Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum

Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum

Traveler (153)
Kitchen notice
Room & Suite (59)
But there was plenty of space!
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#28 of 45 B&Bs in New Orleans
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.2
World-Renown Edgar Degas House is the celebrated only remaining home of the French Impressionist Master Edgar Degas that is open to the public in the world. Degas House has been recognized by the French Minister of Culture, through the French National Order of Arts and Letters. Today, the home serves as a Museum House for Tours, Bed and Breakfast, wedding/reception venue & for corporate functions. All reservations include Complimentary Gourmet Made-to-Order Breakfast with Bloody Mary or Mimosa, Guided Tour Hosted by Great-Grand Nieces of Degas or Docent, Free Parking, WiFi, etc. 11 Blocks from French Quarter & City Park. Also home of the Degas Foundation, whose educational mission includes serving as a cultural resource center to the public. Degas House is licensed, insured and inspected. We have no elevators and not wheelchair accessible, as we are an historical property. We are in our 25th year of business and provide the security you and your family desire during your vacation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Concierge
Gift shop
Private check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 2 more

Location

2306 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-2502
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 60 out of 100
60
Louis Armstrong Intl Airport
11.2 mi
See all flights
221Reviews2Q+A34Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 138
  • 37
  • 7
  • 16
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lisa C wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Some years ago, some friends and I spent a week at Degas House. This B&B is the historic home of artist Edgar Degas, with a very nice museum and tour available. We booked both available suites, and had a simply amazing stay. I arrived a bit earlier than the rest of my party, and was greeted by a lovely, cheerful staff, and lead to a beautiful room to wait. The woman who greeted me at the door brought me a glass of really good red wine and engaged in pleasant conversation while I waited. Once everyone else arrived, we were helped to our suites. The rooms were meticulously cleaned, and stunning. Both suites had balconies. The one I stayed in overlooked a charming courtyard. The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and the enormous tub had several jets! The kitchen was completely furnished, with dishes, a coffee maker, corkscrews, etc, and the fridge stayed stocked with refreshments. There was even a beautiful sherry decanter that was magically refilled each time we went out. Lol. The location is within walking distance of Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, etc. There was also a bus stop just outside.

The staff made our stay absolutely amazing, and I definitely hope to return someday!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SharonHaight wrote a review Feb 2020
Glendale, Arizona43 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This home was visited by Edgar Degas for a year or so while he was visiting his cousins in the states. It has an interesting history, which you can learn on the included tour. The breakfasts were absolutely marvelous. The parking is on the street, but we had little difficulty finding a place to park. There is a bus stop right outside the inn. I booked us a room on the second floor, not realizing that this would involve 22 steps straight up due to the tall ceiling. I walk with a cane, so it was a bit daunting, but worth it. We really enjoyed stepping through the sash windows onto our balcony overlooking Esplanade Avenue in the evenings. Our stay was early February. If you like staying on revived old homes, this will be a nice experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from degashouse, Public Relations Manager at Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Ms. Haight, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here! Our doors are always open for you to come back! Thank you for your review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TrudyLMT wrote a review Jun 2020
Marrero, Louisiana7 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I were recently married here and that included a two night stay. It was lovely! Very peaceful and quiet with a delicious fresh made breakfast both mornings. We felt very much at home, as everyone was very attentive to our needs. This area of Esplanade is covered with beautifully large oak trees that create a hammock-like effect. Your photos will be absolutely gorgeous! Highly recommend if you are looking for a classic historical New Orleans welcome!! To us this was a home away from home, as it is only 30 minutes from our house. Very special thank you to Kathy and Sharon for treating me and my husband like family! We already can’t wait to come back and visit soon!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trail739943 wrote a review May 26
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This 2 room suite was not as advertised--bed was literally smashed in two places, room had not been cleaned properly. Bathroom and kitchen were filthy. Advertised as daily maid service which never happened. Full American breakfast was said to be included but only provided on weekend. High speed internet promised but could not power movie or zoom meeting. Front desk person there sporadically and no way to get help. When I arrived, I was told that I would "get my exercise" carrying suitcase up steep long staircase, which I was unable to do. I found a kitchen staff to help me. Because of poor accommodations, I shortened my stay but was still charged the full amount, which I am now disputing with credit card company. I have reached out to owner twice with no response.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: The room faced major road with many streetlights and had no shades to block light.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patti B wrote a review Oct 2022
Texas87 contributions50 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The kitchen staff were wonderful…breakfasts were delicious, especially the Bananas Foster French Toast. The sleeping rooms were unbelievably bad. The bridal suite had water dripping on the bed from the room above. One room never had hot tap water though a plumber visited the room. Another room had rotting floors and there was mold on the wall of the staircase. TVs in two rooms didn’t work, I didn’t care, But, it is football season. The owner of the property needs to address structural issues before adding any other features to the property.

Luckily the wedding took place outside and Sharon, Denise and other kitchen staff got all of the food just right.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Villarrubia, General Manager at Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum
Responded Oct 18, 2022
Thanks to Trip Advisor for allowing me to respond to this review. I'm happy to address these remarks from the mother of the bride, who avoided speaking to me for the entire weekend, perhaps out of embarrassment because she allowed her bath water to overflow the tub, resulting in dripping into the bridal suite below. Her husband related this was her normal personal habit. As this is a historic property, we take these matters very seriously, as we try our best to be good stewards of the property and its' history. Still, when I approached to speak with this guest on numerous occasions, she quickly avoided me by walking away. Having a plumber here would certainly fix the hot water problem, however, this was not reported to us at all, nor was a second TV not working, which I question, especially when the one TV was easily adjusted by our staff when reported to us. The city's power grid collapsed during Hurricane Ida, and we experience frequent but momentary outages city wide (as the new power grid is being improved), which does require resetting TV settings on occasion. But the staff simply must be informed, so that we can correct the problem. The reports of "mold" in the staircase, which I followed up on, was simply residue from chemicals involved in recent termite treatments to the property, which we frequently have done to protect the house. Since there were no other guest complaints, I must assume that "sleeping rooms were unbelievably bad" and "rotting floors" are related more to the individual reviewer than to the actual situation, especially because the house was occupied by the family of the bride. As the owner/manager, I was present all weekend and available to all guests, who could have easily made me aware of any problems or situations requiring our attention. Other than the overflowing tub, I was not advised of any problems whatsoever. Structural issues over adding features? This reviewer wouldn't even speak to me over an entire weekend, yet wants to make strategic judgement calls? We are quite proud of the Degas House and our many distinctions, including French Landmark status awarded by the French Ministry of Culture and our ten consecutive "Best of Weddings" awards based on 5-Star Service. Degas House is in our 27th year of serving the public both in our B&B, our guided tours by Degas' Great grand nieces, and our weddings. Our goal at Degas House is to create a magical experience for our guests while staying in a historic museum home from circa 1854. It is intended to be a genuine treat for our guests, however, it obviously may not suit everyone's taste. Thank you for reading. God bless you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mokar1987 wrote a review Feb 2020
melbourne, fl162 contributions88 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the entire facility for our family and bridal party for a wedding we were having there. The house is old which we knew but needs major maintenance everywhere, not sure how they pass inspection by the city. The housekeeping is awful with cheap old and worn accessories and linens. Management is unorganized and the kitchen staff borderline rude at times. There is a dog next door that barks day and night too!! We made the best of it but my suggestion is to stay elsewhere!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from degashouse, Director of Sales at Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Thank you for your review. We wish that you would have brought up your concerns about the building and accessories during your stay so that we could have corrected what we could and explain that we are currently undergoing upgrades around the house. Again if anyone was rude to you during your stay we wish that you could have brought that up to management or the owner so it could have been handled right away. Unfortunately the dog is something we cannot control. The Degas House was just awarded French Landmark Status last year and we have won eight Best of Weddings from The Knot, we hold these awards in high regards and we reflect that in our day to day duties. Please come back and stay with us again and witness the upgrades for yourself.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sylvie l wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
the pierre room has no window. the wall between that and the room nextdoor is so thin you can hear every word. wifi and cable both not working. holes in the walls and ceiling that had been stuffed with paper towels. floor boards popping up. bed sagging into. a U shape. it was the most depressing looking room i have ever seen and they refuse a refund even though we only stayed one of three nights.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: choose a good room by going to another hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Villarrubia, General Manager at Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum
Responded Oct 18, 2022
Thanks to Trip Advisor for allowing my response to this review. I must report that we had NO complaints from this guest. The guest booked through Expedia, a third party. Since we had no complaints and no contact with Expedia in reference to this guest and her complaints, I must say that we regret she thought so little of the property, yet did not discuss with anyone on staff and apparently not to Expedia. We want everyone of our guests to have a positive experience, but how do we help someone who won't coordinate with us. The Expedia site (and our website) clearly shows that there are no windows in the Garret Rooms, as Garrets are generally accepted to be windowless rooms, yet specifically stating the same. Although Wifi and cable can be problematic, we cannot be certain if the guest even knew how to access because there were no inquiries. As far as recognizing the need for repair, reports must be made. HOWEVER, we have completely upgraded that room, among others' this past summer. I'm certainly prepared to refund this guest based on her negative experience, however, without properly notifying staff, how could we know? How could Expedia know? By the way, Expedia gets paid for this room and they would refund the guest, not the Degas House to refund, unless reported to both parties. We are quite proud of the Degas House and our many distinctions, including French Landmark status awarded by the French Ministry of Culture and our ten consecutive "Best of Weddings" awards based on 5-Star Service. Degas House is in our 27th year of serving the public both in our B&B, our guided tours by Degas' Great grand nieces, and our weddings. Our goal at Degas House is to create a magical experience for our guests while staying in a historic museum home from circa 1854. It is intended to be a genuine treat for our guests, however, it obviously may not suit everyone's taste. Thank you for reading. God bless you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GM? wrote a review May 2022
14 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived to find they did not have the promised parking, they were renting it for jazz fest. Had to park on the street. Car got covered in bird crap (see pics). Ac was not turned on for our arrival. The room was about 110 degrees. It took about 6 hours of running the AC to make it barely comfortable. Not fun after bringing luggage to the third floor attic. Internet was barely useable. 3-4 minutes to load a page, unable to use it for bookings or directions. The room was in poor shape. One big floorboard was warped and loose causing tripping and stubbed toes. The were two beds and 5 pieces of 70s era thrift shop furniture in the room. Every piece was broken in some way. The only chair in the room had its lower supports broken making it dangerous. The one decorative item, a plastic globe was also broken! Outlets were exposed, ragged holes were cut in the circling for fire extinguishers. I’m not an expert so I’ll let you judge from the picture, but I’m pretty sure it was a roach. I gave one star because the staff was very friendly and one for the location. But at the prices they charge this should have been a much better experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marcia L wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking to stay in a place that plays with time and the Art at the same time, here you will find what you are looking for. This is not my first trip to NOLA. It is an old city and its hotels play with the time. I had lived it before but at Degas House there is a plus: you will know the house where Edgar Degas, the only French impressionist painter who visited the United States, lived at and the history of his maternal family and the history of this wonderful house. You will feel the smell, taste and sound of this place. The peace here is incredible, just a few minutes from the city center, the light, peace and atmosphere of this place will captivate you forever and you will want to return again and again, because this place carries the magic of this city in itself.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren S wrote a review Feb 2022
Brownsville, Tennessee4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall great. Staff was very good. Only downside was heat didn't work at all though they did provide a space heater. I would expect basic comforts to work when paying this kind of rate. This was the only negative as everything else about our stay was great there
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheBarbieRN asked a question Aug 2017
Miami, Florida48 contributions2 helpful votes
Are the street cars near by?
Answer from degashouse
7 contributions
No, they are not. There is a city bus which stops in front of the house which can take you to the French Quarter or the nearest streetcar.
Barb B asked a question Jun 2017
Rogers, Arkansas65 contributions4 helpful votes
Is parking free and is it public parking lot and secure?
Answer from degashouse
7 contributions
Parking is free around Degas House on the side street, which is where most B&B guests park. Parking for events is also free, and that is in our fenced-in parking lot a block away. If you choose to park there, even as a B&B guest, you can do that, and it will be locked at night. Speak to our innkeepers when you check in.
Trail739943 wrote a tip May 26
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The room faced major road with many streetlights and had no shades to block light. "
Read full review
KI wrote a tip May 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms with a balcony/gallery are the best!"
Read full review
sylvie l wrote a tip Apr 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"choose a good room by going to another hotel"
Read full review
Joshua C wrote a tip Oct 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here, certainly not in the summertime when things like air conditioning are important."
Read full review
ana wrote a tip Oct 2019
8 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not get a room in the 3rd floor without windows!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New Orleans area.
PRICE RANGE
$115 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the degas house hotel new orleans
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansMid-City District / Tremé
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EDGAR DEGAS HOUSE HISTORIC HOME & MUSEUM - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum
Which popular attractions are close to Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum?
Nearby attractions include Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour (0.00 miles), Le Musee de f.p.c. (0.05 miles), and Museum of the Free People of Color (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pagoda Cafe, The Half Shell On The Bayou, and Coco Hut.
Does Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a banquet room and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hermann-Grima House (1.2 miles), Longue Vue House and Gardens (2.9 miles), and Historic BK House & Gardens (1.2 miles).
All New Orleans HotelsNew Orleans Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New OrleansHotels near Edgar Degas House Historic Home & Museum
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars