We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 415: English reviews
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We felt this hotel was perfect for taking the trolley to every location. Clean, Comfortable Bed, Air Conditioning worked great, breakfast was a hot Continental breakfast but you could grab juices and water out of the fridge in the lobby without charge and they always had fresh baked cookies. We were wanting to stay near the French Quarter but they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

Maggie, thank you for taking the time to review your stay! I'm glad we were a fun spot on your two month trip! Even though we are not located in the French Quarter, we are so close that you can still easily get there and enjoy all it has to offer. Then after you explore there, you can come back... More 

Port Lavaca, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The front desk staff was wonderful and as helpful as can be. This was especially true, when our room had mold on the windows and drapes and smelled of damp. We were immediately moved to the only other available room, which, unfortunately also had mold (this time in bathroom) and damp. It was supposed to be a more expensive room... More 

Helpful?
Thank David H
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

David, I'm very sorry we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. The issues you encountered have been addressed by housekeeping. We have rooms with two double beds and one king bed. I'm sorry the room with two double beds seemed small for your family. I hope your time in New Orleans was enjoyable and you were able to... More 

Granite City, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great experience at the St. Charles Inn. Our stay with BW Plus' are always great. The staff were very friendly, beds nice and comfy too. Secure parking and right on the trolley line so it could not have been more convenient for site-seeing. Breakfast was good, nice selection to choose from. We will definitely stay here on... More 

Helpful?
Thank jenpaz
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

I hope you were able to do a lot of site-seeing while staying with us! I'm glad you enjoyed our location, breakfast, and staff. Give us a call when you are ready to come back! Thank you for reviewing your stay! Kathleen Davis, Front Office Manager More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very nice place to stay. I love the location. It is very close to downtown, the French quarter, Frenchmen street etc, but yet very calm. The architecture of the houses in this neighbourhood is truly amazing. It does feel very local and genuine unlike some hotels in more touristy locations. The staff are friendly, the breakfast well... More 

Helpful?
Thank MisterRoadTrip
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

We are lucky to be in a beautiful neighborhood in New Orleans. You can get a great view of the beautiful houses and businesses nearby by jumping on the streetcar that runs in front of the hotel. Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! I hope you enjoyed your time in New Orleans! Kathleen Davis, Front Office Manager More 

Spiro, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Location was perfect. Service was very good. Loved our room. So cozy but with plenty of room. Decor was nice. Safe place to park your vehicle. Trolley came right by the hotel and took us to Bourbon street. Nice restaurant nearby. I would def. stay here again when coming to NOLA.

Helpful?
Thank johnsonfamily00
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

It sounds like you and your family had a great trip to New Orleans! I'm glad y'all enjoyed your room and our location. We are close to a lot of great places, but not too far away from other attractions in the city. Let us know when you are ready to plan your next trip here! Kathleen Davis, Front Office... More 

Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed here twice and the staff is superb: the rooms are comfy with all the amenities. My only (minor) complaint is that the last time we stayed the elevator was not working right and it lurched between floors etc. My two guests would not take it again. I believed it was fixed toward the end of our stay. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank karendor
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

Karen, I hope everything is going well with your house! I'm glad we were able to help you out after such a crazy experience! Thank you for reviewing your stay. The section of the streetcar in front of the hotel is running and able to take everyone to the French Quarter or past Tulane and Loyola! Kathleen Davis, Front Office... More 

Dacula, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is a nice gem. Rooms are well laid out furnished. Very comfortable. Real nice accommodations. Continental breakfast provided, but i'm not a breakfast person, so I didn't try. Rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Trolley stops directly in front of hotel so you have good, quick access to downtown.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence J
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! I'm glad you enjoyed your room's furninishings and the microwave and refrigerator. I hope you enjoyed your trip to New Orleans! We will see you the next time you come to town! Kathleen Davis, Front Office Manager More 

Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is in the garden district which is very quiet, not like the French Quarter. This was a great find! First of all they allow dogs and even have fruitable dog treats. They thought of everything at this hotel. Very good breakfast, incredible and helpful people at the desk, very comfortable rooms, great location across from trolley to downtown... More 

Helpful?
Thank chbz54
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

It sounds like you and your dog had a great stay with us! I'm glad you enjoyed all of our amenities like the fitness center, parking, and lending library. I hope you were able to find a great book to read outside on our patio. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We will see you the... More 

Yellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed here twice, and definite improvements were made since the first time. Full hot breakfast, awesome location, great service. Stay during the middle of the week to avoid the weekend upcharges, and become a BW member so you get the free parking!

Helpful?
Thank Harry S
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad to read you were pleased with the changes that have been made at the hotel! Coming during the middle of the week is a great tip. It is less crowded, but there is still always something going on in the city! Also, parking is always included in our rate whether a guest is a Best Western Rewards member... More 

Monroe, LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family recently stayed here for 3 nights, and had a totally enjoyable experience! Great corner room with a lot of outside light...wonderful breakfast buffet/coffee bar... easy to access private parking. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We'll be back!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LAmoondreamer
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! I'm glad to read you enjoyed your trip to New Orleans! We will see you the next time you visit New Orleans! Kathleen Davis, Front Office Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

306 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (167)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Cityview King Room (28)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (28)
Viewed
Standard King Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#81 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
French Quarter
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Garden District

Neighborhood Profile
Garden District
Head to the Garden District for the full-on New Orleans experience replete with quaintly clanking streetcars, proudly grandiose antebellum mansions, picture perfect avenues lined with live oaks loaded down with Spanish moss, and a wealth of beautiful churches and many more architectural marvels. Even a brief excursion here makes plain why it’s called the Garden District. So, when you visit be sure to give yourself ample time for admiration at a languidly slow pace befitting such gentile strand of riverside living and to allow you to maximize each opportunity to stop and smell the roses – and whichever other blooms you might come across. While taking it all in, you’d do well to dine at one of the city’s most beloved destinations for regional cuisine. Gourmands from far and wide (and right round the corner) swear the age-old Commander’s Palace is the best restaurant in town – and have been doing so since it opened back in 1880.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This charming New Orleans Garden District hotel is located on historic St. Charles Avenue and provides convenient access to the French Quarter, the Super Dome, The WWII Museum, and the Aquarium of the Americas. Situated in historic uptown New Orleans near the beautiful Garden District, the Hotel is an easy streetcar ride away from Audubon Zoo and is the closest hotel to Tulane and Loyola Universities. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is the ideal getaway destination.Enjoy convenient access to many local attractions when staying at this Louisiana hotel such as the New Orleans Art District, the French Quarter and several nearby museums. Hotel guests will also be close to a variety of outdoor activities such as biking, horseback riding, golf, hiking and fishing. Each of the 40 well-appointed guest rooms comes equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include a state-of-the-art exercise facility, business center, and free parking. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is conveniently located directly on the streetcar line to provide convenient transportation to other areas of Louisiana. Take a ghost tour of some of the many historical cemeteries nearby or spend an afternoon in the City Park. Families especially will enjoy visiting the Audubon Park & Zoo or the Aquarium of the Americas. Both Tulane University and Loyola University are within one and a half miles of the hotel, making the BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn ideal lodging for those visiting students. New Orleans also hosts a variety of events year round such as JazzFest, Mardi Gras and several major sporting events ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn

Address: 3636 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4690
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Price Range: $148 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay