We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prytania Park

Traveler (248)
Room & Suite (102)
Dining (4)

About

#106 of 171 hotels in New Orleans
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in New Orleans does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Prytania Park, a nice option for travelers like you. Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as St. Louis Cemetery No. 1 (1.5 mi) and French Quarter (1.5 mi), guests of Prytania Park Hotel can easily experience some of New Orleans' most well known attractions. Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Prytania Park Hotel offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning. During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a 24 hour front desk, baggage storage, and outdoor furniture. Guests of Prytania Park Hotel are also welcome to enjoy free breakfast, located on site. For travelers arriving by car, free parking is available. While in New Orleans, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Prytania Park, including Commander's Palace (0.9 mi), Cochon (0.5 mi), and The Ruby Slipper Cafe (1.0 mi). Should time allow, The National WWII Museum, Garden District, and Magazine Street are some popular attractions that are within walking distance. Prytania Park looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to New Orleans.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Quiet
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
91Great for walkers
Grade: 91 out of 100
38Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
9Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
877Reviews
35Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 277
  • 378
  • 122
  • 37
  • 63
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had a queen and 2 twin reserved. When we arrived and checked in, our room smelled of mold. I went down and asked for another room and the 2nd room smelled of mold. I went back again to the desk and room 3 smelled of mold and had spiders under the sheets. The 4th room he gave me smelled clean and was spider free. It should not take 4 rooms to get a clean room. However, the front desk guy was nice about the issue. It was not his fault the rooms smelled the way they did. After the 4th room our stay was ok. Breakfast was in the courtyard which was different but not bad. If it rains you are in trouble for breakfast I think. Breakfast was standard complimentary with a toaster oven to toast bagels and waffles. It was also a good amenity of having the free parking for the cruise. No shuttle is available but we made due. This hotel is being renovated per a front desk sign and we saw a contractor's trailer on property. This hotel could be so much more than what it is. 1 block from a trolly stop that takes you to bourbon st. You can hop on another trolley from there to go to the aquarium. Lots of food you can wall to and the parking lot has 1 entrance. All other parts are walled off so no one can come on the property. Thier is security 6p to 6a daily which is good. Just needs some TLC. Hotel impossible would fail it I think.
Read more
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Park
Responded yesterday
Dear Jeremy, I do apologize for all the room moves, our Desk Staff really tried to make sure you were happy and satisfied given your personal ailments. But the viewers need to understand the whole situation. The rooms are not Moldy, but sometimes, some of the rooms do present the aroma of humidity and moisture. New Orleans is a very tropically moist city especially in the summer. As we are a Courtyard style hotel with live vegetation ( 20' tall Natural Bamboo - a Rainforest Plant ) in the courtyard. (This is noted in the pictures online when researching our hotel) , some of the the rooms closest to the Bamboo will be a bit musty initially, but quickly dissipates upon Room Air Freshening. When you made on our website, your reservation was noted, " No Industrial fragrances, Asthmatic in the room". So naturally, we did not use the commercial strength, Febreeze, upon turning over/cleaning from the prior guest who departed the room you were initially assigned to. The other rooms were all near the Bamboo. We always refresh rooms on the day of arrival to ease this issue. The room you finally settled into, had no Bamboo near the windows or AC intake vent, so all was good. As to your statement about Spiders under the sheets, I am certainly going to look into this!! Terminix is our Pest Control vendor, and they did our monthly service the beginning of June. Your Park N Cruise rate does give you a great value, and I am glad you enjoyed our City and the Streetcar. Hope you had a wonderful cruise!
Read more
This hotel is in a great location comfortable bed nice clean room helpful staff easy walk to tram stop.Tram runs frequently takes you right in to heart of New Orleans highly recommend this hotel enjoyed my stay there.
Read more
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Park
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the feedback and information on the New Orleans Streetcar location in reference to the location of the hotel. We appreciate all feedback. Have safe travels and a good summer!
Read more
Stayed here on May 25,2019. Very nice place!!! Friendly staff and well maintained facility. Very cozy Rooms. Would stay here again with no problem!!! I highly recommend this place!!! Great location to restaurants and downtown!!!
Read more
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Park
Responded 2 weeks ago
I want to Thank You for your review. We appreciate you taking a moment to let us know that we achieved our goals. Have a great summer!
Read more
stayed for a few nights during our vacation and were very pleased with everything. Staff is very helpful, room was big enough and clean, real old NOLA charm througout the premises. Breakfast was arranged outdoors, enough private parking available at no extra charge, less than 2 minutes to the RTA streetcar station, which is the best way to get to the french quarter and the cemeteries.
Read more
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you ever so kindly for your review. We do appreciate all feedback to know we are doing our best for our guests. Have a wonderful summer!
Read more
I had mixed feelings about this property. The location was good- convenient access to the streetcar to the French Quarter. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby and in a quiet neighborhood. We had a family room. We liked the upstairs/ downstairs layout. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the shower was good. The fridge and microwave was a useful addition. The room itself was very old. The decor could have used updating and the air conditioning was quite noisy (although efficient). My main issue with this place was with check in and housekeeping. When we checked in, there was nobody else in reception. Struggling with multiple bags and a 3 and 5 year old, the receptionist sat and watched us struggling to get through the door with no offer of help. He was very disinterested and not friendly throughout check in. He also didn’t tell us when or where breakfast would be and we ended up missing it on the first day due to the early 9am finish time. I was also disappointed with housekeeping. We stayed 3 nights. Our sheets weren’t changed or even made up during our stay. They never replenished any of our coffee or toiletries. After our 2nd night, housekeeping didn’t even come to our room at all and we had to reuse wet towels the next day. All in all, the hotel is good value compared to others in the area and the location is great. The things they need to work on are their staffing/housekeeping issues and updating the decor.
Read more
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Chelle1002, I am so very sorry for both of your issues. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. This is not our standard behavior in either department. Although we do not have bellman to help with luggage, at the very least he could have done was to hold the door open, and assist you in some fashion. In regards to your housekeeping comments, other than apologizing, I can not comment as I have no way from your profile determining when you were a guest. So I can not go back into the housekeeping records to see who or why you didn’t get proper service from. So, I would like to speak with you directly so I can ascertain some information. Please contact me, manager@prytaniaparkhotel.com. This way, I can address both of your comments . Again, I do apologize and hope to be speaking with you in the very near future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
prytania park new orleans
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansCentral CityCentral City-Garden District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing