We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Hotel website
Hotel deals
739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Panoramas (6)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

2,671 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in March, a couple weeks after Mardi Gras. I arrived about 1.5 hours before check-in and was told there were no rooms ready yet. That's fine since they have a good organized bag check with employees dedicated to that task. I came back to check in after some sightseeing and their were around... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank brett s
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Brett S, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with the noise which did not live up to your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always... More 

Palm Bay, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel is centrally located in New Orleans, with-in walking distance of many restaurants and bars. The room was nice. The only negative to this hotel is the check-in process. From waiting in line to get our vehicle unloaded to the long lines to get checked in. Our friends waited over 2 hours on the previous day and we waited... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joann L
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Joann L, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. We apologize for the experience you had during check-in and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed for 4 days which was great but customer service is horrible. We had a hotel.com reservation first for check in which they couldn't find and when I check out they book me for the room and hotel.com has called multiple times to get resolved and can't get a return call back to send payment. Worst experience ever when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joeclemson2005
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Joeclemson2005, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel. Please allow us to apologize for the experience you had with the service you received. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The location is ideal! The hotel was fine but certainly not luxurious. We found the staff accommodating. Our room was clean. I was amazed how quiet the hotel was as we stayed during spring break and I found no hallway rowdiness in our area. The cons are ……. The bathroom hair dryer was broken, the sink hot water handle broke... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl W
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl W, Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that you found our location superb, rooms clean, staff accommodating and overall a quiet facility. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for a bachelor party with a large group of friends. The location can't be beat. The rooms are fine. The front desk staff is incompetent. Took an hour plus to check in, after waiting for hours because the room wasn't ready. Took even longer to get a cot brought up to the room. Would only stay again because... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank islesfan4lyf
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear islesfan4lyf, Thank you for staying with us and for bringing this to our attention. We are very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to address your experience further, and have sent you an email with additional details. Thank you again for your comments and for staying with us. Sincerely, Connie D Case... More 

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Booked as a hidden rate on another travel site NEVER AGAIN! We arrived around 10PM after our flight landed. We got to the hotel and checked in after waiting for a couple of minutes in line. We get up to our room and was excited about the view down Bourbon Street. I went to get ready and picked up the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Traveler3088
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Traveler3088, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all experience you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We have sent you a... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have continually tried to contact the hotel through emails and phone calls and they still can't seem to find my reservation for April. They will not return any email and the phone calls haven't helped. Not impressed with this IHG hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Apbhinds
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Apbhinds, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We do regret to see the trouble you have had in confirming your booking. We hope to be welcoming you soon and should you have any additional concerns, please do not hesitate to speak with a member of management. Thank you again for your comments, we... More 

Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night 3/20/14. Will never stay here again. Carpeting in the halls was dirty with food in the corners and stains. Was wakened at 1:08 am to the security guy trying to rouse a passed out drunken man in front of my door. He couldn't do it by himself so he very noisily called for back-up. Whole... More 

Helpful?
Thank Queenfox
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Queenfox, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff... More 

Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 days over Mardi Gras. Poor service Old moldy, rusty rooms Tv didnt work Ac/heat didnt work Bugs What really irritated me the most was the poor attitudes and comments made by staff. Such inconsiderate people for people that work is hospitality. Basically didnt care about any of our concerns. We had different issues daily which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erin L
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Erin L, Thank you for staying with us and for bringing this to our attention. We are very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to address your experience further, and have sent you an email with additional details. Thank you again for your comments and for staying with us. Sincerely, Connie D... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is right at the entrance to the French Quarter. It has a great location and wonderful views. Rooms are old, dirty and in need of refurbishing. Left at 7 am, came back at 5 pm - room not cleaned and no new towels. Vent in bathroom full of dust, carpets were gross! Rated WAY TOO high. This is... More 

Helpful?
Thank fee1013
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear fee1013, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience. I am pleased to note that you found our location to be conveniently located. However, I am sorry to hear the troubles you had during your visit. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on room condition. We deeply regret the negative experience and impressions you had... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

934 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (575)
Viewed
Room/suite (131)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (83)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (259)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (287)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Junior Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (46)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (12)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (25)
Viewed
Standard King Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,246 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,066 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#19 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#34 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Compared to the more evocative monikers of some other parts of New Orleans, the downtown’s humdrum title might suggest that this area is all about business and little else. But don’t let the bland name keep you away from the Central Business District. The CBD offers a wide range of fun things to do that would be touted as exceptional in less jubilant corners of the world. Bordered by the French Quarter, the Arts District and Tremé, with the river at its eastern extreme, this hub for sports, gaming, shopping, theatre, family-friendly activities, and amazing regional cuisine makes a smart base wherever your interests lie.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay