We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL

Save
Share
1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$159
View Deal
Free cancellation until 02/28/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Snaptravel
$178
$89
View Deal
SAVE $89
lovevacations$178
eDreams$159
Agoda.com$153
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (549)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (325)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL
Updated 04/27/20

About

#139 of 177 hotels in New Orleans
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. We are close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans. The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities. Hotel amenities, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies, and free WiFi. On site features include: outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Buffet Style Breakfast and Valet Parking available
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Fax / photocopying
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1,284Reviews43Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 360
  • 401
  • 238
  • 156
  • 129
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
PirateJim6956 wrote a review Aug 2020
Ridgetop, Tennessee88 contributions15 helpful votes
we liked so much about this place.The location,the courtyard areas,and did I mention the location?Old hotel without all of the newer hotel amenities,but we enjoyed our stay and will stay again.Frequent traveler to New Orleans and have stayed many places.For the price it can't be beat.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
hanna01721 wrote a review Jul 2020
Miami, Florida19 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
This place and staff does not even deserve 1 star. We booked this place through Priceline. Our first trip to New Orleans. First off place has locks on every gate. (Clear to see it was a bad ghetto area). We go to the main lobby door and it is locked. After knocking and waiting for 3 min a man come out and says “checking in? Come this way” okkk well a sign to go to the side entrance would of been helpful. Anyways, we check in. He said “yes we have a room available for early check in” great we thought. He went over the rules: non smoking and no pets. Breakfast to go is $9.99 per person and $25 a night for parking which you will need because the security guard “which was smoking while working told us “ the safest place to park on this side” which was a bad sign. Well the owner or whoever checked us in gave us the room key and off we went. The hotel is dirty in the outside. Missing AC covers, missing covers on the elevator. The room was PURE DISGUSTING!!!! Women’s hygiene liner on the closer door. Smelled like pure smoke. Dirty finger prints ALL OVER THE WALLS. Dirty unvacuumed carpet. The bathroom light didn’t turn on. An open used soap. Dirty shower. Loose outlet/light covers. Towel rod was replaced but did not bother to paint over the old area. Not one good thing about this place. I immediately called Priceline because they choose this hotel for us. They Informed us that we had to contact the front office. Ask called the office for us and I believe she spoke with Trey, the manager. He said he will not refund both nights. Only the second. The first night he refused because we had already checked in and it was past the 30 min which is BS because I have the message I sent my husband about the room number and the time I called Priceline. Priceline Informed is that they would refund the second night and security deposit but we had to go to the hotel and check out. I walked in and Trey had the nerve to say “how is a everything, how can I assist you”? So I showed him the photos and I told him “how is this acceptable? You are charging us the first night for a room like this? His exactly words were “sorry the rooms weren’t up to your standards” I told him “sir a feminine hygiene liner on the wall is ok? Used soap??? Etc I processed to show him the photos again and all he said “all are rooms and cleaned daily. I will speak to the cleaning lady. I told him “so you think it’s fair to charge for a room in the condition? And he said “he can’t refund both nights so that’s when I told him “no worries, I will be going online to every place that has you listed and I will be posting a review along with photos. He did nothing to try and fix the situation or refund for the lack of cleaningness and it professionalism.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, General Manager at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL
Responded Jul 29, 2020
Dear Hanna, Guest feedback is always appreciated and welcome as it helps us continually improve our services and property. Many travelers commend our efforts to provide clean, comfortable accommodations at an affordable rate for our unbeatable location. We're very sorry that we failed to deliver the stay that you expected. Your remarks will be discussed internally so that we can ensure a better experience for our future guests. As your travels continue, we wish you all the best.
Read more
Stellaandthomas wrote a review Jul 2020
Orlando, Florida96 contributions29 helpful votes
We wanted to stay one night with our family and dog. The staff was friendly and room was great for our family and dog. Pet area was small but we made it work. We stayed one night and had some many cockroaches that we had to get up at 4:30am and leave. Couldn’t stay any longer. I mentioned to front desk when we left and no concern. We are from Florida so we know bugs happen but this was just lack of pest control. Our overnight trip was ruined.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL
Responded Jul 9, 2020
Dear Stella and Thomas, Thank you for your recent feedback. Our property undergoes routine maintenance for pests; however, considering your comments, we have contacted our pest service so that the matter is promptly addressed. That being said, we're glad you and your furry friend could find shelter with us, and we hope for another chance to impress you the next time you're in town.
Read more
Kentra T wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The staff I came into contact with (I'm forgetting names) including the older woman that works the morning shift handling breakfast and the Dominican brother that valets cars, was a pleasure to engage with. I got there the evening of March 12th and things were already chaotic due to the pandemic but I think the staff did the best they could. I enjoyed great conversations, they were responsive to my requests, and clearly willing to do their jobs despite the fact that they should not have been exposed to people.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Karen G wrote a review Apr 2020
Warwick, Rhode Island22 contributions12 helpful votes
I'm extremely disappointed in this property considering the national pandemic that's going on they refuse to issue an exception and credit me the three nights I had purchased for a cruise that we were going on which was canceled. They said that I can reschedule for another time however upon checking cruises they were no cruises that we wanted to take out of Louisiana and the next year. We tried to take a different vacation every year and not go back to someplace we've already been. I was well aware that the room was a nonrefundable room and under normal circumstances this room would have been used and there would not have been any problems however we are not under normal circumstances I did wind up calling the hotel back to see if there was a way that they would transfer the room to another property owns by the hotel RL group and I was told no because the hotel itself was privately owned so I had to go back to Louisiana in order to use the room. I feel in this day and age and the times that we are under if this is very bad business I'm disappointed in the booking agent I also used they are also not ethical and will not issue me a credit. When I called the hotel they told me they don't even have my money yet got the booking agent has my money still so when I called the booking agent back they told me they don't have my money so somebody's lying somebody's keeping my money and somebody is taking advantage of a very bad situation I've already filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and I plan on contacting the hotel RL group as well this is extremely bad business for everyone involved
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL
Responded Apr 9, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. It is regrettable that our policies were not to your preference, and that we could not assist you with your reservation. That being said, we ask that you reach out to the third-party site you booked with, as we have little control over reservations that are not booked with us directly. Should your travels bring you back our way, we hope for another opportunity to show you the quality we provide.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$87 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
maison st. charles hotel new orleans, quality inn new orleans
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansCentral City / Central City-Garden District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL
Which popular attractions are close to Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL?
Nearby attractions include The National WWII Museum (0.3 miles), Memorial Hall Confederate Civil War Museum (0.3 miles), and The Courtyard Brewery (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mais Arepas, French Truck Coffee, and Seed.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of New Orleans.
Are pets allowed at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Our Sacred Stories (1.3 miles), Hermann-Grima House (1.2 miles), and Longue Vue House and Gardens (3.8 miles).