We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Livingston Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Livingston Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 220: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Peggy is so friendly and welcoming! Even our 13 y/o daughter was impressed! And we all know teenagers! Welcomed and shown around and given a brief history of the house. Enjoyed a lovely glass of wine in the sitting area. Went above and beyond to make sure our daughter was happy. Breakfast was wonderful! Such a variety of choices and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dana L
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we love your comment about teenagers. We understand, for sure! The fireplaces in the room are a wonderful amenity this time of year, so it's nice to see you took advantage of it. We're very happy the B&B experience was so welcoming for you, and thank you so much...

Reviewed January 12, 2017

Beautiful historic mansion in a great location near the Capitol and Lake Mendota. There's a path down to a pier they own on the lake with tables and chairs - a great place to watch the sunset. Highly recommend if you're staying in Madison

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan T
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed our location in downtown Madison and took the opportunity to watch the beautiful sunsets down at the lake! Warm regards, Peggy and Dave

Mequon, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed January 12, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Livingston Inn over New Years Eve. The home is a beautifully appointed pre-Civil war mansion that held some historical first’s for the city of Madison. It was fun to read about the history of the home, while sitting in it, sipping a glass of wine in the main sitting room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wally J
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us over New Year's Eve this year and some of the unique experiences we provide for our guests no matter the occasion. It's great to hear you enjoyed the oatmeal scones, too! It's a special recipe we make only during this time of year as they are a perfect complement to breakfast...

Reviewed December 21, 2016

When I was looking for a B&B in Madison to celebrate a friend's birthday with girlfriends I chose The Livingston Inn based on other reviews and we were not disappointed! We had a truly wonderful stay and Peggy could not have been a more welcoming and thoughtful hostess. She was especially gracious when we had an unexpected change in plans....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William V
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

We were so happy you braved a weekend of snow and enjoyed your time at our B&B. Once you were settled in, it was very nice to see how all of you enjoyed the beauty of the holidays with some fresh snow here in downtown Madison. Thank you for choosing The Livingston Inn for your getaway and we wish you...

Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I just recently stayed at the inn for a graduation. We had the place to our selves and Peggy the owner made us feel like we were part of her family. From the moment we arrived we had everything we needed. We felt like we were staying with family. Some of our family had booked a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It makes us very happy to see families enjoy many areas of the house like you did, especially during a special time like the holiday season. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best in the new year! Warm regards, Peggy and Dave

Willowbrook, Illinois
Reviewed December 5, 2016

This place is nothing short of fantastic! My family booked the entire Livingston Inn this past weekend to celebrate my sister's wedding. From the moment we walked in the door Peggy proved to be an amazing host, extremely warm and attentive to each and every one of us. The house is absolutely impeccable, from the restored moldings to the multiple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank istill326cor
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing our inn for this very special occasion. All the people and everything you did for this wedding was wonderful and beautiful. We couldn't have been more honored to have you here, and it means so much to us that you enjoyed your time at our B&B. We wish all of...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Well this one was easy. We were here two years ago for my cousin's wedding, and this year we came back to celebrate the birth of the new baby! So naturally we had to come back to see Peggy and Dave and stay at the Livingston Inn. Honestly, I don't think we would stay anywhere else in Madison. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelTJamesBrown
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

When we heard your voice calling to make a reservation, we were so glad to hear you were coming back to Madison! You are truly special people that are the reason we do what we do. Congrats to your family and thank you for your review and for choosing our B&B when you come into town to celebrate these special...

New York City, New York
Reviewed November 21, 2016

My friend and I travelled to Madison from NJ to visit my daughter at UW. I'm a huge fan of Madison as a UW grad myself. After 30 plus years, I had never stayed on the East side of the city and I was incredibly pleased and had an awesome time. Peggy was a terrific host, embraced us and gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goalieguru
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing our B&B for your visit to Madison. Many of our guests really enjoy our location on the east side but still on the isthmus and close to UW and downtown. We're very glad it was a great experience for you as well. We hope to see you sometime soon! Warm regards, Peggy...

Reviewed November 14, 2016

We stayed at the Livingston Inn as a base for visiting Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin house and studio at nearby Spring Green. The inn is well situated for downtown Madison with good on street parking availability. Our host Peggy was extremely welcoming and we enjoyed learning about the history of the building. She was also able to give recommendations as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

We're very glad you enjoyed your stay at our B&B and included Taliesin among your itinerary while in Madison. It's an amazing place and one of the top attractions for our guests. Fall is also such a beautiful time here, so we are very happy we could welcome here during this time of year. Thank you for taking the time...

Livingston, Montana
Reviewed November 5, 2016

This was a real find. After finding Hertz closed a few minutes after our plane landed and only heading out of the airport finally by midnight, we easily found the Livingston Inn on Gorham and settled right in. No need to go out for a nightcap as beer, wine and soda as well as a few sweet and savory treats...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyintheSky
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're glad we could welcome you on a late evening in Madison. It's nice to hear all those little extras we provide can make an enjoyable experience even for a short stay at our inn. We appreciate your patronage of B&Bs and The Livingston Inn! Warm regards, Peggy and Dave

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
624 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.7 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
632 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the history of a 160-year old Gothic revival mansion in one of the most eclectic cities in North America. Feel at home on your next getaway or business trip with the warmth and charm of Midwestern hospitality. Discover The Livingston Inn -- a Madison bed & breakfast as unique and friendly as the city itself. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Livingston Inn

Address: 752 E. Gorham Street, Madison, WI 53703
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Price Range: $222 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Livingston Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Livingston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingston Hotel Madison
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Livingston Inn staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Livingston Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“My boyfriend and I stayed in the Harman Hideaway near the back of the home. It was nice and quiet and the bathroom was amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles istill326cor, Dec 5, 2016 | Read review
“Pickering is a sort of suite with an extra room for relaxing. Nice.”
 of 5 bubbles DMilo46, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“Any, there are only four - just make sure you get one of them!”
 of 5 bubbles 294stuart793, Sep 15, 2016 | Read review
“Visit their website and make reservations early!”
 of 5 bubbles rossm562, Jun 26, 2016 | Read review
“rooms away from the street with Lake view are great”
 of 5 bubbles zinfanatic, May 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question