We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cornstalk Hotel

Save
915 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2701
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (358)
Room & Suite (176)
Amenities (12)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#57 of 177 hotels in New Orleans
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Cornstalk Hotel has been renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Charming

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
154Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
221Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
693Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 392
  • 206
  • 47
  • 27
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here 1 night. The room needed some TLC very old, stuffy and badly needs a refurbishment. The windows are single pane so you can hear everything outside. The front porch is lovely and beautiful. Customer service could be more professional and courteous. Price point is mostly due to convenient location and history of the hotel, not based on stellar accommodations.
Read more
Response from CharlesJohnson1, General Manager at Cornstalk Hotel
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. we're sorry you were unhappy, we'll work hard to fix the issue. Thanks for letting us know. Charles Johnson Hotel Manager
Read more
The Cornstalk was in a great part of the French Quarter, had lots of original charm but felt a little unloved. I was really looking forward to my 6 night stay - we had booked 4 rooms in total. It was also very cold in my room as there is no heating in the hotel and i stayed in January. There was constant cold air blasting up from vents in the floor which i covered with towels to prevent the room getting even colder. I did get an old heater from the reception one day but they took it back as it was heating up the reception. I had to sleep in my jumper each night. The shower wasn’t great it ran cold after a few minutes. I also had a used condom wrapper under my bed when i arrived and it was there two days later until I had to get someone from the reception to retrieve it. It could be a great place with a bit of an upgrade but I wont be booking again for my next trip.
Read more
Response from CharlesJohnson1, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! We're sorry you were unhappy, we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. Charles Johnson Hotel Manager
Read more
+1
Gorgeous place to visit. The hotel is breathtaking and well worth a visit to take photos. Google the history of why the iron fence was commissioned. Beautiful inside and lovely rooms - gets booked quickly so don't dely
Read more
Response from CharlesJohnson1, General Manager at Cornstalk Hotel
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! Charles Johnson Hotel Manager
Read more
This hotel was definitely historic. The rooms were old and a little worn, but it’s all about the experience. It was safe and clean, and the location could not be beat. No restaurants onsite, but Nola is full of amazing restaurants. The staff were really nice.
Read more
Response from CharlesJohnson1, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel
Responded Nov 10, 2019
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! We're sorry you were unhappy, we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. Charles Johnson Hotel Manager
Read more
I had been looking forward to a stay at the Cornstalk for years ever since it was featured on the young and the restless. I finally got there for a 1 night stay after my cruise. To say the least I was very disappointed in every aspect of this stay. From the non friendliness of check in to the cleanliness and charm of the room, nothing looks like the photos on their website! It needs a full overhaul to keep its historic charm. The curtains in the room were tattered nothing seemed to be kept up the bathroom seemed unkept and dirty There was no charm from checking to checkout No one assisted us or ask if we needed help. Upon check in we arrived early and knew our room would not be ready We were told u can put your bag in there had to place our own luggage in the room next to the check in desk which is 1 small desk, we were not even greeted Welcome to the Cornstalk Hotel, very aloof and rude. Upon checkout as we were lugging our bags to the front door the same employee that checked us in was on his phone talking and loudly said Well room 4 just left. For 200$ a night, never again a huge disappointment, I definitely will not recommended this boutique hotel to anyone. I would have much rather stayed at the Marriott Angela C
Read more
Response from CharlesJohnson1, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel
Responded Oct 27, 2019
We're sorry you were unhappy, we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. Charles Johnson Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansFrench Quarter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cornstalk Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Cornstalk Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Jackson Square (0.2 miles), French Quarter (0.2 miles), and New Orleans Secrets (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cornstalk Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, baggage storage, and a 24 hour front desk.
Is parking available at Cornstalk Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cornstalk Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Loretta's Authentic Pralines, Kilwins New Orleans, and Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro.
Are there any historical sites close to Cornstalk Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Our Sacred Stories (0.5 miles), Hermann-Grima House (0.3 miles), and Longue Vue House and Gardens (3.8 miles).