We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1501 Monroe St., Madison, WI 53711-2020
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$139
Orbitz.com$132
Agoda.com$139
Expedia.com$132
Priceline$139
Hotwire.com$132
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (184)
Room & Suite (110)
Dining (7)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Stay, work, and play in one of 48 modern guestrooms and suites at HotelRED, Madison’s newest and most contemporary full-service urban boutique hotel. With vivid colors and sleek Euro-design, HotelRED surrounds guests in absolute indulgence and comfort. Join us for a cocktail, Wisconsin micro-brew, and appetizers at our lobby bar and bistro, The Wise, the smoothest place to chill in town. Business meetings, private parties, and banquet facilities are available. Enjoy the local color!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Microwave
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
814Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 508
  • 175
  • 82
  • 36
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Very modern hotel. My room had a small kitchen which is nice for breakfast. The decor is modern and I liked the concrete floors. The bathroom was nice but the barn door did get a bit stuck (I was able to undo it). I’d skip the hotel restaurant, it was mediocre at best. The staff was super helpful and the location is great.
Read more
The hotel is very modern and stylish. We enjoyed our stay over Labor Day Weekend and plan to return at Thanksgiving. That said, some room for improvement: the room was dimmer than expected, and we never were able to get the lamp over the sofa to work. We noted what appeared to be blood spots on the comforter and left a note for housekeeping to change it out. They did not, so we had to take it down to the front desk. The front desk staff was very apologetic and helpful. The hotel is located at a busy intersection, and the street noise for a second-floor room facing toward Camp Randall Stadium can be loud late at night. But, we have had similar experiences in other college towns, so not that big of a deal. The restaurant and bar staff were very friendly, though my son's breakfast order was completely wrong - they corrected it in a timely fashion, though. THe outside patio area is a great place for a late-afternoon drink. Best thing - Mickie's Dairy Bar is right next door!
Read more
Our room was very dark, the lighting is just dark and I didn't like that the bathroom isn't closed off at the top. The fan in our bathroom didn't work either. If you enjoy the cement above and below you would like this. But it seemed a little tired. The red curtains cast a reddish glow from the sunshine when closed, i.e., in the morning. Just not my style. Oh, I know some would like the low bed height too, but I really did not. So, I'm sure this is the style that some would really enjoy but we just didn't. Personal preference stuff. When I made the reservation there was free parking but there was a charge instituted that they notified me of just before our trip.
Read more
Response from AllieS335, Marketing Manager at HotelRED
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi MurJD, Thank you so much for leaving a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you choosing HotelRED. Even though is sounds like our property wasn't your style, we are glad you gave us a try. As far as the parking is concerned, we do apologize for the confusion. We recently just rolled out a new parking fee, so there are always pains with changes like this. We do hope you visit HotelRED again next time your travels bring you to Madison!
Read more
+1
I love the color red. And this hotel is across the street from the Camp Randall Stadium so it’s fitting to use a lot of the color red in this hotel. First time I have ever been at a hotel with exposed concrete walls and walls, but seems to work design wise. I loved that they included a kitchenette in my room, but wonder why they would have a kitchenette but yet no cooking tools/pots and pans? Guess you need to ask for it if wanted to actually cook in the room. I also loved how right across the street is a bike/walking path that actually measures how many people are passing that point. Also that path leads directly to the state capital. Trader Joe’s is near by and other nice restaurants are also close by. I took the bus to the famed State Street for $2 from a bus stop across the street and it was a fun way to see downtown without having to walk the distance.
Read more
+1
This fun & funky pet-friendly hotels was great for our weekend stay. Spacious, clean room with a nice balcony overlooking Camp Randall Stadium. Friendly staff and pet snacks in the lobby. Unfortunately we never saw any pets! Very attentive bar tender! And the red, black & gray color scheme is fresh & contemporary. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Response from AllieS335, Marketing Manager at HotelRED
Responded Jul 23, 2019
Thank you so much for staying with us, CatBostonTraveler. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your balcony, bar, and ambiance during your visit. Your kind words mean a lot to us! We hope to welcome you back next time your travels bring you to Madison.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$149 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinMadison
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing