We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

La Galerie Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Galerie Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 328: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Got to the hotel, and chose it from the reviews on Expedia, which I'm starting to wonder about the validity of the reviews on Expedia, who are on there way to losing a customer.. Very unfriendly hostess who looked bothered by us checking in.. No hot water in the shower.. Room appeared clean, and small.. Way more street noise than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Don C
lwilliams561, General Manager at La Galerie Hotel, responded to this review

I assure you that we do not treat our guest indifferently and truly apologize for your experience. If you can reach out to me via email, I would really appreciate finding out the details of your check in. Hopefully we can make up for your past stay. Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review.... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If i could give this hotel a -1 i would. First night was ok at check in. Our room was cool and pleasant. The next morning we woke up to roaches in our sink. Gross! Later that day after me and my fiance spent 4 hours in the hot New Orleans weather, we come back to a hot room. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen M

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

This is an older hotel that has been renovated. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, which compensated for the check-in and key problems. It's New Orleans, so we took it in stride. There is an attached art gallery on one side and a restaurant on the other. The room was small but comfortable. The bedding was new. Great location... More 

Helpful?
Thank LovedMaui
lwilliams561, Manager at La Galerie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. Sorry that you had key trouble. We just updated our locks to key card access. More 

lincoln, nebraska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

I stayed here because I got a great package deal on Travelocity that included airfare and hotel. After booking my reservation, I read through the negative reviews, and I must say, I started to worry. But since the deal was already paid for, I went through with my business visit and stayed at this fine hotel for two nights. When... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank the_professor_dude
lwilliams561, General Manager at La Galerie Hotel, responded to this review

We are so happy that you gave us a chance and it was a positive stay for you! We are working hard to make this a great Boutique hotel in New Orleans. With only being open a little less than 2 months we are continuing to make improvments and most of all listening to our guests for improving. Thank You... More 

Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is located in the French Quarter. Convenient to many things. Room was acceptable, but bathroom quite outdated. The on duty agent at check in was a disaster. About 4pm on May 4th. He was rude, combative and sarcastic. He contiued that way for 3 days...Wed, Thurs, Friday. He certainly made us feel that we were an inconvenience to him.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rog M
lwilliams561, General Manager at La Galerie Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your check in was not pleasant. Please contact me if you have a moment to discuss the issues you encountered. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of our hotel. More 

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

This place is hard to find if you have not been there previously or have it's address. From the outside you can't really recognize it as a hotel. The inside lobby is very sparsely furnished and had one desk to serve as check-in/check-out and concierge service. This leads to a bit of a wait during anything as there is only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa Therese C
Management response:

Hello, I would like to start with a thank you for taking the time to post a review. The hotel has undergone a renovation and we are looking for ways to improve our guests' stay. I will take notes on you comments regarding the staffing of the front desk. Happy to hear that your stay we us was pleasant. Best,... More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

From all the negative reviews this hotel has i was hesitant to book here. We were very plesantly surprised. The room was spotless, very comfy bed, and nice plush towels This is a historic building. Love the ultra high ceilings in room. Wifi worked great. Air conditioning was perfect. Elevator worked fine. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank William R
lwilliams561, General Manager at La Galerie Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad to see that you took and chance and even happier that we did not let you down. Thank you for taking the time to post. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future. More 

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016

This hotel is not clean- it is in a very noisy neighborhood. There are nothing much in the rooms (no phone, no blanket, no coffee, no glasses for water). The shower area is also dirty. I am usually a positive person and tolerant. I lost my positiveness in this hotel and left as soon as I found another hotel to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank aadams405
lwilliams561, General Manager at La Galerie Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that we did not offer you our best. Please contact us at the hotel so that we can have the opportunity to make it up during your next visit. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

Hello my name is Patrick Johnson I checked into the hotel and from the time I made until now I've had bad experience. I checked into room 317 no Pillows manager brought them and thought everything will go right from then on. Hour later the A/C wasn't working AT ALL. So manager change rooms for me. Now I'm in room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick. J
lwilliams561, General Manager at La Galerie Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that your stay was unpleasant. Please give us the opportunity to show you that we are better than the poor quality you feel you encountered. More 

Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

I am typically an optimist and will try to find the positive in even the worst situations. This hotel is the exception. My husband and I booked a room here for a trip to New Orleans to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I prepaid for the room--it seemed like a "good deal" compared to the prices for other hotels in the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank lauriebk2015
lwilliams561, General Manager at La Galerie Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear of your experience during your stay with us. Please contact me at the hotel so that we can correct this for you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,945 reviews
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#76 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#115 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Compared to the more evocative monikers of some other parts of New Orleans, the downtown’s humdrum title might suggest that this area is all about business and little else. But don’t let the bland name keep you away from the Central Business District. The CBD offers a wide range of fun things to do that would be touted as exceptional in less jubilant corners of the world. Bordered by the French Quarter, the Arts District and Tremé, with the river at its eastern extreme, this hub for sports, gaming, shopping, theatre, family-friendly activities, and amazing regional cuisine makes a smart base wherever your interests lie.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about La Galerie Hotel

Address: 131 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2313 (Formerly Chateau Dupre Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Price Range: $103 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Galerie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your La Galerie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Dupre New Orleans
Hotel Chateau Dupre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay