We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area

Save
Share
210 O'Keefe Ave, New Orleans, LA 70112-1535
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Moxy Hotels
$101
View Deal
Agoda.com$101
Booking.com$101
Priceline$101
FindHotel$101
Expedia.com$101
Hotels.com$101
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (430)
360
Panoramas (8)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 10/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area
Updated 10/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#119 of 178 hotels in New Orleans
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
In a city of unexpected second lines, bead covered trees, and vibrant culture, MOXY New Orleans gives ou everything yo want and nothing you don't. Marrying smart service and technology with contemporary style and affordability, MOXY is your reimagined boutique hotel. Make new traditions or reconnect with old favorites; MOXY New Orleans is blocks away from the French quarter and walking distance to live music venues, alluring restaurants, and even the streetcar. Nearby attractions include the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center, The Civic Theater, and, if you must, Bourbon Street. Our 108 guest rooms feature sumptuous bedding, upscale bath amenities, 42" LCD TVs, and furiously-fast Wi-Fi. At the center of it all, like literally, our hand-crafted cocktail bar-with the courage to be a game-changer, is buzzing with energy. It's a coffeehouse in the AM and the perfect place for a quick bite at night, plus 24/7 grab-n-go that is always delicious, always available.
Read more
Room & Suite (256)256
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Modern
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
373Reviews20Q+A69Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 141
  • 109
  • 54
  • 30
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tom B wrote a review Oct 25
Hudson, United States10 contributions1 helpful vote
I cannot begin to say enough about this hotel. From the moment I walked in I was greeted like a long lost friend and felt completely welcome. Tyler did the underrated job of check-in which is the first contact so to speak. He was efficient and friendly and had many suggestions no matter what I asked about the area. Alex who worked the second shift also set me up to have a great night with what was open and what to be careful of. I will come back and stay here as soon as possible!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Jordan B wrote a review Oct 5
Santa Monica, California3 contributions
My husband and I recently stayed at Moxy New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area from September 24th through September 27th. We travelled from LA and were so disappointed in our Marriott hotel experience that it literally ruined our trip. I cried to my husband 2x about how I wish I would have known the hotel would be this way and how I had never had a hotel experience like this before. The hotel is set up right now as a FEMA shelter for Lake Charles hurricane evacuees and was NOT hospitable to travelling guests whatsoever. The whole lobby was shut off and there were constantly an excessive amount of people outside the entrance of the hotel smoking cigarettes, drinking, treating the place “like their own backyard.” It was extremely unwelcoming and the entire hotel was not being kept to hotel cleanliness standards based on the description on the Marriott site on a renewed commitment to cleanliness standards during COVID. 1. Upon check in, we were sent to someone else’s dirty room, this room was unmade, covered in trash with dirty towels all over the floor, unnecessarily increasing our potential COVID exposure. We had to bring our luggage back down and re-check in another room. 2. Cigarette smoke smell in room multiple times, even after calling lobby to mediate. Like I said above, people had been “living” in the hotel for over a month and clearly did not care about other traveling guests in neighboring rooms and the hotels policies at this point as they were smoking in the hotel rooms and trashing the hallways. 3. Mountain of to-go boxes, food, and dirty towels of other guests placed RIGHT outside our door like a barricade 2 days in a row. It was unbelievable how unkept the hallways were there. They were not picked up until we complained several times and requested a maid come. We had to literally step over this to get to our hotel room because there was literally a barricade of trash going outside of our hotel hallway where our door was. After voicing all this the to hotel manager, not only was he rude to me, but blamed the unkept hotel on “Covid and doing the best they can in the current situation. He was only willing to offer 12,000 points towards a future stay which is hardly a reparation considering the MOXY is 40k points on any given night to book and we stayed 3 nights. HORRIBLY MANAGED HOTEL!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Key, Guest Services / Front Office at MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and that you were so disappointed with your stay. Due to the recent events in Lake Charles, Louisiana we have been working with Red Cross and Fema to provide housing for some evacuees. We will review your comments with the appropriate departments to improve our guest experience. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to regain your trust.
Read more
Juan Pablo V wrote a review Oct 4
Miami, Florida246 contributions65 helpful votes
Hey guys. I dont usually whrite bad reviews but this one is well deserved. Tonight i had to change rooms 4 times!!!. They are clearly dealing with humidity problems that they were not upfront about. They have cooling NOISY machines on the coredors, next to my assigned room btw. Not only the machine is loud, the room smells. I was poorly “looked after” the front desk guy, who clearly has no hospitality experience. Btw) that had a problem with the shot out courtins, so basically did not work. The other 2 rooms offered, had humidity problems and smelled. Anyways, its close to midnight. Im sleeping in the 5fh room offered. Im checking out tomorrow of course. I just want to warn you. Stay away from this sh!t hole. As far away as possible!!!! Here are some pictures! Btw, my last room had a cigarrette butt.... lovely!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Key, Guest Services / Front Office at MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on the Guest Satisfaction Survey. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and that you were so disappointed with your stay. Our associates regularly receive positive praise, we apologize you did not see our dedicated team at their best. We will review your comments with the appropriate departments to improve our guest experience. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to regain your trust.
Read more
Brian T wrote a review Sep 2020
8 contributions2 helpful votes
The new twist to the hotel experience. Very clean and comfortable room. Smart TV and tech available. Mattress and pillows were top of the line. Walking distance to almost everything. Parking nearby and reasonably priced. Outside noise, beyond their control and typical for New Orleans revelry, might be a factor for some guests.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Bronwyn wrote a review Aug 2020
Orlando, Florida30 contributions18 helpful votes
My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to New Orleans for my birthday. We had always wanted to try the Moxy brand since it’s known for catering to our generation and being a unique experience. Well, let me tell you, it was absolutely unique. Never before in my life have I been assigned four different rooms on check in day due to housekeeping, maintenance, & (quite frankly) competence issues. 1) When we checked in, the front desk person did not ask for any ID. First red flag. She offered a ready room right away with no window or to wait for a room with a window. We opted to wait, but the front desk person said “Oh I have one right now with a window!” Great. So we grabbed our luggage, they handed us a stack of towels and trash bags, and we headed up to our room assignment. When we entered the room, we were hit with the stench of weed. The bed was unmade and slept in and there was trash and towels everywhere. It was clearly not serviced at all. Oh, and there was absolutely no window. It was dark and dank and super small and cramped. We headed back to the lobby. 2) The front desk blamed it on housekeeping. We’re pretty laid back, & as a hotel manager myself I understood that these things can happen. We were offered complimentary drink vouchers as compensation and given a new room number. We take our stack of towels and luggage back up to the new room. We get all the way down the hall to the new room and tap the key to the lock. Nothing. It won’t budge. The light on the door flashes orange and my boyfriend heads back to the lobby. I think that it’s just an issue with the keys, but he comes back to tell me that the front desk agent gave us the entirely wrong room number. It’s not even the right floor. At this point, I’m getting a bit annoyed. We head to the third room assignment. 3) We get to the third room and we’re pleased at the size. It’s almost three times as large as the first room. It has a bed in one wing of the room and a sitting area in another. It has a window, but it faces a brick wall, but whatever. At this point, I’m just glad to be in a room. There’s a weird smell, but I ignore it. However, as soon as I use the bathroom I realize that the sink doesn’t work. I have no idea how housekeeping could’ve cleaned the room without noticing that the sink was broken. We go to call the front desk to report the issue, but the phone is broken too. Seriously? We head back to the lobby. 4) At this point, I’m sick of this experience already. I ask to speak to the manager. This front desk person who has given us 1 dirty room, 1 wrong room, and 1 out of order room identifies herself as the manager. She proceeds to tell me that the hotel is “barely open” & “not really functioning” due to COVID-19 and she proceeds to throw a pity party. She basically said that they shouldn’t even be open. She tells me that there are no engineers or maintenance people on staff to fix our room. Her only option is to give us a fourth room and doesn’t offer us anything. I asked her if we could get a room with a similar layout as our current one since it was nice and spacious. She says sure. We get to the fourth room and it’s a third of the size of our previous room. None of the outlets on either nightstand work. They actually look gnawed on and have missing and broken plastic. But at this point, we didn’t want to move again considering there was a good chance of getting a worse room. If we hadn’t prepaid for our 5 night stay, we would’ve checked out and moved to a different hotel right then and there. We found out later that the manager who bungled our check in entirely and then took zero responsibility for the issues is the interim General Manager of the hotel. We come to find out by reading other people’s reviews and descriptions from Moxy themselves that they customarily offer welcome cocktails/beverages at check in as part of the experience. We weren’t offered that at all, instead we were offered drinks as “compensation” which doesn’t do anything to help the situation anyway. Regardless, we headed