We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Save
Share
739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130-2309
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
CrownePlaza.com
$109
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/27/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
getaroom.com
$118
$96
View Deal
SAVE $22
Booking.com$109
Priceline
travelup.com$118
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (481)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (318)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#121 of 178 hotels in New Orleans
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! Select from the renovated Astor Tower or historic Alexa Tower. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. Valet parking is available at $42 per day and oversized vehicles at $52 per day. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
2,255Reviews70Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 811
  • 682
  • 398
  • 205
  • 159
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
EllieS wrote a review Feb 9
3 contributions
The hotel is in an excellent location if you're looking to party on Bourbon street. The hotel itself is pretty; it has a very New Orleans feel to it. I had no issues with the staff - they were very kind, and were in good spirits. But this hotel honestly lacked SO MANY basic necessities most hotels should have. -They have no microwave downstairs. For someone with dietary restrictions, I have to bring my food with me a lot of times. I asked if they had one in an employee lounge or something, they said no and that was that. -You'd also think for a city thats known for partying that they'd have refrigerators in the rooms so their guests can put their waters or whatever drinks in there, but again, no. -From what I saw, there were no places in the hotel to buy water if you needed - no water fountains too. Luckily, my friends and I thought smart and packed 50 bottles but I feel like that is definitely a basic necessity. -The bathrooms definitely need a boost. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of our rooms when we arrived, but our bathrooms had rust and mold and wasn't pleasant. -Lastly, the sheets. Good Lord those things feel like paper! Absolutely horrendous quality. I could not get comfortable on those beds. I'm guessing with COVID, situations may be different but I feel this hotel needs some updating! I have to applaud the valet men because they handle that chaos with perfection! And they're so nice!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: This is a busy busy busy hotel - not for if you want peace and quiet
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Kenneth B wrote a review Jan 2021
Lafayette, Louisiana7 contributions1 helpful vote
Upon arriving, no one greeted me, held door open ... nothing. When I get to the desk and when the girl got around to it finally checked me in. I asked about the crack pipe gang smoking outside the hotel. This is the most horrible, horrible , horrible hotel that i have ever had the extreme displeasure of visiting. It's so bad, going to see if i can change my flight. This is bad. Plus, no coffee, no heat. Dirty. Don't come here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Trisha Lightell, Owner at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Kennethb662, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations. We understand how frustrating it is to have to deal with issues while trying to have a stress-free vacation, and we regret that we were not able to provide the level of service that you deserve. Rest assured the issues you have mentioned are being addressed. Should you ever find yourself back in town, please give us a chance to show you that our product and service can live up to your expectations.
Read more
Jeremy D wrote a review Dec 2020
Thibodaux, Louisiana4 contributions6 helpful votes
I booked three rooms for family on a Saturday night for a family function the next morning. After check in, we went up to our rooms to find that one of the rooms had such a strong stench to cigarette/marijuana smoke that we could not stay. I brought it to the clerks attention and she was apologetic and switched the room without issue. We were hoping that would be the only issue but each of the three rooms had complaints of noise. Two of the rooms had constant loud guest constantly walking the corridors and one room had noisy plumbing (toilets flushing and running water). Not only was I bothered by the noisy guest, I was unable to get sleep from the noisy rumbling of the elevators (not a slight noise, it was a loud vehicle engine rumble each time the elevator was used). I'm sure if I would have complained I could have switched rooms but I was not trying to switch rooms at late night with luggage and an infant. Also its worth mentioning that the 3 rooms were spread out and on two different floors but all had noise issues. Needless to say, all of family in the three rooms got little to no sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
JocFlo wrote a review Oct 2020
Chicago, Illinois32 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in early October. The conditions during our stay were unique not only because of COVID but also because the hotel was providing housing for residents who were displaced due to Hurricane Laura. Many of those residents would place their folding chairs outside of the hotel to gather, and just within the entrance was a desk for Red Cross, as well as emergency personnel situated off the lobby as well. We were pleased that there was a security guard stationed near the entrance checking for hotel keys. We weren’t aware of these unique circumstances before arriving, but we would be out and about most of the time anyway. It didn’t affect our stay except for when I needed to speak to the front desk and there was only one agent, who was in a conversation with a Red Cross worker for about 10 minutes before I just interrupted them to get assistance quickly for a question I had. Another downside was that housekeeping would only come every 2-3 days and just because of timing, we arrived on Wednesday and would be due for housekeeping on Friday, but because of Hurricane Delta scheduled to hit Louisiana, housekeeping would not be providing service that Friday. And housekeeping doesn’t work on weekends at all. That said, we never got housekeeping service the entire stay we were there, since our checkout was on Monday. We were able to request towels, toilet paper, etc. from the front desk when needed. The room itself was fine - bathroom and room were large enough. The king bed was comfortable, and we had a view facing Canal Street. (We stayed in the Astor tower, 14th floor.) The one thing we did end up buying were air fresheners because there was some musty odor in the room. Each morning my husband would Febreeze the room to help with the smell. They did provide ear plugs in our room as a courtesy because of the possible street noise, which we didn’t need. The location was great!! Since it’s on the corner of Bourbon and Canal, we could easily walk through the French Quarter to get to all the restaurants as well as Jackson Square, the French Market and Harrah’s Casino. The St. Charles Streetcar stop is just across the street, which we used to visit the Garden District. It only costs $1.25 a ride, and I was able to get change from the front desk. Most everything is walkable from the hotel (if you don’t mind walking, like my husband and I don’t.) It is also conveniently located by a CVS and Walgreens, so we were able to buy bottled water and snacks. Since room service and the pool were out of service because of the pandemic, I can’t say anything about these. Overall, it was a good, comfortable stay. We did get a good deal from another travel site ($600 for 5 nights). Please be aware that they put an extra $300 hold on my card for security, so I guess that’s $60 per night. It was returned back to the card after our stay. Thanks for the stay...we hope to visit New Orleans again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Responded Nov 9, 2020
Hello JocFlo, Thank you for allowing us the chance to host you and for taking the time to write us candid review. I'm glad that you found the location to your liking and that you're pleased with the comfort of the bedding. However, I'm sorry to read about the issues encountered during your stay particularly with the limited services, closed facilities, and the unusual smell of the room. As our guest we want to ensure you have great impressions all around and we appreciate you sharing your experience. I have shared your feedback with the hotel management and Housekeeping. I am certain that steps will be taken to avoid similar situations from happening again. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future! Best, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Tiffany wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I enjoyed staying here last year but this year was not the same. Upon arrival we noticed several people sitting in front of the hotel in lawn chairs. Later found out they are Lake Charles evacuees. Red Cross was set up in the lobby, the business center was not functional, the concierge desk was a medical area for evacuees, and there was a constant flow of people all over. And at night it was so much going on you almost didn't want to walk through the crowd to enter the hotel. We're not talking the normal touristy crowd. It would have been nice to have advanced notice of the current situation at the hotel. If I were traveling solo I would have had serious pause. And we actually checked out a night early due to the discomfort. The hotel was in decent shape but hotel services were still in COVID-19 status and we did not have our room cleaned any of the 3 nights there. I think next time we will try a different location as this trip left a bad taste.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Responded Oct 21, 2020
Hi Bmoreliketiff, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a candid review. I was very concerned to read your comments regarding the business center, the crowd, and comfort. I understand your dismay and I am sorry. This is not the way we help our guest recharge and be inspired. I will make sure to share your comments with our team for the necessary improvements needed on our end. I appreciate you as our guest and I still hope you would give us another chance in the future. Orlando A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
astor crowne plaza, crowne plaza new orleans
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansCentral Business District / Warehouse/Central Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
693
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans?
Nearby attractions include Clue Carre - New Orleans' First Live Escape Game (0.2 miles), The Escape Game New Orleans (0.2 miles), and The Sazerac House (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mambo's, GW Fins, and Olde Nola Cookery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of New Orleans.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Our Sacred Stories (0.3 miles), Hermann-Grima House (0.2 miles), and Longue Vue House and Gardens (3.6 miles).
Is Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.