We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Custer's Gulch RV Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Custer\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Fox River Grove
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Had a enjoyable time camping with all the amenities. Spacious with attentive details. We also took advantage of the ATV rentals that was very enjoyable. Will definitely come back. Location is perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Betty O
South Range, Wisconsin
Reviewed October 20, 2016

Here is the letter I sent to the campground owner, Elaine: Dear Elaine: My wife and I were guests at your RV Park at the end of September 2016. The campground was in excellent condition. We had a very nice visit for five days. Our entire party of 5 camping units was delighted with every aspect of our visit. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ric L
Cary, Illinois
Reviewed October 19, 2016

We have camped her three times and each time has been a great experience! The campground is located right next to the national forest and a very short drive or walk to the entrance to Custer State Park. All the attractions of the area are within a short drive. We tent camped here our first time and it was dark...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank toomanypets5
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Beautiful situation just east of the town of Custer. Very close to the Crazy Horse Memorial (absolute must see), Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park and others. Sites are well spaced and good hard packed gravel. #s 60, 61 and 62 are very private pullthroughs, all the others are (easy) back ins. Facilities are a little limited (not cable TV,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian K
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

We made reservations a year in advance for the Buffalo Round-up by calling the Chamber of Commerce. We paid in advance for two sites for us and our friends. When we checked in, the office personnel was rude when we told them we didn't know that they were a Good SAMs RV Park. She said, "You should have asked on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 787,233
Vian, Oklahoma
Reviewed September 27, 2016

BEWARE... made a RV site reservation on June 5, 2016. On June 24, 2016 my husband was hospitalized and his cardiologist advised against travel. I called Custer's Gulch owner in late June to cancel. She was unsympathetic about our medical situation and instead of charging me $30 for one night stay per her website's cancellation policy or "working with me"...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FergusonLake
general1874, Owner at Custer's Gulch RV Park, responded to this review

The website has a disclaimer stating our policies can be changed at any time without notice. The customer booked a reservation during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally and was aware that the entire amount of the reservation was due at booking and the amount was non refundable which is our normal policy during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally. The policy is made...

Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Easy to park big rigs. Excellent sites. Pretty park. Nice laundry room. Good satellite reception. We called on day of arriving and had no problems getting a site. Took us a little longer than we thought to get get there due to site seeing in Badlands. They called to check on us to make sure we were not lost. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina T
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

We just spent 5 nights in our RV in this park. It's a beautiful park, just minutes from Custer State Park and Crazy Horse and only 3 miles from the town of Custer. The sites are large and all back up to the woods. The laundry has 2 washers and 2 dryers. You can rent ATV' s on the premises.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi K
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Reviewed September 5, 2016

spent 3 nights in camp ground could not have asked for better set up very clean easy in and out very well organized loved everything about it. The owners always busy on grounds but very helpful and hands on excellent wifi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldarmo
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed September 4, 2016

First the good: The RV spots are all very spacious, with plenty of quiet and beautiful views. Now the not so good: Beware of the 'changing price policies' that apparently is the practice. We booked for a full week, as the website say's that the 7th night is free, and will be credited at checkin. There is a listed date...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lori324
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
7.3 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
29 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
7.3 mi away
Horse Thief Campground
Horse Thief Campground
#1 of 12 in Hill City
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
427 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
519 reviews
10.1 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Custer's Gulch RV Park

Address: 12611 US Highway 16a, Custer, SD 57730-8350
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Number of rooms: 62
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Custer's Gulch RV Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All the sites are nice, but we always ask for one backing up to the national forest.”
  • Here is our campsite :)
 of 5 bubbles toomanypets5, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“Do NOT prepay for your reservation”
 of 5 bubbles lori324, Sep 4, 2016 | Read review
“I would not advise camping here at all.....unless you are perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles kendrac258, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“The sites up the hill seem to have more privacy than the ones around the pond.”
 of 5 bubbles KaliCA, Jul 23, 2016 | Read review
“nice place to stay”
 of 5 bubbles sonyal744, Apr 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question