We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NOPSI Hotel New Orleans

Traveler (155)
Room & Suite (101)
Dining (27)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Formerly the headquarters of the New Orleans Public Service Inc., after which it is named, NOPSI Hotel is an architecturally unique, industrially elegant, nine-story brick building on the corner of Baronne and Union streets. Originally opened in 1927, NOPSI has been returned to its previous splendor and converted into a luxury 217-room hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Classic
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
159Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
35Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Central Business District
Compared to the more evocative monikers of some other parts of New Orleans, the downtown’s humdrum title might suggest that this area is all about business and little else. But don’t let the bland name keep you away from the Central Business District. The CBD offers a wide range of fun things to do that would be touted as exceptional in less jubilant corners of the world. Bordered by the French Quarter, the Arts District and Tremé, with the river at its eastern extreme, this hub for sports, gaming, shopping, theatre, family-friendly activities, and amazing regional cuisine makes a smart base wherever your interests lie.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
390Reviews
312Photos
13Q+A
59Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 260
  • 73
  • 28
  • 16
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We, along with about 100 others, traveled from New England to a NO wedding. We all stayed at the NOPSI....great location, spacious rooms, luxury bathroom, accommodating service, fun roof deck and pool. We loved the hotel!
Read more
My husband and I spent three nights at the Hotel Nopsi. It is a lovely hotel but the personal service made it feel like a boutique hotel. We arrived very early in the morning, and to our surprise, were given a room. We were also allowed a later check out on the day of departure.
Read more
Response from nursin1488, Manager at NOPSI Hotel New Orleans
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our convenient location and wonderful staff. I know Quentin will be thrilled to her the great comment. We would be delighted to welcome you back for another stay!
Read more
We really enjoyed our stay at the NOPSI. The hotel was stunning. Our corner suite was spacious. The bathroom was huge and well appointed. Loved having a make up area. The rooftop pool and lounge were a great place to relax and have a drink. Location was great - only a couple
Read more
Response from nursin1488, Manager at NOPSI Hotel New Orleans
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are happy you enjoyed our convenient location and staff, but we’re disappointed to learn that you didn’t enjoy your overall stay with us. Please know that we will be looking into your concerns regarding housekeeping inconsistency so we can provide a better experience to our guests. Your feedback is important to us, and I can assure you that we shared your complaints with our operational teams for their review to address the issues you kindly brought to our attention. We are certainly glad to know that you enjoyed other aspects of your recent stay, and we look forward to having you back at NOPSI Hotel soon.
Read more
The property itself is great, but the service was terrible! I read other reviews about the bad service and I didn’t think I would care, but it certainly made a difference for us. I was told there was a coffee machine by some employees in the lobby, but when I didn’t find one I
Read more
Response from nursin1488, Manager at NOPSI Hotel New Orleans
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are happy you enjoyed our convenient location, but we’re disappointed to learn that you didn’t enjoy your overall stay with us. It is very important that all of our guests that they feel like the hotel has done everything it can to resolve any issues, and we are disappointed to hear that you encountered inconveniences that detracted from your experience. Please know that we will be looking into your concerns so we can provide a better experience to our guests. We hope you will give us another opportunity to gain your trust and show you the outstanding service we normally provide.
Read more
We came here on April 1st. When we went in the hotel, we got our rooms in about 5 mins. The rooms were nice and big. When we needed help, we would ask the staff and they were really helpful. One extra friendly staff was Reggie. He greeted everytime he saw us walking
Read more
Response from nursin1488, Manager at NOPSI Hotel New Orleans
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are elated to know that you had an amazing stay with us. We couldn’t agree more that our fantastic guest rooms and amazing staff can’t be beaten! The staff take pride in what they do and Reggie will be so happy to hear about your kind review. Thank you again for your feedback. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another exceptional stay!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Dusty coffee maker.
Soap-stained shower handles.
More mildew on the shower glass door.
Dirty floors and corners.
Another pic of the, whatever it is on the bathroom door handle.
PreviousNext
12345621
Easy walk to Bourbon street but not in the middle of the party vibe! More in the CBD. Windsor Court is lovely but also not in the vibe. Omni is on Royal Street one block from Bourbon and is definitely in the party vibe but quite enough to sleep when you want. Ace is also in the Warehouse District. Fun Hotel but not in the French Quarter at all. Omni is also closest to Frenchman Street a treat you should not miss. Check out the Montelone!!
1 vote
Show all answers
The rooftop pool is nice but small and almost in the middleof the rooftop bar. I would say not really a kid friendly pool!
0 votes
Show all answers
Do all of the rooms have a soaking tub?
No they do not
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you have a mini fridge?
No they did not have one that worked for what we wanted at least
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you have a mini fridge?
No, it is a mini fridge but already filled and not usable.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"All of the rooms are super spacious"
"Beautiful view of the city"
"Request a higher floor"
"I was here on business, and one of my associates didn't have a window in his room. I would want a window :)"
"Ask if they have any rooms higher up!"
PreviousNext
12345612
PRICE RANGE
$154 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansCentral Business DistrictWarehouse/Central Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
217
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing