We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,661 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,565: English reviews
Qld, Australia
Reviewed January 20, 2015

Good things first! Great location and we got the quieter side away from Bourbon St I asked for on the club level. The club manager Darrin was a real highlight, he had great advice, booked and changed tours for us and was very professional and friendly, close to the best concierge ever. And the beds are incredible, other guests agreed,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grismans
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing how our RClub Manager Darin Stearns helped to ensure that you enjoyed your visit to New Orleans, though we are embarrassed to read about the disappointments you encountered during your stay. We apologize for the level of service you received from members of our staff during your stay. This is certainly not indicative of the manner...

Fairfield, California
Reviewed January 19, 2015

The room (balcony king) was dated and small. We were staying over a holiday weekend so the price for the room was higher than "normal" making the moldy stained ceiling in the shower that much grosser. The noise from Bourbon was LOUD, be sure you are ready for what you are in for. Housekeeping was great, prompt and friendly. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was not better. Thank you for taking the time to share these comments and compliments on our housekeeping staff. Please know that two of our elevators have just been modernized to help them travel much faster for guests’ convenience and a hotel-wide renovation is planned for later this year. We...

Maryland
Reviewed January 19, 2015

Five years ago I planned my first trip to New Orleans. I saw the Royal Sonesta then and fell in love with it. On my first couple of trips to New Orleans I booked too late and they didn't have any rooms. Well, this time my boyfriend and I were going for his first trip to the area. To be...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DrDisappointed
Colleen M, Owner at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback of your exciting stay in one of our most popular balcony rooms, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!

Toronto
Reviewed January 19, 2015

When I was married to Lise my first wife, since she was French Canadian I was in Quebec City often and every odd year it was at Christmas time. After attending midnight mass a long dinner/party was held. The name of this dinner is Reveillon and is based on the word réveil (meaning "waking"), because participation involves staying awake until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GenovaTours
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans this holiday season and sharing this wonderful feedback on your special Reveillon experience at Restaurant R’evolution. We are pleased that our team was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City, and on your future travels we hope that...

Milton, Florida
Reviewed January 18, 2015 via mobile

We visited the Royal Sonesta in mid January 2015. The hotel is lovely. We were staying on the 6th floor and for whatever reason the ice machine on our floor was not working. I took the elevator to the 7th floor to get ice and Kristen at the concierge desk saw me come off the elevator. She saw that I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RSuzanneR
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback of the outstanding customer service you received. We are pleased that Kristen was so accommodating with your request. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Garland, Texas
Reviewed January 18, 2015

Stayed in the Ritz in Dallas in a Club room the night before our Royal Sonesta stay so I expected less. It was a very pleasant surprise that the Royal Sonesta was so nice! Beautifully decorated for Christmas. We were in a R Club room. The concierge desk was just to one side of the elevator. We were warmly greeted...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robert F
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Robert, thank you for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this delightful feedback of the great value you found on our RClub concierge level. Inspiring comments such as yours reaffirm that we are reaching that goal. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Reviewed January 18, 2015

If your looking for a great hotel in a great location try thr Royal Sonesta. We stayed there after a Christmas cruise and it was tops. A little dated but you cant beat the location. Close to everything tou want to do in the Quarter.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank texasindian
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans after your holiday cruise and taking the time to share these comments on your experience. We are so pleased that our hotel’s convenient location met your expectations. Please know that an exciting hotel-wide renovation is planned for later this year and will touch each room...

Reviewed January 18, 2015 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel around 1 room wasn't available which was fine because check in not until 3. Arrived back at 3 and room still wasn't ready! I wasn't given a time frame but only put off by multiple things such as room had to be inspected and then the toliet paper roll holder was broken. I asked for management...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Sunnysideoftown
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

We appreciate your taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. Your comments are very important and we take them very seriously. We are very sorry for the level of service you received from members of our Front Office staff during your stay. This is certainly not indicative of the manner in which we intend to operate our...

Exeter
Reviewed January 17, 2015 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in perfect location. Even the hotel food was very good. Only drawback was having someone go through my bags in my room. Suspected it first time so set a trap second time. Bagged. Watch your valuables. Security gave the cursory "we will look into it... This had never happened before." Yeah ok.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dm1967
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing these comments, and we are very sorry that you feel this way . The safety and security of our guests and their belongings is one of our top priorities, as it is at all hotels. If anything was missing from your bags and you filed a Missing Report with Security, rest assured that they will investigate...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed January 14, 2015

We stayed in this hotel at the start of the year. When we arrived we were told to sign up for high speed internet. When we got to out room is wasn't available and then the hotel made us ring their tech support instead of doing it for us. We were told it was offline and they didn't know when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Warwick B
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review

Melanie, thank you for sharing these comments, and we are very sorry that you feel this way about your recent stay. The Hotel’s wireless system is being updated and should be complete in February. The safety and security of our guests and their belongings is one of our top priorities, as it is at all hotels. Our Director of Security...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,473 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (964)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (269)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (175)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (60)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (300)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (430)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Bourbon Balcony Entertainment Suite (34)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds (29)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Suite (37)
Viewed
Junior Suite (66)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Premium Guest Room with King Bed (22)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (57)
Viewed
R Club Level Room with King Bed (28)
Viewed
R Club Level Room with Two Double Beds (29)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Split Level Suite (79)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
3,952 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
6,401 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
3,517 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
2,696 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighborhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: $173 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Royal Sonesta New Orleans staff and other travelers.
74 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (74)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Sonesta New Orleans staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Make sure you leave earlier than noon so housekeeping has a chance to clean your room.”
 of 5 bubbles barber2708, 1 week ago | Read review
“Choose a room away from Bourbon Street.”
 of 5 bubbles AKR001, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for an interior balcony or poolside room. Rooms overlooking Bourbon Street will be super noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 782marilyns, 1 week ago | Read review
“Club Level rooms for the superior service and perks.”
 of 5 bubbles Andrea32813, 1 week ago | Read review
“balcony upgrade not necessary.....”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay