We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel
The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 637: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! We checked in on Friday, Nov 25 around 3:30pm. We reserved a room with 2 queen beds. They claimed that they are fully booked and only have rooms with a king bed available. They said Expedia sent a request for a king bed only. I showed them my email that says 2 queen beds. They said... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miminguyen818
Daffne R, General Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Miminguyen818, Thank you for taking to time to review our hotel. We appreciate you candid feedback. The valet charge was corrected from your account and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this caused. It is our goal to provide the utmost in service and accommodations at Blake Hotel. No matter the confusion at check in, I am glad we... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

The worst hotel ever. I am holding n my hand right now a confirmed booking for two nights. After the first night the hotel said they needed the room. They are very rude and arrogant. They are Making us move to another room but are not sending someone to help us move. The changed the key lock so we can't... More 

Helpful?
Thank charleshall2
Daffne R, General Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charleshall2, We were glad that we were able to speak to you in regards to your stay while you were still staying with us and we appreciate the opportunity to improve your stay. Again, we are very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay but we can assure you that we have spoken to the supervisor that... More 

Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel has had a lot of upgrades. Staff were friendly and competent.Room was clean and comfortable. The only downside for me was that the bathroom was a bit small ,no fan and with nowhere to hang towels. Other than that it was a great place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Martin M
Daffne R, General Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin M, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you feedback! We do have fans in each of our guest bathrooms, however the motor is on the roof, so you can't hear them running, but they do run 24 hours a day. We look forward to hosting you again... More 

Blanco, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was fine. Probably not the best idea to put me next to the Hampton college sorority reunion in the next room. They were having a blast. Me not as much. But eventually booze and tiredness caught up and they went to bed. Couldn't get to pissed, I was younger once too., but a couple of these ladies had some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
Daffne R, General Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike M, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Blake Hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to hear that Breon went above and beyond to exceed your expectations during your stay. We will ensure to pass this feedback on to her. Our parking prices are very comparable to other hotels in... More 

Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful. However the breakfast room was poorly staffed and the food available was poor. A simple buffet would have been much better. The service for breakfast was very slow, it seemed to be understaffed. Everything else within the hotel was satisfactory

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tony_knock
Daffne R, General Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony_knock, We appreciate your kind words on our friendly and helpful staff in the hotel. Please know that the restaurant in our premises is a separate entity from the hotel; however, we will ensure to pass this feedback along to the owner so that they can improve future customer service. Thank you for taking the time to share your... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were welcomed with open arms! They staff was very nice and friendly. The front desk supervisor Bree found out it was my moms birthday and came up with a little gift basket and champagne to celebrate! The front desk agent Breeon was also very sweet and helpful! Would totally come back, we were treated like family! Thank you :)

Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
Daffne R, General Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chloe H, We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations with overall service experience at the Blake Hotel in New Orleans. Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion as your mom's birthday with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the gift basket and champagne. We will pass your compliments to our... More 

Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Blake was great. The front desk clerk was friendly and knowledgeable about New Orleans. He gave us great pointers on what to do and what not to do during our stay. We had a great time and knowing we were staying at a hotel that had been there for years was exciting. I recommend staying here

Helpful?
Thank janetc1022
Daffne R, General Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear janetc1022, Thank you for taking the time to review Blake Hotel. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and in our beautiful city. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to hosting you again on your future travels to New Orleans! Best, Daffne Briggitte Ruglas General Manager Blake Hotel bruglas@nolahotelgroup.com More 

Jay, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A bit away from the general depravity of the French Quarter and on the way tot he Garden District, this hotel offers a lot of advantages. Minutes from the river, next to Lafayette Park, and across from the Federal Reserve (in case you need to make a withdrawal).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scott W
Daffne R, General Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scott W, Thank you for taking a moment to review Blake Hotel. Your feedback is appreciated! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do have the best location in the Big Easy! We look forward to hosting you again very soon! Best, Daffne Briggitte Ruglas General Manager Blake Hotel bruglas@nolahotelgroup.com More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our week-long stay at the Blake Hotel on St. Charles Street in New Orleans was perfect. It’s not that the accommodations were extraordinary. Our room was very comfortable and more than adequate. And it wasn’t the fact that the Blake’s location is within very easy walking distance to NOLA’s streetcar system or Bourbon Street, which it is. It is the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol F
Daffne R, General Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol F, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We certainly appreciate you kind words and we too feel that Bree is a great leader and we are lucky to have her on our team. I will make sure to pass along your compliment so that she continues to provide the same wonderful service to all of our guests. Thank... More 

Scottsdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nothing special. The ladies up front were VERY nice but they mixed up our folios so that was a but frustrating. We stayed in the 5th floor between the 2 elevators. We had a St Louis street view so we could hear the trolley passing by at night. The rooms were clean and pretty plain. Wasn't cheap but then again... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank YacksonsMomma
Daffne R, General Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear YacksonsMomma, Thank you for your candid feedback. We are sorry to hear that there was a mixed up with your folios upon departure but we are glad that it was rectified. Please know that we are actually in the process of renovating the appearance of the rooms to improve future customer service. We hope that you will give us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

362 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (86)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Amenities (63)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (38)
Viewed
Queen Room with Sofa Sleeper (39)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard King Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#39 of 161 in New Orleans
994 reviews
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#89 of 161 in New Orleans
478 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#41 of 161 in New Orleans
1,668 reviews
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#55 of 161 in New Orleans
1,111 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#57 of 161 in New Orleans
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Compared to the more evocative monikers of some other parts of New Orleans, the downtown’s humdrum title might suggest that this area is all about business and little else. But don’t let the bland name keep you away from the Central Business District. The CBD offers a wide range of fun things to do that would be touted as exceptional in less jubilant corners of the world. Bordered by the French Quarter, the Arts District and Tremé, with the river at its eastern extreme, this hub for sports, gaming, shopping, theatre, family-friendly activities, and amazing regional cuisine makes a smart base wherever your interests lie.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated in the heart of The Big Easy, our newly remodeled Blake Hotel,an Ascend Collection, is the perfect choice for lodging in New Orleans. Whether you’re in the area for business, traveling with family for vacation, or just passing through, you’ll be provided with a combination of sophisticated décor, modern amenities, a convenient location and helpful service.Let us welcome you to our updated New Orleans hotel, recently featured on the Today Show as a “star-worthy destination.” We offer complimentary wireless Internet access, 37″ LCD TVs with free premium channels, including HBO and ESPN, plush bedding and convenient blackout drapes, in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers, safes and work desks. We also provide access to our on-site fitness center with state-of-the-art ProMaxima® equipment. All of our rooms are equipped with complimentary Bath & Body Works® toiletries. We offer easy access to many local restaurants and attractionsExplore the many other featured New Orleans accommodations and amenities that help us create the perfect home-away-from-home experience!A Top Downtown New Orleans Hotel with an Unbeatable location. You and your traveling companions will be able to save both time and transportation costs by lodging right here at our Downtown New Orleans hotel, minutes from many popular local area attractions.Take a stroll through scenic Jackson Square; get in the groove with smooth music at a local jazz club; or cheer on the Saints football team at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. Whatever you choose to do in The Big Easy, you’ll never be more than a short drive or streetcar ride away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 500 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Price Range: $89 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Two blocks away you can park in a nice parking garage for half the price the hotel charges you.... just saying.”
 of 5 bubbles mikemL4293XV, 1 week ago | Read review
“Very Quiet and have good fresh cookies”
 of 5 bubbles CynthiaB75, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms are nice; it's a very cozy hotel”
  • Poydras & St. Charles Ave.
 of 5 bubbles ladycnc, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“217 is triangular and very small but the view is great!”
 of 5 bubbles Earthtravler, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“We were in 903 overlooking Layfette park . Pretty!”
 of 5 bubbles Deliag5, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay