We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!IHG One Rewards Members Save More 
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$89
Hotels.com$89
Travelocity$89
Priceline$89
vocoHotels$89
ZenHotels.com$116
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (413)
Room & Suite (234)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 05/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel
Updated 05/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#82 of 178 hotels in New Orleans
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Embodying southern charm with beautiful French Colonial architecture, The St. James Hotel features cozy guestrooms, plush bedding, free Wi-Fi and wonderful views. Plus, enjoy some me-time in our stunning courtyard with an outdoor pool. Located on Magazine Street and close to the French Quarter, our historic hotel puts guests near iconic sites like The National WWII Museum, Bourbon Street, and The Caesars Superdome.​ Next, visit Cafe du Monde to try beignets covered in powdered sugar before exploring the French Quarter. Hop on a streetcar to the Garden District to admire Magnolia-lined streets and mansions. Later, sample delicious Cajun-style dishes and listen to the best jazz in the country. No matter what brings you to town, our knowledgeable team is happy to welcome you to New Orleans.​
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Plunge pool
Coffee shop
Patio
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour check-in
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:IHG One Rewards Members Save More 
1774Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 898
  • 525
  • 182
  • 85
  • 84
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lynell T wrote a review Aug 9
45 contributions11 helpful votes
So, if location is where you place the stars. This earned the 2 stars out of the five. I expect room to be service everyday. Well, that was the reason I lowered it by a star and rightfully so. Shifting blame on all other employees and not taking responsibility is underhanded and sneaky. And we tip our room service so when the came, they took the money and cleaned the room, and left the notes. The other problem was Nathan stated he would pass the information about a wake up call at 2:30 AM. No call was received. We had a phone alarm for 2:35 AM just because there was no trust. Our driver also called as was requested at 3 AM in fact the young lady at the front desk was in a red car parked in front of the hotel while phones were ringing. This was verified by our pick up service. So we took another star away. The star I did give back was for the polite greetings when entering and leaving the hotel and allowing us to use the umbrella. We just expected more. Sad thing is we were there for the Satchmo Summerfest and to book for our clients for a wedding and another group for a family reunion prior to a cruise you had 6 days to sway the stars in your favor and well, 3 stars is all I could do
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We strive to create wonderful experiences for our guests and provide a premium standard of service, so we’re disappointed to hear this wasn’t the case on this occasion. We’d like to express our sincerest apologies for your experience. We’re pleased to hear about the pleasant greetings you received from our friendly staff upon entering and leaving our hotel, so thank you for sharing this with us. Your feedback is valuable to us and has been shared for review. We would also kindly ask you to reach out to the hotel directly via telephone or email, so that we can investigate this further. Sabrina P. - voco St. James Hotel
Read more
dean-nah-boo wrote a review Mar 2022
Birmingham, Alabama9 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I booked a suite for my daughter and new son in law to stay at for their honeymoon as well as a block of rooms for the wedding guest. This property took my breath away from the moment I walked in-it's very charming and beautiful. Some of our guest were enjoying sitting in the lobby area and mentioned to me how impressed they were with the hotel, the staff and the rooms which made me very proud to have chosen this hotel. Every staff member I saw welcomed me and were very friendly-even though I wasn't technically a guest-they were eager to be helpful. Also, the hotel is conveniently located and easy to get to and from anywhere in the city.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ICUC Social, Agency / Consultant at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel
Responded Mar 27, 2022
Thank you for your review. We're so glad to hear our hotel was the perfect spot for such a special event. We appreciate your feedback about our property, the rooms, and our hotel location. Also, we're delighted to know that you found our staff to be welcoming and helpful. It's something we take great pride in. Thank you for trusting us and we hope to see you again soon. Silvia R. Community Manager
Read more
L. W. wrote a review Jun 2022
Tampa, Florida2 contributions1 helpful vote
The St James is just a good, not great but not bad hotel! It’s a cool experience staying in an older restored building. But you’re in an older building so if you want brand new showers and floors, this hotel isn’t for you. The location is fantastic, about 10 minute walk to Jackson Square and the French quarter. It’s far enough away that the craziness of it all isn’t in your face. The restaurant next door is probably the only noise you will have to deal with, nothing some white noise at night won’t fix, but the noise is still there. Won’t lie the bed isn’t the best I’ve ever been in, but not the worst. The pillows though are probably the worst.. They are definitely hurting from a lack of staff, but the staff that is there is friendly and helpful. If you’re looking for a place to relax and sleep after a long day of exploring New Orleans that has character and for a good price then this is the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to hear that you had an overall satisfying experience staying with us. Our goal is to provide a relaxing and accommodating time for all our guests, so we appreciate your comments. We'll review your feedback about the pillows and lack of staff at the property with our hotel management team, so that we can improve our services. Once again, thank you for leaving us a review and we appreciate you for staying with us. Silvia R. Community Manager