to the front desk/bar to grab a drink. We find out from the bartender that they can’t make a single drink on the menu because they don’t have the ingredients. Moxy advertises being in the French Quarter. It’s not, it’s in the CBD and it’s at least a 15-20 minute walk to the Quarter and isn’t very convenient at all. There are many better and more convenient options. One thing you should know about the Moxy is that there are no closets and no dressers. There’s only pegs on the wall. Although the Marriott Bonvoy website says that the room amenities include “pull out sofa bed, coffee and tea maker, safe, iron and ironing board” none of these were present. There are communal ironing stations on alternating floors. No safe to store your valuables at all. There’s no mini fridge or anything like that. We asked the front desk if they had a fridge for the room by request, and they said they do but they’re all broken and there’s no one on staff to fix them. We asked for an ice bucket since our room didn’t have one and they told us they didn’t have any extra. We told them that the 3rd room we check into (the one with the broken sink) had an ice bucket and the employee retrieved it for us. Then, we discovered that all of the ice machines were turned off. The Moxy doesn’t offer coffee makers in the room, but they advertise having signature lattes at the front desk bar. The information in the room even advertises a “mocha soy latte”. But, of course, the front desk/bar tells us that the espresso machine is broken. All they have is black coffee. I ask if we could flavor it with the flavors that would go in the lattes and they said no. Wonderful. During our stay, I lost my room key. I went to the front desk to get a replacement, & although this employee did not know me, she gave me a key to the room without checking my ID or even asking for my name. This is incredibly concerning, seeing as anyone could ask for a room key and break in easily. Finally, toward the end of the stay we were looking for the room key and I leaned on the door. The room popped open. I realized that the entire 5 days we were there, the door was never locked. We tested out pulling it closed and then pushing it open, and it opened every time. This is obviously beyond upsetting for safety reasons and also coupled with the fact that there’s no safe to secure our laptop and tablets. Long story short? Don’t stay at the Moxy. It was an absolute nightmare. They try to blame all of their issues on COVID, but we’ve stayed at Renaissance, AC Hotels, Fairfield, (all Marriott brands) and two Disney resorts since the outbreak of COVID and none of them had any of these issues. A nice employee explained to us that the property has been a mess and has had a lot of issues since long before COVID-19 and that the issues stem from the poor management and inconsistent leadership of the property. Avoid at all costs!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Key, Guest Services / Front Office at MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on Tripadvisor. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and that you were so disappointed with your stay. Our associates regularly receive positive praise, we apologize you did not see our dedicated team at their best. Moxy New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area is a unique property located in the heart of the central business district, only two blocks away from the French Quarter and four blocks away from Bourbon Street. Here at the Moxy we like to offer a fun and lively guest experience, so instead of having coffee makers, irons, and desks in the room we encourage guests to join us for a good time in the lobby and other public areas. Unfortunately with social distancing restrictions most of these areas are temporarily closed including the removal of ice buckets from the rooms. However, we have ice, irons, and coffee makers available at the front desk for guests to take to their rooms. Safe deposit boxes and guest lockers are available in the lobby for guest use as well. Due to the restrictions on alcohol service by the Mayor of New Orleans we are temporarily unable to give welcome cocktails to guests as they check-in like we do normally as it promotes social gathering and drinking. Once again we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations but will review your comments with the appropriate departments to improve our guest experience. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to regain your trust. Thank you for choosing to stay at Moxy New Orleans Downtown/ French Quarter Area and we hope to welcome you again whenever your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Sincerely, Alex Key Assistant General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$94 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quality inn and suites downtown, quality inn & suites downtown hotel new orleans, quality inn downtown, quality inn new orleans, new orleans quality inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansCentral Business District / Warehouse/Central Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
108
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area
Which popular attractions are close to MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area?
Nearby attractions include Clue Carre - New Orleans' First Live Escape Game (0.2 miles), Immaculate Conception Church (0.1 miles), and 21st Amendment Bar at La Louisiane (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness center.
What food & drink options are available at MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area?
Conveniently located restaurants include Olde Nola Cookery, Roosevelt Hotel Bar, and Acme Oyster House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of New Orleans.
Are pets allowed at MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Our Sacred Stories (0.4 miles), Hermann-Grima House (0.4 miles), and Longue Vue House and Gardens (3.4 miles).
Is MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.