We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel St. Helene

Orbitz.com$115*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel St. Helene
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Helene
See the most recent reviews
Showing 287: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed April 2, 2017

The front desk staff took a personal phone call in the middle of checking me in. While I'm happy to know she has vacated her old apartment and will not need to pay additional rent, I was completely ignored and treated like an inconvenience to her day. I should have taken that as a clue to what the rest of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jeland2017
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear jeland2017, I sincerely apologize for the extremely poor behavior of my front desk agent. I assure you that this issue has been addressed. We expect our agents to be extremely hospitable to each and every guest that walks in to our hotel. Again, I apologize. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss further. Regards,

Dallas
Reviewed April 1, 2017

Construction, loud bar guests, people blasting music at all hours of the night, trash compactors being emptied outside my window at 5am on the dot- EVERY morning. Also, no elevator. Shower is mouldy!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 227courtney
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear 227courtney, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for all the street noise during your stay. Unfortunately, due to the location of the hotel we have street noise that can not be helped. However, the mold in your shower can be helped and will be addressed. Again, thank you for your feedback. Regards,

Gulfport, Mississippi
Reviewed March 31, 2017

Very conveniently located, parking garage across the street from the Hotel. I would not recommend arriving in a full size SUV or truck due to restricted height, and space restrictions in the parking garages. I have a full size truck and barely made the clearance to get into the parking garage. The spaces are too tight. We ended up using...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willeatndrink
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear Willeatndrink, Thank you for your feedback. Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel St Helene, despite your issues with parking. We would love for you to stay with us again! Regards,

Little Rock
Reviewed March 28, 2017

This room was perfect for what we had set out to accomplish which was a romantic getaway from the kids and some down time together as a couple!!! We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting to stay right down in the fun of the French Quarter!! It is a prime location for everything...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JasonMarile
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear JasonMarile, Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to New Orleans! Kind Regards,

Reviewed March 27, 2017

My wife and I stayed here for the first time over the weekend. We wanted to find a small boutique hotel in the French Quarter near Bourbon Street. I stumbled up on this hotel on another booking site and figured we would give it a try. We arrived several hours early for check in but they were more than willing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kingofthehill81
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear kingofthehill81, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to having you back! Please feel free to contact me on your next visit. It would be my pleasure to personally assist you! Kind Regards,

Mamou
Reviewed March 21, 2017 via mobile

The only complaint is that when I booked through booking.com and when I checked in I was not made aware of the $150 incidental hold on my card I have stayed at different hotels throughout the French quarter and this is never happened I was upset that I was not notified about this ahead of time other than that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwen L
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear Gwen L, thank you for your feedback. In your confirmation email it does notify you that an additional deposit is required upon check-in, however I am upset to read that you found our staff discourteous. That is unacceptable and will be addressed. I am glad to see that you found the property romantic and charming though. Regards,

Livingston, Louisiana
Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile

I used to LOVE this hotel. I have stayed here a few times in the past & have always had a great stay. Not this time. Upon entering, there was a very strong, unmistakable odor of marijuana. First, the front desk person that checked me in did not know what he was doing. It took him about 15 minutes to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neworleanszombie
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear neworleanszombie, Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize for your inconveniences and the conditions of your room. These issues have been addressed. Please feel free to contact me to discuss further. Regards,

Fresno, California
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

Love this place! I got into NOLA way earlier than check in... and they gladly stored my bags while I wandered around the French Quarter. Even were going to call me to let me know room was ready ahead of check in! Great location.. can see Jackson Squate from balcony in 9ne direction and Napolean's (great muffalettas) in the other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KSBCompany
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear KSBCompany, Thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to New Orleans and that we were able to fulfill your expectations! Thank you for staying with us. Please come back to see us again! Trisha

Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

Two friends and I stayed this past weekend, and the hotel was charming and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately, they are located directly across the narrow street from the Omni, and our room faced the side of the Omni where the garbage trucks cleared their dumpsters at 3:30 in the morning. 2 out of the 3 nights,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie H
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear Julie H, I do apologize for the the street noise during your stay. This issues is being addressed. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss further. Thank you for your feedback. Regards

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed March 8, 2017 via mobile

I stayed for 3 days in this hotel. Nice, historical building, but not a lot of extra service. For example: no breakfast. But the worst part of the hotel is that it is very noisy. The first night I woke up 4 times because of noisy hotel guests returning to their rooms. I asked for and got another room, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoldTraveller
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear GoldTraveller, Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize for the inconveniences during your stay. Please feel free to contact if you would like to discuss further. Kind Regards.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#101 of 162 in New Orleans
504 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#37 of 162 in New Orleans
2,236 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#114 of 162 in New Orleans
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
1,231 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#54 of 162 in New Orleans
1,619 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighborhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel’s location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Café du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O’ Brien’s, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem! This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River. Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with:-LCD flat screen TVs-Ebony stained hardwood floors-Wireless internet in guest rooms and public areas-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-IPOD docking stations-All-marble bathrooms with standing showersOur French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area or the historic French Quarter. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St. Helene

Address: 508 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2110
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: $113 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Helene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel St. Helene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ste Helene Hotel
Hotel Ste Helene
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel St. Helene staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St. Helene staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a more honest hotel”
199susanh, 1 week ago | Read review
“Balcony rooms are an upgrade and cost more.”
SuperNana47, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Splurge for a balcony.”
556jacik, Apr 22, 2017 | Read review
“If your looking for a balcony room book in advance.”
Willeatndrink, Mar 31, 2017 | Read review
“Get a balcony”
kingofthehill81, Mar 27, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Orbitz.com
$115* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$119
CheapTickets$115
Travelocity$115
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates