We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prytania Oaks Hotel

Traveler (91)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (6)

About

#98 of 171 hotels in New Orleans
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Prytania Oaks Hotel is an excellent choice for travelers visiting New Orleans, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as St. Louis Cemetery No. 1 (1.5 mi) and French Quarter (1.5 mi), guests of Prytania Oaks Hotel can easily experience some of New Orleans' most well known attractions. As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available. Guests have access to a 24 hour front desk and baggage storage while staying at Prytania Oaks Hotel. In addition, Prytania Oaks Hotel offers free breakfast, which will help make your New Orleans trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests. New Orleans has plenty of sushi restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Tsunami Sushi, Geisha Sushi Bistro, and Rockn' Sake Bar & Sushi, which are serving up some great dishes. If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out The National WWII Museum (0.5 mi), Garden District (0.4 mi), or Magazine Street (0.1 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance. Enjoy your stay in New Orleans!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Residential Neighborhood

Location

Full view
90Good for walkers
Grade: 90 out of 100
42Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
9Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
246Reviews
8Q+A
65Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 98
  • 101
  • 33
  • 10
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I have only stayed one time at Prytania Oaks Hotel. It was a very nice place to stay while enjoying New Orleans, close to everything, clean, and not noisy. Some of my family have stayed in this location for over 10 years, and have loved it enough to come back to the same place 3 and 4 times a year.
Read more
Our room was very very musty smelling. When we first opened the door it was overwhelming! However, after leaving the door open while we were there and lighting a couple candles, it got better during our stay (four nights), although not great. We spoke with two other couples in our building and they said there room was musty smelling but not too bad. The room was clean when we got there, but we did have cleaning issues, starting with the first day when we returned to our room at ab out 5:00 pm and it was not made up at all. By this time the front desk advised there was no one to clean the room but the very kind and helpful young man at the desk gave us some towels and soap to last us through the night. After that there were just minor oversights (no soap left for us, coffee make not cleaned, coffee cups not cleaned). The breakfast is very basic: Cereal (Cheerios and Raisin Bran), milk, orange juice, store bought waffles, English muffins), store bought (prepackaged) fruit cup and applesauce, jam and butter and coffee, of course. Breakfast was served outdoors in what could be termed a courtyard but was basically outdoor walkways between buildings. The same meal was provided all four days were were there. Every day we had challenges getting into our room with the card. After two days staff suggested that the battery in the lock had to be replaced, but it was not fixed while we were there so every day we had to go back to the office to get new keys and struggle with them to get the door to open. Most staff we dealt with were kind and helpful but one lady in particular was certainly not and quite rude, but this can happen anywhere. We did have the opportunity to meet the owner and she was great, offering recommendations on where to eat. Despite the age of the building the air conditioning in our room was more than adequate as was the water pressure and temperature. We arrived at our room about 11:00 pm and I have to say, it was a bit concerning. We had just driven under the bridge where the homeless were sleeping, the street itself was quite desolate, there was a police officer at the corner, the cab driver couldn't find the place and well, I certainly wondered what we got ourselves into! We were also not aware that we had to check in at the office around the corner (this hotel has more than one building it owns and operates). There was a sign on the gate that surrounds our building telling us where to check in. Thank goodness for flashlights on cell phones otherwise we would not have been able to read it. In the light of day and with a bit of time to acclimate to the city, we were able to better appreciate the quaintness of our accommodations. The hotel is close to the trolley car line which takes you to the French Quarter in a mere 10 minutes so we enjoyed being away from the French Quarter and within the Garden District. During the day there was considerable traffic, including lots of runners and some street people, but at night there was very little vehicular noise at all. I did sleep very well! Depending on what you are looking for in your visit to New Orleans, you may or may not want to stay at the Prytania. You take some risks with quality but you will certainly experience old New Orleans. I personally would not return to Prytania Oaks. The cons outweighed the pros for my husband and I. I would go the slightly extra expense and stay at a more modern hotel.
Read more
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel
Responded Oct 10, 2018
Dear Guest, I thank you for your review. I appreciate all you had to say and I do recall speaking with you and your husband last Friday evening regarding the mustiness as well as all the foodie options our City has to offer. You even agreed that the theory behind why it was a bit musty made sense. But I am not going to belabor that point again with you. In our 45 mins chat getting to know one another, I did appreciate you telling me that even with the extreme heat and humidity our City was having, that your AC was working wonderfully, that coming from upper Minnesota you were concerned. And to top it off, you found the Hot water in the shower was the best you had ever experienced. I know you thoroughly enjoyed your day of Antiquing and touring in the French Quarter, with all the music and libations, and were back for a breather before heading out for dinner, which started our conversation of all the wonderful restaurants. I hope you did get a chance to experience some of the local ones Corey and I suggested over the touristy, expensive ones that the Antique shop owner suggested. I apologize for your room not being serviced on 1 afternoon. I do not know why it didnt. Our breakfast is marketed as a Continental fare, which by industry standard is Coffee/Juice and Breakfast breads. However, as you listed, we offer quite a bit more. It may be basic, but its also expanded and free of charge. There are those "modern hotels" that charge upwards of $14.95 pls tax and tip for the Industry standard Continental fare. Most guests find it perfect for the "get me going" as you don't come to New Orleans for hotel breakfasts, when there are so many restaurants in our neighborhood that offer wonderfully savory breakfast for a very low price. As to your check in experience, you booked through the 3rd party Expedia/Hotels.com. We have disclaimers on our contract with them regarding the check in procedures, and they have it shown correctly on 2 of 3 of our hotel collection, but for some unknown reason, Expedia can not seem to get it straight regarding reservations for Prytania Oaks. We again, today, contacting them regarding this issue. The quietness of the nights around here are a great thing to have. The big box more modern hotels are great, but certainly, they will not give the quietness you should have, nor will it give you the Old World Charm or esthetics of 1840's Greek Revival and/or Victorian Double Gallery homes that the Garden District is known for, and are renovated. I do wish you and your charming husband all the best in your travels and that you had a wonderful time on the 2 tours that Corey at my Front Desk booked for you, and got to hear some good New Orleans music down on Frenchman Street.
Read more
I made a reservation on Booking.com for this hotel. i had to cancel my trip after few days i d booked! i was lucky my cancellation was free... but it s not well say but the hotel can take a pre-payment for all the nights ( for me 9 days). the problem it was when i cancelled it took 1 week for refound and because i'm in Canadian $ i lost 100$ in change currency because of the day they refound me. So for me my cancellation was not free. Be carrefull of the terms.
Read more
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel
Responded Oct 10, 2018
Dear Readers. When a guest books via a 3rd party, such as Booking.com, the terms of the reservation are always stated somewhere within their booking site pages. It is the guest responsiblity to read every drop down box, read all "small print" to understand what the terms are. Typically, the terms are listed under the title of Pre Payment, or Deposit required, or Credit Card Guarantee, or even under Refund/Cancellation policy. Each booking site is different. With regards to his reservation through Booking.com, he booked during a time that is under Special Event or Major City Wide Convention, and our property requires full pre payment at the time of booking. With Booking.com, their clause " Pre payment" states "the guest will be charged a prepayment of the total price at any time" . He booked on Sept. 8th, and canceled on Sept. 10th for a 5 night stay, not a 9 night stay over New Years/Sugar Bowl weekend. That is the Special Event. We obtained the deposit, and then upon cancellation, we refunded the full deposit. Yes, cancellation is free of charge, as no penalty will be assessed to cancel, however, that is different from the pre payment terms. If he is angry, it should be directed to himself as clearly, he did not read the terms of the booking site before processing his reservation for confirmation. We are not responsible for Currency exchanges lost, and I do apologize for that.
Read more
The reality vs. the description are two different things. The room was shabby, the curtains were stained and dirty from leaky, moldy windows (if you have allergies or asthma, you are going to be triggered HEAVILY), and there was no excuse for the level of soap scum in the shower. This property is clearly in neglect and decline. I wished we'd stayed outside the city and taken a taxi in to visit. We got up at 6:30, packed out stuff and didn't even bother with the breakfast. NOPE.
Read more
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel
Responded Jul 25, 2018
Dear Guest, I am extremely upset with this review as it clearly shows we failed you miserably. I am so very sorry. To say I am mortified is an understatement. Had I known, this would have been remedied while you were here so you can enjoy your stay, and know, we , I, take full responsibility for problems. I would like to speak with you directly , however, I can not ascertain what room you were in by your profile here. We are taking immediate measures to correct these issues, and I would like the opportunity to show you that I stand behind my word. Please contact me directly at the hotel to discuss. 1-800-862-1984.
Read more
Spent three out of four nights with no ac temp reaching 90 according to the extremely nice maintenance man Mr Mike. On sight staff exceptional, apologetic and embarrassed about how we were treated by Dori Schumann the General Manager. The first morning after an unbearable night we were offered another room to shower and put makeup on until the air was fixed by Dori Schumann who makes all the decisions via phone conversations with staff. NOT TO MOVE TO but just to use while ac was fixed. We had air all night one night only. When the staff would call Dori she would always tell us it would be fixed or had been fixed. Again they would apologize for her. Upon checkout Dori Schumann offered us a whopping 15%. Her staff was embarrassed to even say it out loud and ask If I wanted them to call her back. I said please do. I again was nice as the staff can testify. Dori was not. Denying all responsibility even saying her staff offered to move us to the Queen Ann across the street. If that was true why in God’s name would I have turned it down. She stated that we had the opportunity to enjoy the ac and room during the day even though we had no ac at night. She said it was a power issue not hers, well it wasn’t ours either. She ended up giving me 25% off. Unbelievable. Do not take the chance of being disrespected by this manager. Stay elsewhere where you will be taken care of if something goes horribly wrong.
Read more
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel
Responded Jul 25, 2018
Dear Readers, There was much more to this stay than the guest communicated. She did not advise that Entergy, the power company to New Orleans, was experiencing Outages due to the extreme loads so early in the season. The power company was not prepared for the excessive heat wave we had early to mid May and the grid that serviced that side of the street kept going offline for a few hours overnight to regenerate itself. Suffice it to say, the compensation I offered originally and then the increased compensation was more than sufficient given the true facts of the 2 times and no more than a total of a few hours. We offered to room move her, but her not wanting to give up the semi private balcony she had for a deluxe room at our sister property directly across the street that had full functioning AC without fail since it was on a different grid circuit, there was not much more I could do for her. I can not control Mother Nature and the power companies demand load limitations. all I can do is try to remedy the situation as fast and as best I can. She had AC over 90% of her stay.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansCentral CityCentral City-Garden District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing