we inquired we were told not everyone could get it because too many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kandistravels
ftwelikit, Owner at Fort Welikit Family Campground, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and felt or campground was not up to your expectations. All of our RV pads are gravel and are maintained between each guest to provide dry and level parking. The space between our sites is heavily treed natural forest, not mowed grass, as our guest come for that experience... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We originally had planned to tent for 4 nights, but storms kept us from staying the last night. Sites are tidy, shelters a plus, private bathrooms are very convenient! Bring shower shoes, though, as floors can be quite slippery when wet, which is all the time.

Helpful?
Thank Kristin I
ftwelikit, Owner at Fort Welikit Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear the weather shortened your stay. Being in the mountains we unfortunately do have wet spells. We are happy to hear your site worked for you and that the bathrooms met your expectations. The recommendation of shower shoes is a good one... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at Fort Welikeit while traveling with the family to Mt. Rushmore. Place was great, owner was fantastic and extremely helpful. Highly recommend this place if pacing through. Bathrooms were close by, relatively clean, but make sure to bring your shower shoes.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
ftwelikit, Owner at Fort Welikit Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay and review. As owners we are always happy to hear we were available and able to make your stay enjoyable. We are glad to hear your family enjoyed your stay and hope all your travels went well while in our area. We hope to see you again if you should be in the area again. More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved this campground, partly due to the nice bathroom setup. It was nice and private, several toilet, sink, shower combo units that are completely private. We never had to wait in line, which was surprising. I would stay here again! The wifi wasn't bad either.

Helpful?
Thank Nikki Q
Kansas City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a great and wonderful rv park. Stayed for eight nights. Restrooms and showers were really nice and private. Very nice and helpful hosts. Camped in a 30' travel trailer. Great cable and wifi! Could not ask for anything nicer!

Helpful?
Thank Ladybb9201
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

We stayed here over a week,and I thought we would get bored with it,but we just loved it. Our 5th wheeler is 37ft and we did battle a bit getting in to the site,but once in,we just loved where we were.steve the owner,really went out of his way for us.there is good wifi,the bathrooms are spotless,and quite honestly,nothing to complain... More 

Helpful?
Thank steele3
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

We loved Fort Welikit! The owners were very accommodating and hospitable. The camp grounds were clean and they had "wifi". They had a great Fort play ground for the kidos. Fort Welikit is centrally located in a great place. There are a Lot of activities, sights, caves, and things to go see. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

We arrived to find a camp that is in great shape and very clean. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful staff. This place is located near many of the local attraction with a more than reasonable price. If I make it back to South Dakota I will stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terri R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
5.7 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 19 in Custer
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 19 in Custer
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 19 in Custer
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Additional Information about Fort Welikit Family Campground

Address: 24992 Sylvan Lake Rd, Custer, SD 57730-7265
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Price Range: $20 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing