We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Historic Streetcar Inn

Visit hotel website
Traveler (213)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (9)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Historic Streetcar Inn (formerly the Avenue Garden Hotel) is located on the historic St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. Step out of the hotel's front door and walk out to the car stop, which is located just in front of the hotel. The French Quarter and Downtown are only minutes away via the streetcar, which drops you off at Canal and Bourbon Street! Travel in the opposite direction and go back in time as you take in the majesty of St. Charles Avenue's mansions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
90Good for walkers
Grade: 90 out of 100
40Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
16Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
814Reviews
221Photos
8Q+A
86Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 248
  • 196
  • 122
  • 100
  • 148
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Great hotel. We walked up and down the historic street, ate good food, had adult beverages, met other nice people. Will stay again!We stayed the night before going on a cruise from New Orleans. Everything was great. Next time we will stay much longer and check out more of
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from FQHC, Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Carol L, Thank you for taking the time to write a very positive review. It was a pleasure to host you before your cruise. We appreciate you highlighting all of our accommodations and glad that your stay was an enjoyable experience. We hope that you return soon for a longer visit so that you may city all that our magnificent city has to offer. All the best, Brandy K.
Read more
The room was dirty, grime on the bathroom floor, stains on the bedding. It's very loud by the streetcars because the window units don't allow the window to fully close. There is a window on top of the door that didn't have a curtain so the lights from the hallway lit up the room
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from FQHC, Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Faraway47151911385, Thank you for sharing your feed back. It was a pleasure to welcome you to New Orleans. We genuinely care about delivering memorable experiences to all of our guests. We apologize for the less than pleasant experience you had. Your description is not who we are and we will be sure that each of your concerns are promptly looked into. We hope that in the future you will allow us to welcome you back for another visit. Kind regards, Brandy K.
Read more
The room was clean, the bed comfortable. The location was perfect. We walked the Garden District and looked at the beautiful homes. The streetcar was right there, so convenient. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from brandy k, Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
DearPloneer331159, Thank you for taking time to share your review. We appreciate you making us a part of your recent trip and are thrilled that you enjoyed your time. Thank you for highlighting our accommodations and friendly team members. We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Kind regards, Brandy K.
Read more
I loved my stay here. The room we got was clean, antique and an experience I could not duplicate anywhere. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone needing a place to stay and on a budget. My only complaint is that the Air Conditioner worked too well! We turned it up to 76
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from brandy k, Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Daydream02260145936, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feed back from your recent stay. We are honored to have been selected as your choice hotel. We are pleased we were able to offer you an enjoyable authentic New Orleans experience. and hope to welcome you back for more memories. Kind regards, Brandy K.
Read more
Located in the Garden District this hotel is right on the Historic Charleston cable car line allowing for quick (relatively) transportation to the Central Business District, The French Quarter, The University and other places. Good value for the money but travelers must remember
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from brandy k, Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Roam3418159052, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feed back from your stay. We are honored to have been selected as your choice hotel. We are pleased that we were able to offer you a good value for your stay and we are most delighted that you enjoyed the prime location of our property. We hope to see you soon for a return visit. Kind regards, Brandy K.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementHistoric Streetcar Inn
Hotel Front Entrance
Cheveux et poussières dans le lit !!!!
Mouche / cheveux / crasse dans la salle de bain !
Planche avec clous ? Dangereux ?
Etagère de la chambre
PreviousNext
12345617
How much is parking
Hi Sharon V, The Historic Streetcar Inn does not provide parking. There is street parking in the area.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi Joel W, The Historic Streetcar Inn does not offer laundry service but there is a laundromat just one block away from the hotel.
1 vote
Show all answers
Is it a Safe location?
Yes, very safe. I travel alone and I have never felt uneasy I've stayed here on three of my trips to NOLA. The streetcar stop is right out the front door. There are nice restaurants within walking distance. The Blind Pelican is 1 1/2 blocks away. Great local place with a fantastic oyster happy hour. VooDoo BBQ is next store. The Irish House is across the street. You are just one block from Prytania Street and a few blocks from Magazine Street. It's easy to enjoy the Garden District. As in any large city, be aware of you surroundings. Stay and enjoy.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Don't stay there!!!"
"No elevator and some rooms are upstairs. Make sure A/C works!"
"Done stay here"
"I viewed 3rooms in total which they tried to get us to move to-all were the same."
"Room 20 is awesome. Had cathedral ceilings a fireplace and a balcony right outside the door"
PreviousNext
12345618
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
avenue garden new orleanshotel avenue garden
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Avenue Garden Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansCentral CityCentral City-Garden District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing