We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,661 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,565: English reviews
Prospect, Ohio
Reviewed January 9, 2015

We stayed 3 nights with our Buckeye Club Package. It was amazing, probably one of the nicest hotels there. The hotel is beautiful and clean. Has a really cool coffee shop called PJ's with everything you could imagine including alcohol. The restaurant I only ate at once and had breakfast, it was just ok. Beautiful outdoor pool area with bar....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne J
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Dianne, thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback of our hotel and your experiences at PJ’s Coffee Café and the pool deck. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience attending the Sugar Bowl in New Orleans, and we look forward to welcoming...

Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Reviewed January 9, 2015

Great location if you want to be walking distance to everything. Next trip we will ask an inside for room, the balcony was great for New Year's Eve! The staff was friendly and the property was extremely clean!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitzi W
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Mitzi,Reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed January 9, 2015

This hotel has been wonderful everytime I have stayed here, which is usually once a year on average. We typically stay for three nights at a time. The staff is outstanding and the rooms are very comfortable and quaint. We are usually there for work conventions and have the balcony rooms available on bourbon which are always a great time....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabe M
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Thank you for always choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed January 7, 2015

It's been about 30 years since I stayed there last. My November stay was just as nice as the 1st time. This was just 2 nights but the old style service and charm remains. My 1st stay was in the early 80's for Business Meetings. Food was very good at the event both times the rooms have been kept up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillK1133
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing this valuable feedback as a business traveler. Our hotel consistently strives to provide the most authentic New Orleans experience our guests have always imagined by offering memorable meetings and the highest level of customer service possible. Inspiring comments such as yours reaffirm that we are reaching that goal. The Royal Sonesta New Orleans truly values your...

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed January 7, 2015

Upon checking into the Royal Sonesta for New Year's Eve, we were initially disappointed at not receiving the Bourbon balcony we thought we had reserved over 6 months ago. Instead, we were given a room "around the corner" on Conti Street and were told a Bourbon balcony does not necessarily mean that. What?? Anyway, they said the balconies wrap around...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tassy8
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Tassy8, thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are very sorry for your initial disappointment, but so glad that our outgoing and attentive staff were able to meet your expectations overall. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward...

Highland Mills
Reviewed January 7, 2015

The Royal Sonesta is beautiful and perfectly located within walking distance of the best attractions. Our room, pool/patio balcony king was clean, quiet and overlooked a lovely landscaped patio. We originally booked a deluxe king @ the 55+ rate for $342.81, BUT discovered a "Papa Noel Seasonal Rate" a week before we left home and upgraded to the pool/patio balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grandmom32
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

First and foremost, congratulations on your anniversary! We are honored that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us and took the time to share this delightful feedback on how pleased you were with your stay and the great value of our Papa Noel package. The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is pleased to have met your expectations. Please...

Reviewed January 7, 2015

Great location. Especially for first timers. Curtis checked us in. He was welcoming and accommodating. Our tickets were purchased through Hotwire for $89 a night. Curtis hooked us up with $20 vouchers for breakfast. The valet was very expensive at $41 a night. A great view and spot. Just the place we were looking for en route to LA from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Honey M
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and taking the time to share this feedback on your recent stay. Please know that we review our parking rates twice annually to ensure competitive rates for our secure, covered and on-site parking garage. We appreciate your recognizing those employees that made your stay special, specifically Curtis. On your future travels,...

Gulf Coast
Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

So when we arrived we asked if it would be possible for an upgrade. We had booked a double pool balcony and just wanted to see if we could get an upgrade. we were upgraded to a Bourbon street balcony with a very odd room. Nice bar in the room , the only bed was a Murphy bed which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GulfCoastNikki
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Nikki, thank you for your honest feedback. We sincerely apologize for numerous room transfers and uncomfortable accommodations you experienced during your stay at our hotel. Our team works very hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it’s apparent in this case we fell short. Our Reservations Supervisor Pauline DaCosta is happy to make your next reservation personally and see...

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed January 5, 2015

This hotel was wonderful. It is located on Bourbon St just a few blocks in from Canal St, which makes it easy to walk around to many different attractions. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. It can get a bit noisy if you are by the street. Also, beware of the bottled water in the room. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank krushink
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback on your clean and comfortable accommodations. We are sorry that the price tag was not on the water bottles in your guest room; this is not our standard. On your next stay we think you would like...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed January 4, 2015

I stayed during the Christmas Season so the hotel was decorated beautifully. I arrived early because I was coming from the cruise ship terminal. They held onto my luggage until the room was ready. It was fine since Cafe Bingete was across the street. Once I got into my room I was extremely pleased with the accommodations. I had a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hippomustard
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We are pleased that you chose to spend the holiday season with us following your cruise. We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so thrilled that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,473 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (964)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (269)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (175)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (60)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (300)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (430)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Bourbon Balcony Entertainment Suite (34)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds (29)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Suite (37)
Viewed
Junior Suite (66)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Premium Guest Room with King Bed (22)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (57)
Viewed
R Club Level Room with King Bed (28)
Viewed
R Club Level Room with Two Double Beds (29)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Split Level Suite (79)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
3,958 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
6,409 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
3,518 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
2,697 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighborhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: $173 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Royal Sonesta New Orleans staff and other travelers.
74 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (74)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Sonesta New Orleans staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Make sure you leave earlier than noon so housekeeping has a chance to clean your room.”
 of 5 bubbles barber2708, 1 week ago | Read review
“Choose a room away from Bourbon Street.”
 of 5 bubbles AKR001, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for an interior balcony or poolside room. Rooms overlooking Bourbon Street will be super noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 782marilyns, 1 week ago | Read review
“Club Level rooms for the superior service and perks.”
 of 5 bubbles Andrea32813, 1 week ago | Read review
“balcony upgrade not necessary.....”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay