We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Avalon Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 147: English reviews
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

Upon check-in the Glayds was really Rude after me asking what if I didnt like the cleanliness of room. Here response "Well the room is already paid for so. You can check out & get another hotel. I thought is she serious; this is essence where am i gonna find another hotel.

Helpful?
Thank sayoung1
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

My apologies for the interaction you had with Glady's. This is not the type of service that we expect from our staff, and we can assure that this is not the type of service we expect for our guests. More 

Silt, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

This place has the potential of being decent, but it's not. You can tell it was once a nicer hotel. Common areas were dirty and needed some updating. The pool had way too much chlorine and was cloudy/greasy from too many guests with hair product. Nothing like the front office lady telling you about the drug running, violence and insecure... More 

Helpful?
Thank AngHasch

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

The hotel staff was rude as soon as we go there. When we got into our room it smelled like a wet attic and our beds were damp. There was black mold on the ceiling and a BUGS!!! They did have free breakfast so that was probably the only plussl side to the stay

Helpful?
Thank billyguffey127g
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel. I apologize for the situation as you mentioned and would like to get more specifics regarding your stay. Please contact me at avalon@bnmanagementco.com. More 

Lafayette, LA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Check-In was quick and easy and staff was friendly and helpful. Thirty minutes after we checked out, we realized we had left 2-shirts in the closet. We returned to the Hotel and they allowed us to get our stuff with no problem. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Babineaux4
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel. We know that you have many choices to choose from and we always appreciate hearing from our guests on how well we serve them. I am glad that we were able to assist with the shirts and we hope to see you on your... More 

Atlanta
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Front desk awful. Stayed 2nd night w/o reservation. Charged me $20 more because I did not have reservation. No turndown or linen change for the additional $20. Whatever rating they have will surely and deservedly go down u

Helpful?
Thank rbod
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel. I apologize for the issues as you mentioned and ask that you contact me at avalon@bnmanagementco.com to find out additional details regarding your stay. More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

Booked a reservation through a 3rd party prior to arrival. When I arrived at hotel they couldn't seem to find the reservation and then when they finally located the reservation, they claimed it could not be honored because my arrival was late. I left the hotel to call the 3rd party company that I had booked through because I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank cassandraroby
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel. We know that you have many choices to choose from and we always appreciate hearing from our guests on how well we serve them. I apologize for the situation as you mentioned and I ask that you contact me at avalon@bnmanagementco.com with information as... More 

Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We stayed in a double room with three people. During our 3 day - 2 night stay, our room was never cleaned, my husband had to retrieve towels from a cart as we walked down the hallway and the phone in the room did not work! We reported the issue(s) to the front desk and was informed they would be... More 

Helpful?
Thank dajohnson2016
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel. We know that you have many choices to choose from while in the area and apologize for the service that you received during your stay. There is no excuse for the issues you described and as the new General Manager of the property, I... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night. The hotel is located next to the interstate but the room was quiet. Breakfast was very good. However, they did run out of coffee. The juice machine was not labeled so there seemed to be a lot of wasted juice in the drain pan. I think that would drive your food cost up. I watched the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Beekeeper49
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New Orleans. We know that you have many choices to choose from and we always appreciate hearing from our guests how well we serve them while we us. I apologize for the conditions you mentioned and assure you that these are being addre with... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile

When we arrived, the bathrooms in the lobby smelled like pot. (Not really a big deal) So I told my family they can wait until we get into our room. When we get up to our room and opened the door we see towels on the bed and the floor, TV was on, condom wrapper on the floor and both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pj E
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. As the new General Manager of the property I apologize for the issues you mentioned. There is no excuse for the condition of the room you were provided and I will address this with the staff. I... More 

Pensacola, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival there is no signage to show they have changed to the Avalon from the clarion. I walk inside and ask the receptionist, naureen (probably misspelled), if this was the clarion? Rudely and promptly replied"we are the Avalon". After establishing we were in the right place I attempted to check in. There was a confusion in the reservation and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brad M
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New Orleans. We always appreciate hearing from our guests how well we served them while with us. There is no excuse for the way you were treated, or for the condition of the room. As the new General Manager of the property, I apologize... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

233 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (185)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Breakfast Area (12)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (25)
Viewed
King Room (25)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Suite (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#107 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#79 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#98 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel 504
Hotel 504
#118 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 10100 I-10 Service Rd, New Orleans, LA 70127-2746 (Formerly Clarion Inn)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Price Range: $79 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avalon Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Avalon Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay