We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel

Save
Share
817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
4 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$101
View deal
Renaissance Hotels$101
Booking.com$101
Hotels.com$101
Travelocity$101
Priceline$101
FindHotel$101
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (457)
Room & Suite (155)
Dining (13)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#86 of 177 hotels in New Orleans
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1601Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 599
  • 617
  • 223
  • 91
  • 71
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Peter N wrote a review Yesterday
Madison, Wisconsin6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We got married in NOLA on 5-14. Our party of 30 all stayed at the Renaissance Pere Marquette and we make a great choice. The location is fantastic. The rooms we were clean. All reservations were correct. Megan Wolf in Sales worked with us and the weekend was perfect. Highly recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
paul wrote a review Jul 2022
Perrysburg, Ohio4 contributions
This place tries. The people are nice and helpful. I travel constantly with Marriott and to be honest, when you spend 300k on points to stay at a Renaissance, well you are expecting a Renaissance. Room was fine, but not the upgrade I had requested, was told I had on the app, only to find out I did not have an upgrade. Not a big deal, but again you expect so much from a Renaissance. There is no pool. No concierge lounge. I love the lounge especially when traveling with family. They told me of the “VIP room”. It is a coffee maker and free waters in a room. The hotel bar is only open for what I felt was 30 mins. Again, had an outstanding young as a bartender but had a drink, went to dinner, came back 90 mins later (9:00p) and it is closed. Sorry not more positive but this place could be awesome.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sherpa61356568713, On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your review and for being a loyal Marriott Bonvoy Rewards member. Please accept our sincere apology for the disappointing experience, and regret not meeting your expectations. We hope you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you on a future visit and provide you with the excellent customer service that you should have experienced during your recent stay. Best regards, Michael Rosenberg Director of Room Operations
Read more
jamwin10 wrote a review Jul 2022
Thornhill, Canada34 contributions46 helpful votes
The reason I didn't give it a 5 star is because the bathroom needs a little upgrade. It looks nice but wall paper starting to fall apart and chrome starting to rust in places. That being said I would highly recommend this place. We were there for a wedding and everything was great. One thing I need to point out is according to some reviews there is a pool. There is NO pool at this hotel. This might have changed our minds about staying here in the summer as I honestly have never experienced this type of humidity. I need to give a huge shout out to the guy at the concierge. I apologize for not remembering his name but he greets everyone with a hello and how was your day and is really there to help you out in any way you can. (someone needs to give him a raise!) The bed was very comfortable. Thanks for a nice stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Paul T wrote a review Jul 2022
Boca Raton, Florida220 contributions84 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights, room and service was great, using next doors restaurant for breakfast with voucher. Older building but very well kept lobby and rooms. No car, we used Uber from Airport, which most economical as no car needed down town. Staff was very friendly and helpful with our needs.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: request higher level room with upgrade
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Paul T, Thank you for your kind review and all the fantastic things you had to say about our one-of-a-kind boutique hotel. Your comments about our convenient location, accommodations, and thoughtful amenities were a pleasure to read, and we are excited to share them with our excellent staff. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to having you stay with us here at the Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel again. Best regards, Michael Rosenberg Director of Room Operations
Read more
David T wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I had a terrible experience here. The hotel is run down and dated and not friendly. The rooms are small and worn. If you are a regular Marriott traveler used to a concierge lounge or fresh coffee - there is none to be found here. I love Marriotts - just not this one, which is not at all up to the standards at a Renassiance. I scheduled a 6 night stay and with 24 hours notice had to shorten it to 4 nights. Even though I have Marriott rewards at a high level, had paid for 4 nights and gave them 24 hours notice, the hotel refused to budge on charging me a 5th night as a penalty because that is their "policy." If you are expecting friendliness or flexibility, this hotel is a very poor choice. They simply want to squeeze every last dollar out of you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear R9940DNdavidt, We appreciate you being a Marriott Bonvoy Rewards member and the detailed feedback about your stay with us. We are always looking for ways to improve, and your comments have been noted for our future plans in developing the property. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and regret the issues you had with the resevation. We will review your comments with our team. We are grateful for your business. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you with a seamless stay. Best regards, Michael Rosenberg Director of Room Operations
Read more
Damool wrote a review Jun 2022
Melbourne, Australia23 contributions22 helpful votes
The location is excellent - away from noise, close to the action, public transport and eating options. Rooms are spacious. BUT - the air conditioner would make a mechanical noise that woke me regularly during the night. My last night I was awake from 03:00. I was disappointed with the hotel reaction.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: If the air conditioner is noisy - request a room change immediately
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kitty75080 wrote a review Jun 2022
dallas45 contributions45 helpful votes
Staff was amazing! Not a bad thing to say about anyone from doorman to bartender to concierge. Rooms a bit outdated and could use a facelift. Ambassador level so I ordered extra toiletries, etc thru the app 2 days before arrival, those items were not fulfilled neither was my suite awards upgrade used. I would eat somewhere else other than the Tacklebox restaurant on the property. Ordered the shrimp scampi, the pasta was way overcooked and drowning in parmesan. Quiet location so you dont hear all the riff raff after hours like the hotels facing Bourbon St.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Room Tip: stayed on the 19th floor, nice city view and quiet
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Responded Jun 16, 2022
Dear kitty75080, Thank you for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador Elite member and for your review of Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel. We are glad to know you were pleased with our courteous associates and prime location. However, we are sorry for not meeting some of your expectations and that you felt our rooms needed updating. We will research and address the concerns you raised as we are continually striving to ensure a flawless visit for every guest. Meanwhile, your feedback regarding the food we serve has been noted and shared accordingly. We hope to see you again soon, and we wish you all the best with your travels. Best regards, Michael Rosenberg Director of Room Operations
Read more
BethArnold wrote a review Jun 2022
Little Rock, Arkansas36 contributions51 helpful votes
I stayed at this hotel in April, 2022. It was really the first time since Covid that my husband and I had traveled for fun. The hotel was tired and lacked sparkle or charm in a city full of it. Our room was okay not great. It was almost impossible to get an iced coffee from the bar or room service or from anywhere in the hotel on the afternoon we were looking for one. An employee whose job I don't think it was finally came through for us. We enjoyed the location of the hotel. The biggest problem was when I was checking out. I had booked our room with Points & Cash. I knew what the amount would be for my two day stay, but when I checked out I was charged some other rate. It was as if my reservation made no difference. I brought this up with the woman at the desk who handed me my bill. (I'm glad I asked for a paper copy and actually read it.) She referred me to another woman, who after lots of talk and a trip to the manager's office, told me that they'd look into it. What! I was standing right there, and they're going to get back to me about this?! Good thing I had the email with me and produced it. I told her I wanted to speak to the manager, who finally appeared. I finally got satisfaction but it took a lot more effort and argument for them to do the right thing and change my bill. Terrible customer service. The manager eventually also took our parking off the bill to try to make up for being charged the wrong amount and then the Customer Service not doing what they should have done immediately. But why did I have to deal with such a mistake to begin with? Be sure to check your bill when you stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Responded Jun 11, 2022
Dear BethArnold, It pains me to hear that you encountered such service during your stay. You deserve nothing less than our absolute best. I hope you will accept, on behalf of myself and the entire team, our sincerest apologies for not only providing you with inadequate accommodations but also failing to fully rectify the situation right away. I assure you your words have not fallen on deaf ears and we are truly grateful for your thoughts and patience as we work to improve upon the level of quality and hospitality we deliver. Thank you again for your time; you have our assurance that we will address your comments appropriately. Best regards, Michael Rosenberg Director of Room Operations
Read more
John G wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom24 contributions14 helpful votes
Great location - average service. Because of the location the Hotel doesn't have to work too hard. Asked where I can get a pass for the Street Car and was told "I don't know haven't taken it for years" no attempt to help. Coffee Shop that doesn't open until 7am and then the service is slow. We paid for an upgraded room and was old this consisted of a seating area in the room - this consisted of an arm chair! On the 17th floor there is a window/door by the lift that is a hazard and with moderate force this could be pushed through, and cause fatality.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The upgraded room with seating area offers limited value - you just get an armchair!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Dear John G, We appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. We are grateful for your thoughts on this matter and also for your patience. Thank you for your time; you have our assurance that we will address your comments appropriately. Best regards, Michael Rosenberg Director of Room Operations
Read more
RKP wrote a review May 2022
Fort Lauderdale, Florida224 contributions238 helpful votes
Check in was quick but was not given a very good room even though I asked for an upgrade that I'm entitled to. I checked into my standard room (which was fine and clean) and called down to see what they could do for something better. They were indeed able to move me with the understanding that I'd check out early the following day. I had to anyway. I definitely appreciate the honesty of staff on expectations and they definitely met mine. I then had a suite that was not only very nice it was just cool! Very swanky feeling but also quite modern with quirky touches. It was an instagram moment. Overall the hotel is very nice and there are many room layouts. It is a historic property and has a nice little lounge with water and coffee and snacks. Easy to walk to the quarter as well as the warehouse district. Very nice stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Some rooms have cool views of the church rooftop and quarter rooftops.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$120 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
renaissance new orleans, new orleans renaissance
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansCentral Business District / Warehouse/Central Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
275
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Clue Carre - New Orleans' First Live Escape Game (0.1 miles), The Sazerac House (0.3 miles), and Immaculate Conception Church (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
What food & drink options are available at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include GW Fins, Criollo Restaurant, and Olde Nola Cookery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of New Orleans.
Are any cleaning services offered at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hermann-Grima House (0.4 miles), Longue Vue House and Gardens (3.5 miles), and Beauregard-Keyes House (0.8 miles).
Is Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.