Read more
Jasmin G wrote a review Apr 2022
Quebec City, Canada156 contributions70 helpful votes
This is the worst Hôtel I ever been. I am a Ihg spire member and this hotel is bad. Everything should be renovated. The hallways smell moisture, my room the bed swings when I sit on it. The bathroom has rust. The ceiling fan I can see the electrical cables. I only have wifi in the bathroom. There is no windows in the room. Don’t stay here! Choose another option.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Select another hotel in the French quarter.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel
Responded Apr 27, 2022
We appreciate your honest review. We're sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory due to housekeeping issues, the mattress, and the difficulties with the wifi. We'll review your comments with the management team to improve our services. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Silvia R. Community Manager
Read more
Joe R wrote a review Mar 2022
New York City, New York13 contributions10 helpful votes
We were impresssed with the lobby of this boutique hotel, elegant and worthy of the New Orlean hotel namesake saints. But the service is like “Come as you are and serve yourself” They said in that due to COVID(which is way past its surge) they will not clean rooms and we will just have to ask for towels, sheets etc at the front desk. This is quite quaint for an IHG hotel that has a rest easy clean room promise. The room that we had was very small with little to no light coming from a small window facing a parking lot. For a hotel in New Orleans that boasts of hospitality, we came and went and no one seemed to care. I was holding two coffees on a closed door and a staff just looked at me and continued cleaning until two of my fellow guests helped me open it. The staff was neither polite nor couteous, they are just indifferent. I would understand if this is a rundown bed and breakfast like what it was before but this is an IHG hotel and it should be worthy of its name and its staff should be trained in its famed world class service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ICUC Social, Agency / Consultant at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel
Responded Mar 21, 2022
Thank you for your feedback, Joe. We're glad that you liked our lobby, but sorry you were not as impressed with your room. It's also unfortunate that the service you received from our staff did not meet your expectations. Lastly, we'd like to apologize that our COVID protocols have decreased the level of comfort we can offer. We hope you can give us another chance in the future to provide you with a better experience. Karissa N. Community Manager
Read more
Catherine B wrote a review Feb 2022
Minneapolis, Minnesota5 contributions5 helpful votes
I stayed at the voco St James Hotel from 1/28 to 2/2 and I had a very strange visit. The first issue was it was clear that they were not following or enforcing the COVID mandate. As someone who is very immuno-compromised, I was surprised at the lack of masks by staff and the lack of enforcement of mask-wearing by guests. Then there was the front desk staff, when I checked in the man at the front desk asked me if I knew what COVID stood for. He said that it meant that the government was tracking us with the vaccine. At first, I thought he was joking, I mentioned how many people I know have died of COVID and that it was in fact a real disease. I had a lot of strange conversations with this particular front desk attendant and I felt uncomfortable with each conversation. During day 5 of my visit, they started changing the locks on the doors in the hotel. They did this without notifying me, so when someone came to my door to tell me I needed a new key I was surprised. The worker who changed the locks on my door did not wear a mask and was in my room for about 7 minutes while he worked. This hotel seemed to be the exception when it came to enforcing COVID restrictions, I was not asked whether I was vaccinated, nor was I asked if I had any symptoms or a negative COVID test. I didn't feel safe using the courtyard, lobby, or lounge due to the lack of mask usage, so I spend all of my time on the premises in my room. If you want to feel safe while traveling during COVID, I would recommend using a different hotel. I chose this hotel because I stayed here 7 years ago, it was a completely different experience this time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Vickie Powell, General Manager at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel
Responded Feb 7, 2022
catherine7782, Thank you for your recent review on your stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced as we continue our efforts to require masks in public areas. We do have outside workers here on property creating our cafe' & bar area or switching out the lock system so guests will feel safe at our hotel. While I constantly request everyone to wear a mask, you would be surprised at the amount of people from guests to employees that refuse to do so due to their beliefs. Hotels here in New Orleans are not required to ask for proof of vaccinations or negative COVID tests. I do understand and share your concerns however, I suspect that we'll see more people not wearing masks if this continues much longer. Please have a good day.
