We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Andrew Jackson Hotel

Save
Share
919 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2792
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$127
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$127
View deal
Hotel Website
$149
$119
View deal
SAVE $30
Expedia.com$127
Hotels.com$127
Hurb$149
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (391)
Room & Suite (180)
Dining (7)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Andrew Jackson Hotel
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#66 of 178 hotels in New Orleans
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Located in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street, the Andrew Jackson Hotel features fine Southern Hospitality and charming French Quarter accommodations. The Andrew Jackson Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and features 21 quaint guest rooms and suites. Our distinctly decorated guestrooms offer Old World charm and modern conveniences. Enjoy one of our spacious guestrooms or suites overlooking the lush tropical courtyard and French Quarter fountain. Our Royal Balcony Suites feature expansive views of Royal Street and the French Quarter.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
1008Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 478
  • 276
  • 108
  • 66
  • 80
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
rixster wrote a review May 2021
Charlotte, North Carolina17 contributions16 helpful votes
When we chose the Andrew Jackson it was all about finding something quaint, while being in the heart of the French Quarter. The reviews were good, the pictures were charming, and it seemed like the right choice for my first trip to NOLA. Let's start with the pre arrive communication. We prepaid and received confirmation. A few days after receiving the confirmation we received another email that created some confusion about the first reservation. We attempted to call the hotel several times, which led to an automated message that wouldn't allow you to speak with anyone. We are still confused by this, as we saw during our stay the front desk person was always there, reading or doing other work. Upon arrival, the person that greeted us and checked us in was very friendly and very helpful. The people at the hotel all were. They were always smiling, and willing to help and answer questions. Now, let's talk about the room. We were put into room 103. If you ever stay there and are put in 103 run, don't walk. Walking in we found it to be quaint. From first look it seemed cute and very historical. Here's what happened after that first impressions: 1. There are no outlets. In this day and age I would think that even an historical building would have some upgrades to accommodate the technology that we all carry. We had to unplug the clock and use the outlet in the bathroom to charge our devices. The outlet that had the TV attached was clearly a fire hazard. 2. Light and noice. There are no windows in the room (there is in the bathroom, but that's a separate point). There is a large window above the door that is covered, but light streamed in from the hallway. As this is an old building the noice was insane. This room is also next to the lobby bathroom and you can hear every time someone uses the bathroom. 3. The bathroom. It's small, the toilet was coming up from the floor. The shower was coming off the tiles. Although the surfaces of the sink and toilet and bath were clean the bathroom as a whole was not. The window in the bathroom was GROSS. It was layered with dust and the blinds didn't work very well to cover the window. Had the hotel next door been open people would have been able to see into the bathroom. The window that sat on top of the floor window was blacked out except for the broken pane that allowed anything in the room from the outside. This included gnats, and bugs and of course dust. It was incredibly uncomfortable. The towels were old and although clean they were stained. They don't tell you upfront, but they only clean rooms every 3 days and you have to ask for clean towels. With the pandemic you would think that rooms would be cleaned every day. We paid almost $800 for three nights at the hotel. It was an incredibly uncomfortable and I was glad to be home and somewhere clean. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. Don't waste your money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't stay in room 103.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Brett Sarff, Guest Services / Front Office at Andrew Jackson Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Ricscot, Thank you for the response regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had with our hotel. Did you mention any of these issues to our staff members while on property? We could have been able to move you to one of our other petite queen beds. We are descriptive on our websites because our petite queen bed rooms can be smaller. Because of the pandemic we are still trying to eliminate as much guest contact with our staff. We do have a sign posted up at the front desk reinstating our housekeeping cleaning schedules. I can assure you that our rooms are clean. We hope you would reconsider our property, after the pandemic is over and you feel more comfortable traveling again.
Read more
Chassidy H wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
one block over from Bourbon St...close to everything. If you are an older adult I recommend upgrading to a bigger room. Staff was amazing and we decided to leave a day early and was refunded. Def recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: request a first level, king room for best stay
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Brett Sarff, Guest Services / Front Office at Andrew Jackson Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
46chassidyh, Thank you so much for the review! We hope you will come back and visit us again soon!
Read more
ewtonangela wrote a review May 2021
Dallas, Texas1 contribution
Had a king balcony room and it was so fun! We were able to sit outside and watch the crowds walk by. Would recommend if you’re looking to experience a little of the action without being right in the middle of it (if you care about sleeping).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Brett Sarff, Guest Services / Front Office at Andrew Jackson Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
ewtonangela, Thank you so much for the review! We are happy to see you loved our location in the French Quarter! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
smay642087 wrote a review May 2021
Hensley, Arkansas1 contribution
The rooms are the perfect size to 2 adults. I wouldn't try to stay here with kids. It's just not enough space. But we made due. Would be perfect for a romantic get away with a partner, made for some awkward situations while traveling with my little sister The courtyard is beautiful! The staff was friendly. Only a block off Bourbon Street, so it was super convenient, but far enough away to not hear the noise.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
travelgal562021 wrote a review May 2021
Ogden, Utah1 contribution
An okay hotel. The rooms were average, a bit dirty, but the bedding and shower were clean. We got the noisiest room in the hotel, 101. We did not get breakfast, and were not told it had been canceled when booking. Also, we were not told you have to schedule room cleaning during your stay. However, their courtyard was nice to relax in after a long day of sightseeing. The location is excellent and right in the heart of everything, which was very nice. The staff is friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Chase Jacobs, Other at Andrew Jackson Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi travelgal56201, Thank you for giving feedback on your recent time with us. It is great to read that you enjoyed our quaint courtyard after a good day of exploring the quarter. I do apologize for the noise coming from outside you room as well as the breakfast and cleaning. We are in the process of slowly getting things back to normal and hope to get be able to serve our tasty croissants again soon. Thank you again for this valuable feedback and hope we get another chance to earn those two stars. Warm Regards, Chase Jacobs Assistant General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$92 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
andrew jackson new orleans, hotel andrew jackson
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansFrench Quarter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing