We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
New Orleans
Post
Inbox
Search

Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans

Save
212 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112-2009
Visit hotel website
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Agoda.com$109
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (10)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (2)

About

#146 of 174 hotels in New Orleans
Location
Service
Value
The hotel features 190 studios, studio efficiencies, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites in the midst of the medical district. Each suite is casual and flexible, with separate bedroom and living areas and space for the kids or for spreading out as you prepare for that important meeting. Fully equipped kitchens let you dine or snack, in privacy and under budget.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Suites
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals
Compare More Popular Hotels
AMENITIES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
ACCOMMODATION CLASS
3 stars
2 stars
3 stars
3 stars
LOCATION
Warehouse/Central Business District
11.6 miles to Louis Armstrong Intl Airport
0.6 miles to The National WWII Museum
Warehouse/Central Business District
11.7 miles to Louis Armstrong Intl Airport
0.6 miles to The National WWII Museum
Warehouse/Central Business District
11.7 miles to Louis Armstrong Intl Airport
0.6 miles to French Quarter
Warehouse/Central Business District
11.5 miles to Louis Armstrong Intl Airport
0.7 miles to French Quarter
REVIEWS
5Reviews0Q+A0Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
I gotta say, we had an absolute blast and will without a doubt, be back! We ended up spending more time at the hotel than had planned, which is great for a family vacation. We were in town for the Rock N' Roll marathon weekend. The Sonesta ES was perfectly situated. 10 minute walk to downtown French Quarter, 10 minute walk to race start, 10 minute walk to the Super Dome (our room had a sweet view of the dome which was a great surprise for a saints fan from New England!) Anyway, the hotel staff was fantastic! From the moment my wife and I stepped foot in the door, we were treated like family. When we arrived they were putting the finishing touches on the final stages of major renovation and getting ready for their red carpet Grand Opening (which we ended up invited to, see family!). The rooms were clean and HUGE for the price. Little hiccups here and there (missing light bulbs in a lamp, missing shower curtain, etc.) were to be expected as again this is a new hotel and did not impede on us having a good time. We politely let the front desk know and went on with our day. The beds are incredibly comfortable. We were lucky enough to reserve all 3 rooms types (efficiency, one bedroom and two bedroom) and we were pleasantly surprised with the size in all 3. The rooms used to be apartments from what I am told so they are rather spacious. The showers were a little weird as they didn't have doors or shower curtains. Ours had a single pane of glass that went from the wall to half the tub. The rest was just open. I assume this is just a style thing. We really enjoyed the public spaces offered by this hotel. One night rather than going downtown, we picked up some beverages, ordered some pizzas and hung out on the rooftop. It is a perfect area to chill. They even hung up some patio lights to make it a great evening spot. Breakfast was fine. Nothing to write home about but a good variety. The oatmeal was a personal favorite. The coffee is delicious! Not sure if they partnered with PJ's coffee of NOLA but it was always hot and delicious.It was available all day in "the Nest." Apparently. corporate changed the hours of breakfast, cutting off PROMPTLY at 830 during the week. For a city that thrives on night life, trying to get up at 730am to make sure you get some breakfast can be a little rough. And the breakfast staff takes the 830 cutoff seriously :) If there was one thing I would suggest to the hotel, it is to do a standard breakfast 6a-10a or something so that people can partake in the late night festivities of the town and still get a meal in the morning. We ended up just going downtown most days since we didn't get up in time. Popped my head into the fitness center and it seemed alright if your looking for a quick workout. We opted to go for a run down Canal (only a block away) and along the waterfront instead.
Read more
Response from Laura A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the amenities we offer. Breakfast did end at 8:30am for one week and we have already adjusted the time. Breakfast is now 6:30-9:00am during the week and 7:30-10:00am on the weekends. I hope you had success at the marathon and will come back and see us again next year.
Read more
+1
Nope. Nope. Nope. Never ever again. My first sign should've been the people complaining about the breakfast when heading to my room. But no, I spent 3 days here anyways. Let's start with the pros: Within 10 mins of Bourbon st./French Quarter/Mercedes Benz center. Not as expensive at about $129 per night. Breakfast () is included. Rooms are spacious. Cons: No electricity in the front half of the hotel room, so unless you leave the oven light on, you're walking in to darkness. The coffee make had an old coffee bag in it, and mold in the actual pot(along with old coffee). The last night there, the toilet began to leak (I was offered towels to soak it up or a room change. It was after midnight and I had a 7am flight so I declined the room change, but I did receive a partial refund). Water in the shower did NOT get hot unless you used the cold switch. The biggest plus was the location and the customer service. Everyone that helped us or greeted us was so polite, and with it being a new hotel, I understand that there will be some hiccups. Does that mean I'll stay again? Probably.
Read more
Response from Laura A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay. We will use your feedback to fine tune our operations to ensure this does not happen to our future guests. We do hope you will come back and give us another opportunity.
Read more
We just stayed here to see some of the Mardi Gras stuff. We had 4 adults and the room was set up like a one bedroom and a living room separate. PROS: the free breakfast included was delicious. It was more like a buffet which is more than I’ve ever had at any other free hotel breakfast. It included scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, oatmeal, cereal, pancakes, yogurt, and some kind of fruit/bread. Not bad for free! I loved that check out was noon as well so we got to sleep in and breakfast went until 10am. You also didn’t have to check out the car until 2 so we got to go eat lunch and shop before coming back to get the car to leave. This hotel is pretty much within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. The furthered point was Cafe Du Monde but even that was only 20ish min of walking. The king bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in.. ever!! The room had basically a full kitchen which was nice to have but we didn’t really use. This hotel had a pretty terrace on the third floor with a grill and nice chairs. CONS: The other two of our guest slept on a pull out couch which was to say the least.. not great. They only had one pillow and blanket in the room and ready for it even though we booked the room for 4 adults. They also had no sheets so we had to go get all this from the front desk. Not a big deal but annoying. Parking is also $38 a day and can be confusing because it’s not the garage that is right next to the hotel so make sure you get everything out of your car! The downstairs public restrooms are closed so you have to use the public ones on the second floor gym. Not a huge deal but I wish they would have told us in advance. I came downstairs once to use the restroom and then had to go back upstairs since they were closed. When we first arrived the poor girl at the front desk was so overwhelmed with the people in line. Not her fault at all but I do think they should have an additional person to help with guest check in. The manager attempted to come help her but couldn’t sign into a computer so it was pointless. The staff sometimes didn’t have the answers to my questions or seemed to lack knowledge about some things. I was originally told the gym with the bathrooms was on the 3rd floor but it is definitely on the 2nd. We were also told when we arrived that a parade was going to go down that street that night... it didn’t. And when asked about vehicle check out times and additional blankets they didn’t have answers. Also as far as breakfast goes, although delicious... they ran out of things a lot which left us waiting quite a bit. I definitely think the kitchen was not staffed enough for the volume of people they were feeding. I think my biggest complaint was that the only bathroom in our room was in the master bedroom. So for our friends using the bathroom or showering they had to come through our room. That layout to me just seems weird that it wouldn’t be off the living room or something .. or that they would have their own bathroom. Overall, nice hotel. Clean and roomy. Had some flaws but what hotel doesn’t? The price was right and we enjoyed our stay. Nothing was so awful that I wouldn’t stay here again. I absolutely would!
Read more
Response from Laura A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your response. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. There are two parades that will run in front of the hotel this year but they will not be until the last week of the month. I am sorry for the issues you ran into during your stay and we will use your feedback to improve our operations. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Really nice hotel within walking distance to Tulane, Smoothie King Center, the Superdome, and the French Quarter. The rooms were huge, included a long high-top diner table, and an actual exhaust fan in the bathroom! The staff was very nice and accommodating and the complimentary breakfast was good. They have an automated pancake making machine which was pretty cool. All you had to do was put in how many pancakes you wanted and the machine would roll them out. You didn’t have to mess with the pancake batter like a sucker either! I don’t know if this was because it’s a new hotel, but I was able to book my room for $39 per night on Hotwire.
Read more
Response from Laura A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come back to see us again soon.
Read more
We stayed at this hotel for the CFP National Championship. It is in a great location and easily walkable to the French Quarter and Superdome. It opened a week before the game. The rooms that were finished were comfortable and were all suites although the hardware had been hurriedly put together. The toilet seat in our bath was loose and the closet doors did not close completly. The elevators were dirty and only two were operable. It appeared construction was still ongoing and some floors where the elevator stopped were dirty and full of construction debris. Breakfast is included but was nothing special. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions. I would wait a few more months before visiting but it shows promise.
Read more
Response from Laura A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback helps us to improve our operations so we can ensure future guests have the best experience possible. We still have about two more weeks of construction left and we are very excited for the end result.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$158 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew Orleans
NUMBER OF ROOMS
190
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans
Which popular attractions are close to Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans?
Nearby attractions include Clue Carre - New Orleans' First Live Escape Game (0.2 miles), Immaculate Conception Church (0.2 miles), and Saenger Theatre (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans?
Conveniently located restaurants include Roosevelt Hotel Bar, Hobnobbers Varieties Bar, and The Ruby Slipper Cafe, French Quarter.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of New Orleans.
Are pets allowed at Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Our Sacred Stories (0.4 miles), Hermann-Grima House (0.5 miles), and Longue Vue House and Gardens (3.3 miles).
Is Sonesta ES Suites New Orleans accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.