We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Only 5 left at
$369
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Only 5 left at
$369
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Travelocity$369
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (470)
360
Panoramas (4)
Room & Suite (380)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 08/30/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from W New Orleans - French Quarter
Updated 08/30/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#103 of 178 hotels in New Orleans
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.2
Value
3.6
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Discover a vibrant oasis in the center of it all and find out how W New Orleans - French Quarter preserves the heart and soul of New Orleans. Experience our courtyard-style architecture nestled among cobblestone streets and historic buildings as you arrive at our hotel. Revel from our proximity to Jackson Square and Bourbon Street, and easy access to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome and Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. 3rd Block Depot Kitchen + Bar, our signature French Quarter restaurant, is home to our original Legs & Eggs Burlesque Brunch, where live entertainment and authentic Creole cuisine converge. Sweat off the night's indulgences in FIT®, our state-of-the-art gym, or linger poolside at the outdoor courtyard pool, WET®. Throughout, connect to our marque WHATEVER/WHENEVER® service, catering to your every desire and dream. After living it up in New Orleans, crash in our modern guest rooms and suites, some of which feature private balconies with picturesque views of the French Quarter.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1256Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 564
  • 322
  • 177
  • 108
  • 85
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nana W wrote a review Sep 2022
27 contributions2 helpful votes
Great customer service! Perag, Doug, Cindy tended to my needs. Doug called me in advance to welcome me to the hotel. That extra touch of customer service was much appreciated. Very good location. Delicious food in both directions of the hotel. I will stay at this location again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sarah Grace wrote a review May 2022
New York9 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
We paid for pool access using the Resort Pass app to beat the mid-day Louisiana heat. Small pool with limited seating options, but it served its purpose and was worth the money. The Resort Pass also includes access to the bathroom/changing area. There is a bar and you can have drinks poolside, in true Nola fashion.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Adrienne M wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
The front desk was helpful. They had to move our room due to our AC not working. We had a king room with an outdoor area, it was shared area with couches and tables. Loved the courtyard and great location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
stephyG76 wrote a review Aug 2022
Marblehead, Massachusetts3 contributions
Fantastic location just two blocks from Bourbon Street, walkable to pretty much everything. We booked two rooms traveling with our 16 yr old son. Rooms were clean and good size. Beds were very comfortable. Pool is small and good for cooling off but not really great for lounging. Courtyard is a great place to sit and wait however there is no bar outside and no overhead protection so if it’s raining you can’t sit outside. Hotel restaurant bar was fantastic, very tasty Negroni and good price during happy hour. My only complaint was there was no lobby type bar or area to hang out in. Since our teenage son can’t get into any of the bars we found it difficult to find a place we could all hang out together after dinner. Not the best hotel I’ve stayed at in New Orleans but we paid for the rooms with points so I can’t complain. Was expecting a little bit more from the W though.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deja Stepter, Other at W New Orleans - French Quarter
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Dear StephyG76, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. We are a boutique hotel which is why we don't have multiple bars or areas to hang out. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Cheers!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bibi P wrote a review Apr 2022
San Diego, California32 contributions23 helpful votes
This was our second stay at the W New Orleans. Our stay was highly satisfactory due to the hospitality, care and efficiency that Leslie, the hotel manager, provided us. We had two rooms for a week stay and after the first night, we needed to change rooms due to a very lumpy mattress. We truly appreciated her immediate attention especially during this busy tourist season. We certainly hope the Marriott will conduct major renovations soon. The patio area and outside buildings are extremely inviting, but the rooms look "tired" and are in need of major upgrading. We are Marriott owners and we would like to see this hotel "gem" receive the needed infrastructure care that other "W" hotels receive. I would have given five stars otherwise, but Leslie saved the day. Many thank yous to her and her team for going the extra mile! Always smiles on their faces!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid the 5th floor rooms if possible. Strange decor and rooms can be dark.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kayla V wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I loved this hotel so much! Cindy at the desk was amazing, great attitude and very friendly. When we got to the room i was so happy to see it was clean and smelled sooooo good! When we walked in and out we constantly were greated by the staff. Matthew was another name I remember who always was friendly. He was so kind and accommodating! Overall, this is a great property and we will return!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nicole S wrote a review Feb 2022
Raleigh, North Carolina4 contributions5 helpful votes
Our entire trip was clouded by the amount of issues we had to deal with. For the level of hotel W is supposed to represent I am truly appalled. First the hotel tried to run our card for $800 OVER the hotel bill. Yes, we understand a $200 incidental hold, but not $800. Then when we went to check in they apologized and said it would only be $800 total or the hotel fee. They repeated the two charges and held $3007 for a $2200 bill. We then made our way to our room to take a nap since traveling, only to be woken up by loud drilling and construction happening to the rooms next to ours. When I called the front desk to find out what was going on they offered a $50 champagne bottle for the inconvenience. (We already had one in our room, so no that was not acceptable.) We we’re told they would credit us $150 and that construction would not occur through the weekend so we opted to stay in our room which we selected due to the balcony view of the French quarter. Fast forward the next morning and we were woken up again by construction. When I called down to the front desk again we were told that the information we received was incorrect and they would relocate us. Which we were not happy with. If you are going to do construction on rooms (especially during a busy weekend during Mardi Gras) you should shut down the entire surrounding rooms from booking. While I was on the phone with the front desk manager a worker/cleaning staff walked into our room without knocking. That sent us over the edge. Not only did we deal with full on construction for two days now, the staff decided to walk into our room with no notice. We then went down to the front desk to relocate to a ground floor room. (Which I’m extremely unhappy about.) The manager then told us they would comp our first night room and see what else they could do for us. Nothing else was done for us. This whole experience was so bad we will not be booking another W, not to mention the rooms were beat up and old. As an event planner I use Marriott hotels all the time to stay in and also setup room blocks for my clients. This whole experience has made me double think what hotel chains I’ll be recommending in the future. We felt like a complete inconvenience to the staff who were all either completely rude or had no authority to correct the issue. I’ll be watching our credit card to insure we are properly refunded. Even though that small refund amount doesn’t even begin to cover the issues we had to deal with during our entire stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Deja Stepter, Other at W New Orleans - French Quarter
Responded Feb 17, 2022
Dear Nicole, Thank you for choosing us for your recent visit. We are truly sorry for the disappointing experience during your time with us. We strive to provide excellent service from each member of our Talent, and we are grateful for feedback that helps us improve our services. We have shared your comments and concerns with the appropriate individuals to ensure this does not happen again and immediate improvements are made. We appreciate your patience and hope you will consider staying with us again. Thank you,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KMNDallas wrote a review Jan 2022
Dallas, Texas61 contributions69 helpful votes
+1
The W is a small boutique style hotel tucked away in a great location in the French Quarter. Walking distance to everything. Beds and linens were excellent. Housekeeping was efficient. Now the bad-Check in was poor at best. They were out of cups for our welcome drink and forgot to give us water (which became an issue as there was no water anywhere in the room). Only one coffee cup in the room. Room was supposed to be a king with a balcony…the room was so small, both my husband and I couldn’t open our luggage. The smell is awful. A mix of moth balls and heavy perfume. I had a headache the minute I arrived. The balcony was the only good part of the room. Not worth $700 a night. Disappointed, won’t return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Deja Stepter, Other at W New Orleans - French Quarter
Responded Jan 24, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. Your experience is below our standard. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the welcome office and housekeeping leadership team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed to prevent these issues from occurring in the future. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Deja Stepter
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dfernandez07 wrote a review Jan 2022
13 contributions8 helpful votes
Not a bad hotel. Service was good. Price was reasonable. The walls are thin though. You can hear all the noise from the hallway. They were also doing construction early in the morning. Had scaffolding up and was making noise around 730am. Kinda early. They do have a restaurant attached to the hotel that is pretty good. I recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TheFrugalJetSet wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Previously I had had an absolutely wonderful stay here pre-Katrina back in 2003 or so, and after a long time away, I had been looking forward to coming back. It wasn't good. I'm sure the Kubrick-like designs (dark oranges and mustards, with glowing white cabinets and vortex-like graphics) were edgy and controversial when the hotel reopened post-Katrina, but they've aged especially badly and just seem off. Despite having a remarkable balcony, the room we were in was deeply worn, with terrible stains on the cabinets, scratches on the sink and pock-marks on the walls and ceiling. For such a fashion-forward hotel chain, the mid-aughts LCD TV, the malfunctioning landline phone (which randomly kept blinking that we had messages even though we didn't) and the low-resolution digitally-printed wall decorations were unsettlingly bad. One of the two elevators was clearly broken, a concern during COVID, and lineups kept happening in the elevator lobby. Our mattress, which clearly was once a "W Bed" quality mattress, was saggy and old. The reservation glitches were worse. Before arriving, I received a notification in the Bonvoy app that our specific room (including room number!) was ready and that we had a digital key and could progress to our room, only to find when we got to the elevators that... it was gone. A visit to the front counter left all of us dumbfounded that the system wasn't working. In addition, we had made a specific reservation for the night of our arrival for the hotel restaurant SouBo at an outdoor (COVID-friendly) table, only for them to direct us to a conventional indoor table and say that outdoor tables weren't available. Concerned about the rapid spread of Omicron, we asked for our food to go, which we then ate on the balcony of our room, not really what we had planned. The couple at a nearby table at SoBou indicated they had booked a chef's tasting menu reservation, only to be told at the last minute that it was no longer offered. Something is clearly not right. But here's the thing. Every single person at the hotel was gracious and eager to please; they were all doing their best, all the way from the folks at the check-in desk to the valets, and even at the restaurant. This hotel is in a remarkable location. The staff were trying hard. It feels like this hotel is being left to its own devices, without updates or technical upgrades, without necessary support from corporate. This once was a remarkable hotel. It still could be! In the meantime, beware.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Rogers, Guest Services / Front Office at W New Orleans - French Quarter
Responded Jan 3, 2022
Hello there! Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our property. I'm sorry to see some of the struggles you encountered while visiting the hotel and its restaurant. I think you will be pleased to know that we scheduled to complete a full property renovation this coming summer. We are extremely excited to be getting a face lift! If you happen to find yourself in New Orleans again after our renovation, please don't hesitate to ask for me. It would be my pleasure to overlook your accommodations personally. Take Care Matthew
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$231 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
w new orleans - french quarter hotel new orleans, w hotel new orleans
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansFrench Quarter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
97
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about W New Orleans - French Quarter
Which popular attractions are close to W New Orleans - French Quarter?
Nearby attractions include Jackson Square (0.3 miles), New Orleans Secrets (0.3 miles), and The Escape Game New Orleans (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at W New Orleans - French Quarter?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at W New Orleans - French Quarter?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at W New Orleans - French Quarter?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at W New Orleans - French Quarter?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to W New Orleans - French Quarter?
Conveniently located restaurants include GW Fins, Oceana Grill, and Criollo Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at W New Orleans - French Quarter?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is W New Orleans - French Quarter located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of New Orleans.
Are any cleaning services offered at W New Orleans - French Quarter?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at W New Orleans - French Quarter?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does W New Orleans - French Quarter offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.