We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles

936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-3904
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
View Deal
View Deal
SAVE $19
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (225)
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (154)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 09/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles
Updated 09/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#118 of 177 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Whether you know us as Big Easy, the Birth Place of Jazz, or the Crescent City, New Orleans and The Holiday Inn Express New Orleans St. Charles welcome you. Our hotel is in the heart of the Warehouse Arts District, just steps away from the National World War II Museum, Ogden Museum of Southern Art, and the St. Charles Avenue Streetcar. Within a 10-minute walk, you can immerse yourself in the menagerie of the French Quarter, the historic Garden District, and the Riverwalk Marketplace. Sports fans will enjoy being blocks away from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome and Smoothie King Center, while our business travelers will have easy access getting to and from the Ernest N. Morial New Orleans Convention Center, Tulane Medical Center, and LSU Health Sciences Center.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Business Center with Internet Access
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
1,138Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 411
  • 342
  • 204
  • 97
  • 84
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Majedma10 wrote a review Mar 2020
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia434 contributions50 helpful votes
Clean and nice room. WiFi is good & speed. Reception staff are nice and helpful. The corridor light is so shiny and it very annoying when go to bed and turn room lights off and you still see light coming under the room door. Also, you can here all sounds from in corridor & next rooms. Hotel around 20 minutes walk from French quarter but it is next to the WWII museum. It is also, close to the garden district. Airport is around 25 minutes drive and it will cost around 35$.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Response from AmyLynnPelaez, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles
Responded Apr 23, 2020
Dear Majedma10, We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, minus some distractions light corridor lights. I will be sure to bring this up to my Maintenance team so that we can correct this issue for our guests. Feedback such as yours helps us to constantly improve. We appreciate your feedback and your business ,and hope if your travels find you back in New Orleans, we can have the opportunity to earn your business once again!
Read more
Susan J wrote a review Mar 2020
Midway, GA28 contributions9 helpful votes
This hotel is located on St. Charles trolley that will take you to the Garden District or to downtown New Orleans. There you can transfer to another trolley to the French Quarter. Perfect Location. The WWII Museum is in the next block and the Ogden Museum is next door. The staff are exceptionally helpful and the concierge, Geoff, was knowledgeable about tours and places of interest. There is a wonderful neighborhood bar in a house that is on the Historic Register. The breakfast was varied each morning and the coffee and juices were good. I assumed the hotel is being remodeled because the framing around the bathroom door was not installed and bathroom exhaust fan did not work. But the only major issue was housekeeping. It was sporadic and we had to search for clean towels etc. Apparently, they were training new staff during our stay and unfortunately the new folks spoke no English so communication was difficult.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the trolley and Lee Circle. There were noises at night.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from AmyLynnPelaez, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles
Responded Apr 23, 2020
Dear Susan J, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations or our own standards in regards to Housekeeping services. We were, in fact, training new staff during this time, and we are sorry that our team was not able to accommodate your requests. We are delighted to hear that Geoff, our concierge, was helpful during your stay. We appreciate you mentioning our team by name, and we appreciate your feedback. We take our guests comments to heart, and will be sure to correct the issues you indicated so we can better service our guests. We thank you, again!
Read more
Susan H wrote a review Mar 2020
Tacoma, Washington1,984 contributions274 helpful votes
Had a good stay here during Mardi Gras. The hotel is right on the parade route for a number of the parades making it very convenient. They also offer a raised area you can use to watch the parades for a $25 fee pp. it was well worth the fee as you can come and go to your room and still have a good spot to view the action. Much better than standing on the streets. Note this is a standing platform with no seats. As for the hotel itself we were pleased. The staff was amazing! They were very friendly and attentive! Our room was good. It was a bit small but it was clean and recently updated. The complimentary breakfast included biscuits and gravy, eggs, meats, breads, oatmeal, cereals, yogurts, pancakes, and more. It was good; although the room the food is located in is a very small and cramped area. The eating area was very comfortable with a number of tables. They also have an on site concierge who was very helpful and friendly. He has quite the sense of humor!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from AmyLynnPelaez, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles
Responded Apr 23, 2020
Dear 577SusanH, We are thrilled you chose our hotel during your Mardi Gras trip! We know you have options, and are glad that you had a great experience while staying with us during such a great time in the city! Thank you for mentioning our complimentary hot breakfast and our team members for making your stay memorable! While some of our rooms are a bit more cozy than some other locations, we believe our location is perfect for the traveling guest! We thank you for your business!
Read more
SRJ wrote a review Mar 2020
New Orleans, Louisiana13 contributions4 helpful votes
This hotel does not serve breakfast until 7am which is a bit late for someone traveling on business. Room coffee is not very good and 24 hour coffee downstairs isn’t replenished until just before 7 so if you like decent coffee to start you’re day, you will have to wait or walk a quite a ways. My room on the second floor took a long time to get hot water and it didn’t get very hot. The beds are super comfortable and the staff is very nice. It’s not the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in, but coffee and an earlier breakfast are important to me so I would not choose this place again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Response from IHGService, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles
Responded Mar 18, 2020
Hello 924saraj, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. I would like to start by apologizing to you for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We take feedback seriously, thus, we have shared with General Manager and our restaurant and maintenance teams about the concerns you raised, particularly the schedule of the breakfast buffet and availability of coffee, as well as the lack of heat in the shower in the room you stayed. We know that this is important to you, and it is our commitment to provide transparent, efficient and friction less experiences for guests and making the necessary changes would help us provide a better experience for you in the future. On the other hand, we are thankful that you enjoyed the comfortable bed and the service that our staff had provided during your stay. This will go a long way in helping us keep up with our guests, like you, who look for brilliant basics and seamless experiences who need a simple, engaging place to rest, recharge and get a little work done. I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. We look forward to hosting your stay in the future. Hector P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Jamie K wrote a review Feb 2020
Melbourne, Australia4 contributions9 helpful votes
The breakfast is below average and mostly yellow, and it's awful that a chain this big uses entirely disposable items to serve it (disposable coffee cups, plastic knives and forks, paper plates etc.). So much rubbish and they don't seem to have any recycling system - it's 2020 come on IHG buy a dishwasher! When I emailed the chain asking about this they replied once with a copy-paste reply and then didn't respond again so they definitely don't care. They have the "greenleaders - bronze level" here on tripadvisor which is laughable. We moved rooms due to broken curtain, broken tv and a broken aircon in the hallway that was so loud outside the door. When I rang to tell the desk, the phone was also broken. The hotel is badly designed, the doors have large clasps on them that bang violently, and when anyone nearby shuts a door the bed literally shakes. The bathroom has vent for exhaust but no fan, the shower has rubbish pressure and one of the showers I had there was no hot water. The cleaning team have loud conversations early in the morning (7am one morning) across the hall that will wake you up. Every day. The bed was insanely comfortable. One point for that and one point for Jarmel at the front desk, they were literally the only two things we liked about this place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles
Responded Mar 14, 2020
Hi JKMelb, We rely on you, our valued guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I am happy to read you liked the comfort of our bed and I'm glad you enjoyed your interaction with our front desk team. We invite joy in everything we do and make sure that everything always works. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret the issues with the general upkeep of the bed and amenities as well as the bothersome noise levels. We want you to be comfortable when staying with us, I have forwarded your comment to the housekeeping and mainenance department to monitor and improve the services continually. Again, thanks for your feedback and visit. Please come back soon, we'd like to show you our improvements. Best, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
$94 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
le cirque new orleans, le cirque hotel, hotel le cirque new orleans
The Hotel Modern
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansArts District / Warehouse District / Central Business District / Warehouse/Central Business District
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles?
Nearby attractions include The National WWII Museum (0.10 miles), Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.06 miles), and Memorial Hall Confederate Civil War Museum (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and a concierge.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mais Arepas, Bittersweet Confections, and Desi Vega's.
Is Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of New Orleans.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Our Sacred Stories (1.0 miles), Hermann-Grima House (1.0 miles), and Longue Vue House and Gardens (3.8 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.