Read more
Ann L wrote a review Jan 2022
Mount Dora, Florida58 contributions55 helpful votes
I've stayed at the St. James several times. I love the location. This trip however, the BEST part of the hotel is/was the lovely, kind, accomadating, staff. Everyone is always friendly, but, Harold and Necee really went above and beyond for us with the little things. If not for them my review wouldn't be so favorable. I'm not happy Corporate decided to rip away the small perks that make the hotel enjoyable. No more complimentary coffee and croissant in the morning. Now, it costs 12 per person. No more 24 hour coffee in the lobby. Look, for 12.00 I'll walk down to The Ruby Slipper, have a wonderful breakfast, and tip wait staff. The hotel is putting in a bar, big deal, NOT everyone goes to New Orleans to drink. They removed all the microwaves from the rooms. You do have one of those POD Kuerig pots, only way to get a drinkable cup of coffee is use 2 pods at once. Unfortunately the Convenience store on Decatur is no longer 24 hours. Our first room was an interior room, which we didn't ask for, and disappointing, very Claustrophobic, but it was super clean. The Key cards weren't working and Harold, upgraded us to a gorgoeus room with windows. Harold was also set up getting us picked up at the airport as SW changed our flight to arrive at 7AM on Sunday and he also made sure they had a room ready for us to check into when we arrived that early due to how cold it was :D Our room faced Magazine Street which we enjoyed, might be noisey to some but we were not bothered by it, enjoyed it. I expect it, I am in New Orleans after all. Convenient walk to Mother's and Ruby Slipper. Heads up, the street car NO LONGER has a stop at Magazine and Decataur. Our room(s) were super clean. No issues with that. I am planning a return trip in July for my daughter's 21st. But honestly, little perks mean a lot, without them your just another hotel. :(
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vickie Powell, General Manager at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel
Responded Feb 7, 2022
Ann L. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate that you enjoyed our location and and great staff. I know Harold and Nicee will be thrilled that you mentioned them! In regards to the parts of your stay where we may have missed the mark, let me apologize on behalf of our entire team. As you may know we are now part of the IHG Group and we are working on the completion of the cafe' & bar area in the lobby, which will offer breakfast, light lunch with shareable plate options. We feel this will be a great service for our guests. We will then discontinue the European Style breakfast that we serve now when that opens later this month. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and want to provide you with superior service in all aspects of your stay. We hope you return to voco St. James so that we may provide you with the excellent all around service we know you deserve.
Read more
Traveler47474763782 wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
The hotel was in a nice location and it was a quaint building, but I was put in the building connected to the main one and it seemed older and less kept up. My room was extremely small, which is to be expected, but it's apparent housekeeping is lacking a bit lately. I found lots of hair in the bathroom, floors didn't appear they were swept much and there was a long dark hair between the comforter and sheet. Just no attention to detail with cleaning. I'm so glad I brought slippers. It was really cheap though, so shouldn't expect too much more.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Bring slippers for the floors
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Guest Services / Front Office at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel
Responded Apr 19, 2022
Hello Traveler47474763782, Thank you for making our hotel your preferred choice and for sharing your experience. While I am glad you appreciate our hotel's location. What you described is definitely not the kind of experience we want any of our guests to have. We strive to offer a bold, distinctive identity, informal service style, and thoughtful touches along the guest journey, but that did not happen on your visit. I am sorry for the letdown. I've shared your feedback with our management team, and I trust that they will use this as a reference to help us further improve the quality of our guests' experience. I hope to get another chance to host your next visit as we promise to make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons. Yours in hospitality, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
l01wap0ick wrote a review Nov 2021
Albuquerque, New Mexico1 contribution
Highly overpriced and much in need of renovation! Pool closed, room dirty. Staff mediocre. The photos online are a misrepresentation to say the least! I am glad I chose to book many different hotels for this trip instead of only booking here. Highly disappointed with this hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vickie Powell, General Manager at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel
Responded Nov 9, 2021
l01wap0ick, While an apology will regrettably not change the outcome of your experience, I do extend it with all sincerity. This level of service and accommodations is certainly not the norm for us. I assure you that we are working very hard to prevent all of these issues from the lack of housekeeping and maintenance services from happening in the future. We are also conducting a total refresh of the hotel from guest rooms, hallways, pool and courtyard areas, since we have just now after almost a year experiencing higher occupancy. Again, our sincerest apology for your experience. We hope you will reconsider and allow us another opportunity to host you during your next visit to New Orleans so that we regain your trust as our guest. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Read more
rlgwi2s4nv wrote a review Nov 2021
Washington, Illinois1 contribution
The staff here is super friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and clean. The only thing we were disappointed about is there was no coffee available in the lobby in the morning due to a renovation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vickie Powell, General Manager at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel
Responded Nov 10, 2021
rlgwi2s4nv, Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We love that you enjoyed your room and our super friendly staff. We apologize for the lack of coffee in the lobby, our kitchen is under construction at present. Once the kitchen area is back up and running, we will resume coffee in the lobby until the Cafe' / Bar opens in December. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st james new orleans
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
St. James Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansCentral Business District / Warehouse/Central Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Clue Carre - New Orleans' First Live Escape Game (0.3 miles), The Escape Game New Orleans (0.3 miles), and Escape My Room (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a concierge, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Criollo Restaurant, St. James Cheese Company, and Ruby Slipper Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a plunge pool during their stay.
Is voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of New Orleans.
Are there any historical sites close to voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hermann-Grima House (0.5 miles), Longue Vue House and Gardens (3.8 miles), and Beauregard-Keyes House (0.9 miles).
Does voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is voco St. James Hotel, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.