We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Avenue Plaza Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Avenue Plaza Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

652 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avenue Plaza Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 638: English reviews
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice location, nice people working there. The hotel is dated but well maintained, everything works. It's a timeshare and the sell is soft but watch out. I wouldn't go back. The trolley is out front and there are a few restaurants in walking distance but it's a ride to the french quarter. Very nice friendly people working there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe S
Heather W, Owner Care at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Avenue Plaza in the heart of the Garden District! We are happy to hear you were welcomed with a friendly atmosphere within the dynamic city of New Orleans. You may find La Belle Maison offers more convenience as this landmark building is located within two blocks of the French Quarter. Cheers.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I absolutely loved it here. I have a Timeshare in California but always trade and i got the best place i think. There were 3 of us and it was perfect. 4 would have worked but alittle tight. I had a 1 Bedroom sleep 4 so separate bedroom and a couch that opens in living room. We had a kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam M
Karen G, Owner Care at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hello Pam, Thank you for the kind words. We will share these comments with our staff. We're glad to hear you were able to enjoy the sun deck and other resort amenities. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit. Warm regards,

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came to New Orleans for a week and enjoyed staying at the Avenue Plaza as base for our daily adventures. It is very conveniently located on St Charles Street & Josephine. Since we flew in we chose not to rent a car and took the street cars almost everywhere we wanted to go, with a few Ubers to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nisd01
Sara C, Owner Care at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you found our location convenient for you touring needs. Your feedback helps us identify areas of opportunity to improve our services. Please let us know if we may be of assistance in making your next visit more comfortable.

Poway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a studio which had almost a complete kitchen including a stove top, upright fridge/freezer, dishwasher and dishes. We had 2 double beds. Everything seemed to be new/clean. The staff were all very friendly and welcomed us every time that we walked by them. The fitness center is excellent with very good equipment for just about any kind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mohc962
Heather W, Owner Care at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

We are delighted that you selected the Wyndham Avenue Plaza to revel in the luxurious ambiance of the Garden District and to experience the grandeur of St. Charles Avenue. We appreciate your gracious comments about the staff and accommodations and hope you will choose Wyndham for your next stay. Warmest regards.

Tyler, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

No complaints about the staff, but this is not a pleasant hotel. Loud slamming of doors - cracks under doors mean anything in the hall is heard in the room. Thus the obvious is true as well. Very loud AC. We'll find another place next time. I'm sure there are better places in New Orleans.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JimmyinTyler
Sara C, Owner Care at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in providing your review Jimmy. We are happy to hear that the staff was of assistance however apologize that you did not enjoy the resort. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us identify areas of opportunity. Please let us know if we may be of assistance in making any future visits more...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

With clean, updated, well appointed rooms and a friendly, attentive staff this Wyndham property is a great place to stay in New Orleans. With the charm of the Garden District and proximity to a variety of restaurants, as well as the museums, we can't find anything negative to say. The valet service is excellent and affordable. Enjoy the oasis of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer A
Karen G, Owner Care at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hello Jennifer, Thank you so much for sharing this feedback. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to get out and experience some of the local attractions and atmosphere. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards,

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stay here every time we visit New Orleans. It's so convenient to the streetcars. Rooms were just remodeled. Walking tour of the Garden district only a few blocks away. Staff are so nice and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish W
Karen G, Owner Care at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hello Trish, Thank you for the kind words about our staff. We'll pass the comments on to them. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to explore some of the attractions that are close by. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit. Warm regards,

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel was adequate to nice. I wish I could give 3 and 1/2 stars. The room had a kitchen area which was well stocked and the tiny bathroom had a separate dressing area which was handy for me to do my makeup. A long stay is probably better than a short one simply for the use of the kitchen....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
Sara C, Owner Care at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, Ronald! By providing us with your feedback, you give us an opportunity to investigate ways to enhance the vacation experience. Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future.

Cypress, Texas
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We drove from Cypress, TX and took longer to get there due to construction and congestion. We were tired and once we got to the hotel, we found that parking was a nightmare. The valets were too few to keep up with the demand, so there was no parking in front of the hotel. Also the hotel charges $22.60/night to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George W
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Reviewed November 1, 2016

I love being near the trolley cars on St. Charles Avenue. The staff is very attentive and having a ghost house behind the hotel is a lot of fun to tour. The rooms have remained the same over the past five years with not a lot of improvement, hopefully this year when we return there will be some upgrades in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherry M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

292 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (238)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#98 of 161 in New Orleans
218 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#47 of 161 in New Orleans
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#80 of 161 in New Orleans
750 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#107 of 161 in New Orleans
226 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#96 of 161 in New Orleans
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Address: 2111 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5320
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Price Range: $128 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Avenue Plaza Resort staff and other travelers.
24 questions
Ask a question
Decatur, Illinois
Fort Wayne, Indiana

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Avenue Plaza Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We stayed in the back of the resort, overlooking the courtyard. Good location with no outside noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 31joym, 3 days ago | Read review
“Try to not get a room by the elevator or common areas....they are very loud.”
 of 5 bubbles Tetweeko, 4 days ago | Read review
“Top floors have less street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles ElanieF, 1 week ago | Read review
“Rooms facing St. Charles Ave can be noisy during Mardi Gras and other party times.”
 of 5 bubbles jamescD274MS, 1 week ago | Read review
“The hotel is dated but well maintained, everything works”
 of 5 bubbles goldenwds, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay